Valerie Farris Oman’s Reviews

Valerie Farris Oman

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great company and amazing people to work with!!

    Posted by Brenda, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Valerie Oman.
    • I hired Valerie more than 3 years ago.
    • Valerie handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I'm very pleased with this firm and how easy it has been working with them. Everyone in their office is friendly and helpful and explains legal matters in a way that I can understand. They have been extremely helpful when it comes to explaining the collection process to my boards. All of the board members that have had a conversation with Valerie have come back to say how extremely helpful her information was and how she was able to communicate so they could understand things better.

  2. Working with Valerie Farris Oman is most enlightening....

    Posted by Lj, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Valerie Oman.
    • I hired Valerie 1-3 years ago.
    • Valerie handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am a Community Association Manager with a very large Management Company on the Eastside. I manage several Associations, three of which Valerie has been engaged to facilitate the Association in recovering delinquent homeowners' assessments. I have found her to be extremely knowledgable in the governance for condominium and homeowner associations. Valerie reponds to questions in a prompt and concise manner, as well as thorough in her answers. I do plan to assign additional collection matters to Valerie in the near future and would feel very confident in recommending Valerie to anyone looking for competent and professional counsel.

  3. Collection services highly recommended

    Posted by Chelsea, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Valerie Oman.
    • I hired Valerie 1-3 years ago.
    • Valerie handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have worked with Valerie for about 3 years now on various association collections issues, and would recommend her highly. She's great at communicating in easy to understand terminology, and following up on her progress with Board members and myself. She's also easy to get ahold of, and gets back to you in a timely manner.

  4. Best Attorney I've worked with over the past 7 years!

    Posted by Brandon B., a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Valerie Oman.
    • I hired Valerie more than 3 years ago.
    • Valerie handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Prior to Valerie getting on Board with 3, now 7 of my 8 Condo and HO Association's 3 years ago, I always had communication issues wtih other Attorney's / Firms and lack of production. Since working (mainly) with Valerie and seeing what Condo Law Group can do , I actually feel extremely comfortable referring Association Board's over to her and them; in the past I was always hesitant. Valerie is very down to earth, understands what our client's best interests are, she is very personable, easy to understand, communicate wtih, and explains things easily to those not up to speed with legal jargan. I would recommend Valerie to any Association's in need of collection assistance, and not only for that but all other aspects of Condo and Homeowner Association related matters.

  5. Consistent and reliable, supportive and understanding and dedicated to the success of her clients

    Posted by Michaela, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Valerie Oman.
    • I hired Valerie 1-3 years ago.
    • Valerie handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Valerie streamlined the collection process for all my clients and assisted the associations in my portfolio with significant reduction of delinquency amounts.

  6. Overzealous, Greedy Billing

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Valerie Oman.
    • I hired Valerie more than 3 years ago.
    • Valerie handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Valerie Oman is an attorney our condo had the misfortune of working with. To our surprise we were overbilled for several matters compared with previous legal advisors we had worked with and some issues were dragged out far more than necessary for billing purposes. The billings and purposes were quite overzealous and greedy.

    1. Valerie Farris Oman

      Valerie Oman

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am surprised by this review for several reasons. No client has ever spoken with me or my managing partner about this kind of complaint. It is our goal to work with clients in a way that both provides the legal services and advice they need, while also respecting their budget and other limitations as they are communicated to us. We encourage our clients to give honest feedback about the work we do and the fees we charge – our firm is very open to such comments and every client knows that they are free to speak with me or my manager about any such concerns. We work cooperatively with our clients to address and resolve any issues that arise. That a client would have this kind of experience indicates to me a failure on their part to communicate with me or the owner of the firm, because our practice (when the rare billing issue arises with a client) is to work together with our clients to reach a resolution that both the client and our firm believes is fair and reasonable.

      Also, my practice area is not “general practice” as listed by this individual, which leads me to believe this may not be a review from an actual client.

      The majority of my practice consists of representing HOAs and condo associations in recovering unpaid dues, and it is not uncommon for delinquent owners to become very unhappy after being turned over to our office for collection. Unfortunately, this anonymous forum allows such individuals the opportunity to strike back without recourse or accountability. It also does not provide the viewers of the Avvo reviews with any information about the identity of the reviewer and the real nature of the complaint, so that Avvo users can weigh for themselves the credibility of the review.

      We are always open to constructive criticism and feedback from our clients. After all, that is how we continually improve our level of service to, and quality of work on behalf of our clients. If any current or past client would like to discuss their concerns with us, please feel free to contact us directly.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Valerie is Knowledgeable, Dependable & Proactive

    Posted by Robb, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Valerie Oman.
    • I hired Valerie more than 3 years ago.
    • Valerie handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Managing a portfolio of Condominium & Homeowners Associations in todays economy can be a challenge. Having a knowledgeable attorney that is dependable in communication and provides sensible legal advise for our clients is extremely important to overall client satisfation. Valerie provides those key services & more! Her proactive approach to client communication and advisement is also complimented by her obvious zeal for, & working knowledge of, the law. Her level-headed approach to debt collection and general counsel has always been based on the best overall outcome to the client. Even when the client may not initially recognize the advantage of following her advisement, she has a professionally unique ability to explain why her legal recommendations would be the most beneficial to the Association. Thank you Valerie (& everyone at CLG) for all you do for our mutual Clients!

  8. I highly recommend Valerie!

    Posted by Jeana, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Valerie Oman.
    • I hired Valerie more than 3 years ago.
    • Valerie handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have worked with Valerie on several accounts. She is the first recommendation from me for an attorney to the Associations that we manage. She is very timely and responsive. She provides proactive solutions for our clients, Another thing I appreciate is that she is always willing to take the time to explain the options so that the client can make informed decisions. She is top notch in my book.

  9. Valerie has earned the trust of our Homeowner's Association Board

    Posted by Kelly, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Valerie Oman.
    • I hired Valerie more than 3 years ago.
    • Valerie handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    It is not often that one can say that one is so very satisfied with anyone's performance especially over time. In the case of Valerie Farris Oman we can say that she has consistently earned our praise and gratitude issue by issue and case after case.

    We expected competent legal advice but Valerie has delivered extra value to our Homeowner's Association by providing guidance which has anticipated and avoided problems. She has diligently kept us informed about our cases in a very timely manner. She has been generous with our board by respectfully sharing her knowledge and she makes the effort to be certain that everyone on our Board understands the issues. She has proven to be a savvy negotiator.

    Valerie has earned our trust and respect by bringing our cases to successful conclusion and by being certain that our Board does not stray from our chosen path. We feel fortunate to have found such a friendly and professional attorney.

  10. Valerie is AMAZING!

    Posted by Brandi, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Valerie Oman.
    • I hired Valerie more than 3 years ago.
    • Valerie handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After much revelation, I had come to realize the benefits of retaining a lawyer for my small business were just too great to ignore.

    Valerie really is a rare gem. After meeting with her, I knew she was the one! She has a great personality, is easy to talk to, honest, ethical and extremely knowledgeable! Valerie is also very affordable for the expertise that she brings to the table.

    Valerie offers great advance and friendly terms to show how much she cares about not only her clients, but also what she does. I have hired Valerie as my company's attorney and I know I am in good hands.

    Whether the task entails demand letters, contracts, or (god forbid) going to trial, I know I have the perfect attorney on my side of the table.