Michael William Bugni’s Reviews

Michael William Bugni

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A business man first, and a lawyer second.

    Posted by Your former client, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Michael Bugni.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I would have to preface this review with a disclaimer: Mike Bugni isn't the worst offender of legal ethics in family law community. To put this review into proper context, one must examine carefully this group in its entirety. Consumers BE WARNED: THIS AREA OF LAW CONSISTS OF THE WORST TYPE OF LAWYERS. (hey Avvo, please do not suppress my First Amendment right!)

    There's an incestuous relationship that goes on beyond collegiality among the lawyers of this group. Mike Bugni is a businessman first, and a lawyer second. Nothing wrong with that. After all, we live in a capitalist society. But that is the point of this review, is to point out this fact so other consumers can benefit from my experience.

    Mike devoted substantial amount of time into my case, bill me more than sufficient for it. He was sympathetic, much more genuine than the dozen of other divorce lawyers I've encounter before and since my time with him. His office is a money making machine, with associates staff attorneys billing other clients the highest rate the market will bear. Because he is the head of this office, this review not only covers his performance in my case, but reflects the impressions, observations I have duly noted.

    I ended up working with another attorney contracted in Mike's office to work with me instead of Mike because he said the other lawyer would be a better fit for my type of case, although I was billed Mike's rate for the work. This was just his businessman talking, because the other lawyer was not as competent as Mike.

    He has a chummy relationship with another prominent divorce legal leech (whom I hired before him) behind the scene. I learnt about this incestuous relationship long before seeing their mutually beneficial endorsements of one another on Avvo here.
    There's an incestuous relationship that goes on beyond collegiality among the lawyers of this group. Mike Bugni is a businessman first, and a lawyer second. Nothing wrong with that. After all, we live in a capitalist society. But that is the point of this review, is to point out this fact so other consumers can benefit from my experience.

    Mike devoted substantial amount of time into my case, bill me more than sufficient for it. He was sympathetic, much more genuine than the dozen of other divorce lawyers I've encounter before and since my time with him. His office is a money making machine, with associates staff attorneys billing other clients the highest rate the market will bear. Because he is the head of this office, this review not only covers his performance in my case, but reflects the impressions, observations I have duly noted.

    I ended up working with another attorney contracted in instead of Mike, although I was billed Mike's rate for the work. Mike has a chummy relationship with another divorce legal leech with questionable ethics but got a 10.0 rating on Avvo here. I always suspected his loyalty was not with me, and that sentiment is confirmed as valid after seeing their mutually beneficial glowing endorsements of one another on Avvo here.

  2. Perfect Silver Lining

    Posted by Morley, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Bugni.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Michael Bugni turned what is normally a difficult and traumatic experience into a process that was seamless. He is knowledgeable, compassionate and just a really lovely person to work with. I am so grateful that I found such a perfect Attorney, and excited to walk the beautiful new path ahead of me.

  3. MIKE BUGNI IS THE WORST ATTORNEY FOR FAMILY LAW, WASTE OF MONEY, NO RESULTS, ALL HE WANTED WAS MORE $$$! DO NOT RETAIN!!!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Bugni.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mike Bugni was hired to do a relocation trial between my ex-husband and I. He from the GET GO was demanding a $5k retainer. Long story short, he kept demanding more and more money ( In the end, I spent over $38k!!!) and he ended up LOSING my relocation trial and my ex got to move with my kid. He tried to put a different attorney on the case towards the end, and I felt that it was a very lazy move on his part, because she didn't know the case AT ALL!!! OH! To top it all off, I gave Mike a referral for my friends divorce and relocation and she forked over $35k!!!! She wasn't happy with the results either!!! The best part is, after the trial was over, he had some aggresive, threatning guy call me telling me "when are you going to pay your balance of $32k off??????? " MIKE BUGNI DIDN'T EVEN SEND ME A BILL, AND HE HAS SOME GUY THREATNING ME, TELLING ME THAT HE HAS CHECKED MY CREDIT AND HE WILL GET EVERY DIME THAT IS OWED TO MIKE???? DISGUSTING!!!! Attorneys like Mike Bugni should get their license taken away. He is very greedy, and doesn't care about your situation, he just wants money. One time, I emailed him, and in his bill, he charged me $397.00 to REPLY TO MY EMAIL????????? NO thanks! Save your hard earned money and get an attorney that can be fair and passionate about your case. I am going to the BBB and the Washington State Bar Association about his behavior and professionalism. After MY $38+k, and my friends $35K, he still tried to charge me another $32k??? SAVE YOUR MONEY AND TIME, GET A LAWYER THAT WILL CARE AND NOT RIP YOU OFF!!!

  4. Waste of money and time!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Michael Bugni.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Bugni is a joke. Went in for help with a DV and parenting plan case and he wouldn't even listen to what I had to say about what had happened with my child's father. He just grouped me with the rest of his cases and went about it in a generic way. I wasted close to 3000$ so far when I had originally asked that visitation be at my house and DV classes be put in place for my child's father. Bugni told me that would never go through court and I believed him so my sons dad had three days a week visitation when he had never had our son alone and no classes to deal with his anger. 4 months and 3000$ later, he's in court ordered DV class for violating a temp protection order and at my house for visitation because he couldn't handle the stress of parenting alone. Literally a waste of my time and money and I wish I would have gone with another lawyer.

