Alexander J. Higgins’s Reviews

Alexander J. Higgins

Average Rating

Based on 27 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Good attorney

    Posted by Matt Bean, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Higgins.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have co-counseled with Alex on two complex employment discrimination cases. Alex is smart, cares about his clients, and is, really, one of the best trial attorneys I've seen. This is not just my opinion--I've had defense attorneys go on and on about how great an attorney Alex is! I would recommend him to anyone.

  2. An amazing lawyer!

    Posted by Sabrina, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Higgins.
    • I hired Alexander 1-3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I've been working with Mr. Higgins for a couple years now on my case. Mr. Higgins has always kept me up to date on all aspects of the case, he is very knowledgeable and informed. When we went to trial Mr. Higgins out lawyered the other side very thoroughly. He was very organized, and very articulate. He made his points with emphasis and without drama. I felt very strongly that I had a good case, but Mr. Higgins had the knowledge and ability to fight that case for me.

  3. Forthright and Frank

    Posted by RGR, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Higgins.
    • I hired Alexander 1-3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Higgins took my case in a very short time-frame. He made time for me, moving personal appointments around to accommodate my compressed window, and gave me solid, unbiased, sensible advice. He speaks respectfully and frankly, gives options and opinions (unlike some other lawyers) and is highly personable.

  4. employment law

    Posted by Bob, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Higgins.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I first retained Mr. Higgins approximately 8 years ago for an employment contract dispute. Mr. Higgins handled my case in a professional manner, kept me informed throughout the case and was VERY reasonable on fee's. (we won)

    Alex then helped me on another small employment case which I won without having to enter the court system.

    Alex then assisted in another Federal Case against the same defendant which went to Federal Court a little over a year ago in Sacramento in which we also won.

    I have recommended Alex to several potential clients without reservation. I would HIGHLY recomend Alex to anyone with a need for reprsentation. and would use him again without hesitation.

  5. Not prepared

    Posted by VLA, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Higgins.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Higgins did not seem prepared for my unemployment case. Seemed to be unaware that justified reasons to quit had changed in Sept 2009. Based my case on decisions made prior to the law changing. During the phone hearing, he spent a good deal of the time on his blackberry looking up points that the opposing counsel brought up. Basic points that Mr. Higgins should have been aware of prior to the hearing, therefore he was very distracted and did not even cross exam the employer. It was very apparent that he was "out-lawyered".

  6. excellent lawyer, reasonable fees

    Posted by George Tamblyn, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Higgins.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Alex was forthright about discussing his fees, timely in providing his services, quick in grasping complex problems and sophisticated in area beyond his professed specialty of labor law.

  7. Great Lawyer

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Higgins.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Alex did a great job of managing the other side during a dispute. Most importantly, he kept me focused on the objectives of what we were trying to achieve, instead of allowing me to take this dispute very personally.
    He's a good listener, calm negotiator and entirely fair. Probably one of the best investments I've made.