David Stanley Marshall’s Reviews

David Stanley Marshall

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. review for David Marshall

    Posted by John, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Marshall.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was accused of child abuse of a family member. It was the most devastating event of my life. I contacted David Marshall for guidance and advice. He was extremely helpful and brought much peace of mind knowing that he was representing me. Professional and showing genuine concern. I would highly recommend Mr. Marshall.

  2. Professional, Candid, and Genuinely Concerned

    Posted by Client, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Marshall.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Abuse matter.

    What you know to be true, and what you can prove, are entirely two different matters. In a case of child abuse, you are guilty until you can prove your innocence. Make no mistake. YOU will need to work hard to help defend yourself in this type of case. David will turn over every rock and conduct extensive interviews, in order to find valuable information needed to help you defend your rights and reputation. If he cannot find it, he will tell you. This will help you to make a decision that is best for you and your family. David receives respect from prosecutors, and Judges, throughout Washington State. This will help put you in a better position for negotiations, whether you are guilty or innocent of the charges. I was faced with up to 7-10 years in prison, on charges with no merit. Because of the quality work David put into my case, I was able to negotiate reduced charges and completed my jail sentence in 6 months. I chose not to risk trial, and was able to continue my life with my family and friends. If you have found yourself accused of child abuse, I highly recommend you contact Mr. Marshall.

  3. Essential services, challenging case

    Posted by Curt, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Marshall.
    • David handled my Child Abuse matter.

    A disgusting charge that took away my career even when the case investigation phase was not yet completed. With David at my side the state dropped the original charges the first day of trial. Unfortunately our society has deemed the charged guilty until proven innocent. David will be your advocate, he is very detailed oriented and professional.

  4. A True Professional

    Posted by Michael,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Marshall.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.

    David is the first lawyer I ever consulted with and he made our meeting very relaxed and not intimidating at all. He made me feel at ease with all my concern and answered all my questions honestly. He definitely knows what he's talking about. It's good to know that I have someone like him on my side if I ever need a lawyer.

  5. Experienced

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Marshall.

    David Marshall was highly recommended to us by another attorney. What a great recommendation that was! When we first met David, we were immediately impressed with his knowledge, expertise, and kindness. Throughout our work with him, he was responsive, respectful, and strategic. He was one of two attorneys we worked with and together they achieved a very satisfactory outcome for us - and we are grateful to them. We definitely highly recommended David Marshall.

  6. Great service

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Marshall.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Abuse matter.

    I was falsely accused of sexual abuse, am a male childcare Director\
    Owner, this situation was very stressful for me because I knew I didn’t do anything. The police and the agencies that were investigating this situation treated me as if I was guilty before they even knew all the facts concerning the situation. So I hired Mr. Marshall as my attorney to ensure my rights were protected and that I would be treated fairly. When I meet with him I found that he was very knowledgeable in the field and he had a genuine concern about helping people who have been falsely accused. Mr. Marshall was very thorough in his approach he immediately got to work on my case, by making phone call to the police and sending prudent information to the different agencies involved in this matter. He connected me with a polygraphed person who was equally knowledgeable in his field. Mr. Marshall Staff was very helpful and always kept me informed about my case. The end result was the case never went to trail and it was found unfounded by CPS office. In addiction I had monies left over from my retainer fee and received a full refund and detailed information concerning how my money was spent. I will urge anyone going through this type of situation to give him a call.

  7. Disappointed and mis-led

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Marshall.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    This was a CPS case. Mr Marshall was more focused on money than on the case. When I found out that he did not understand the shortcomings of CPS or how they function, I decided to cut my loses which by that time were in excess of $5000 and included several missed opportunities. I would definitely not recommend this attorney for a case with CPS or DSHS unless you have a lot of money, a lot of patience and are willing to do a lot of reading and educate your attorney yourself.

    1. David Stanley Marshall

      David Marshall

      Lawyer Comment:

      I don't recognize this case. In any event, I'm very sorry you found my representation unsatisfactory. I strive to satisfy every client. Please contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Criminal defense

    Posted by Bill, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Marshall.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I used David Marshall 10 years ago. I was charged with a crime and David acted as my defense attorney. We fought my case for more than a year, reaching a plea bargain. Though the outcome was not what we’d hoped, I had no complaint about Mr. Marshall’s representation.

    I was always kept informed, invited to attend every hearing, even those that were optional on my part. I was given copies of all written records to review and he was always there to answer any questions. I had plenty as this was the first time I’d ever had any dealings with the court. This diligence was instrumental in correcting several errors in the records.

    David had the admirable quality of making me feel as though I were his only client. I never felt rushed or that he was in a hurry to be elsewhere.

    I was anxious, depressed and more and David knew the right things to say to get me through it. He was skilled in leading me to more rational thinking.

    If I had any complaints, it would be in not being fully informed of the future consequences of the then “new law” I was being charged under. I’m now living with them and wish I’d understood more 10 years ago. Nobody’s perfect, and it is what it is.

    David became more than an attorney. We corresponded throughout my prison term and have met again since I got out. I consider him a friend.

    He is a skilled litigator (in my opinion) is considerate and calm in what were difficult times.

    I would recommend David S. Marshall, whether you’re guilty or not. He’ll work for you.

  9. More than a Lawyer

    Posted by Bill, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Marshall.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    What makes David stand out from any other attorney is that he's willing to help with little regard to “making money”. He genially cares; of course nothing comes without a cost; but he's always willing to work with the client and will help the best he can. He's self-aware enough to know when he needs help and asks for it. For my case he discovered that another attorney may be best suited for my case and was willing to step down and have me work with that other attorney. Then not only did he maintain contact; but continuously worked with the new attorney and helped justice prevail in what would have been a travesty otherwise. He will always be my first option to recommend in any child related case.

  10. knowledgeable

    Posted by CE, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Marshall.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I needed to act fast on my case, when I told David my situation he made time for me immediately. I was founded for negligence/ maltreatment on unsubstantial and misconstrued evidence. David saw things that I did not see and focused on what it would take to get my case reversed. when I got my letter from CPS they noted that one of the main reasons they decided to change the finding to unfounded was because of information David Marshall supplied.