  5. B to B+

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Michael Bugni.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I'm not sure I would recommend Mike to my friends. I'd recommend him to someone I wish would spend a lot of $ for mediocre result. In other words, someone I hate.

  6. Dedicated, highest integrity, tireless and aggressive advocate

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Bugni.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    We hired Mike to help us with a custody matter 3 years ago. He worked as hard as anyone could to help resolve the situation, and when it didn't resolve, he dedicated his all in fighting for us. He was a tireless advocate, thoroughly prepared, and was excellent in court through 3 hearings and on appeal. Mike has the highest standards, morals and values. He is smart, an excellent writer, good in court and dedicated to his clients. He has an excellent support staff as well. I am a lawyer (I don't practice family law) and Mike is as capable as any lawyer I have ever known. I recommend him highly.

  7. I wish I had known better

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Michael Bugni.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mike handled my divorce over ten years ago. If I had known then that the way he structured the child support order would have required me to go back to court with a lawyer EVERY TWO YEARS I would have never agreed to the terms! His incompetence has cost me thousands of dollars over the years.

  8. Great Paralegal - Good Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Michael Bugni.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would recommend his paralegal, Susan. She is smart, up-to-date and experienced. Sue dealt w/ me online & Mike kept wanting to meet w/ me (I don't want to drag myself down to his office! Why not just work electronically?!).

    Don't try to reach Mike, and don't bother with Cyndee who can't speak English (but seems very sweet & dedicated). Mike will try to get you to work together & settle, if possible. Even though you don't think it's the right thing to do, do it because the courts are just going to divide things evenly and (barring any abuse, or other circumstances) put everyone back where they were before the marriage & make you share the kids. Sue explained this best.

  9. Mike Bugni has all the Tools to provide Outstanding Representation

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Bugni.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mike Bugni is an attorney well versed in all aspects of family law. Because of his knowledge, experience and demeanor he did not need to resort to dirty tactics to provide me with outstanding representation; to the contrary he proved to be a master at finding opportune moments to find common ground, defuse conflict and progress toward a mutually agreeable settlement. Mike was level-headed, compassionate and professional in his interactions with myself, my ex-wife and her attorney. It was clear to me that he was the best attorney in the room. When you choose Mike Bugni as your attorney you won’t be taken advantage of and can be sure of a fair settlement. Thanks again Mike!

  10. Excellent and well-balanced divorce lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Bugni.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I'm confident that if I had not used Michael as my divorce attorney, my divorce would have been ugly, very expensive and ended up in court. Most importantly, my children would have been the ones most adversely affected.

    Michael helped me with my strong but seemly impossible desire to keep my divorce amicable and out of court, primarily for the sake of our children. My ex’s lawyer tried to pull a bunch of dirty tricks to antagonize me every chance he could and force the case to go to court. Even though it was tough, Michael and Bita Soltan-Qurraie (another wonderful lawyer in Michael’s firm) helped me get the divorce settled out of court and without any hearings.

    Unlike what I’ve heard other lawyers typically do, when things happened where I got upset with the process and with my ex’s lawyer’s constant badgering, Michael didn’t encourage me to become more aggressive too but rather keep to the high-road which he knew was paramount to me. He made it clear that I hired him to be the objective party when my ex and/or I lost objectivity. Unlike the one-sided, aggressive and demanding communication's my ex's lawyer always sent to us, Michael always kept our communications respectful and with as fair language as was possible.

    A key turning point happened when we finally had an agreed upon four-way meeting with my ex and her lawyer just so we could solve some key procedural issues and proceed with the divorce. Michael effectively turned it into a mediation meeting instead when he discovered after talking to my ex and her lawyer that SHE was willing to settle all of our remaining divorce issues right then. After assuring I wanted the same, in fairly short order, we settled all the issues that hadn’t settled in nearly six months of conflict. Michael's mediation experiences made this all seem natural. Also, since he is a part time judge at the family court in Seattle, it gives him further insight into what will happen in court if it leads to that.

    Michael's firm also has an outstanding staff of paralegals and assistants.

    I’m happy to say that once my ex’s lawyer was out of the picture after the divorce settled and was done with, we have become friends again and have remained good parents which has made the divorce much easier on our children. I can’t imagine what would have been the outcome if her lawyer would have got his wish and pushed us to fight in court. My key recommendation, if there is no abuse or other behavioral or criminal factors forcing a divorce, keep it out of court and hearings. One day your children will thank you.

    The disappointing thing is that my ex's lawyer is rated quite high on this service. Reading his reviews mostly explains why. He typically gets exactly what his clients want, regardless of reasonability. That lawyer seems to shield his clients from really knowing everything he is doing and not let his clients know of less aggressive options. It seems to have nothing to do with fairness and with what is best for the children and even his own client but all to do with the spouse's lawyers who weren't as experienced, balanced and objective as Michael Bugni.

    Thanks Michael!