Charles P. Shane’s Reviews

Charles P. Shane

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Legal Separation after 25 years of Marriage and 3 Children

    Posted by Anna, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Shane.
    • I hired Charles 1-6 months ago.
    • Charles handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Shane advised me through a very difficult and emotional legal separation from my husband of 25 years. His timing and knowledge proved essential in obtaining financial stability and emotional support that we need at this time by legally helping my minor children and I to relocate out-of-state.

    I would highly recommend his firm without hesitation. Mr. Shane is professional, prompt, knowledgeable, resourceful, and thorough.

  2. Thank you Mr. Shane!

    Posted by Jane, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Shane.
    • I hired Charles 1-6 months ago.
    • Charles handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a personal matter come up and I was referred to Mr. Shane. I called on Friday and had an appointment with Mr. Shane on Monday. Mr. Shane took care of matters swiftly and throughout the process, kept me in the communication loop. Mr. Shane made this most unpleasant situation, quite manageable. His actions made me feel respected and I never doubted or questioned his actions. Mr. Shane went above and beyond my expectations.

  3. Separation of Real Estate

    Posted by Laurie, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Shane.
    • I hired Charles 6-12 months ago.
    • Charles handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I started a divorce in 2007, it was finalized in 2011. I hired Mr. Shane in Feb. 2014 because the ex would not sign the Quit Claim Deeds to the two properties we had owned jointly.
    Mr. Shane was able to write a letter to my ex-husband to get him to sign a Quit Claim Deed that he would not sign for me so we could separate the properties.
    Thank You, Mr. Shane with getting my real estate separated from my ex-husbands property in short
    order without going to court and spending more money. Laurie

  4. What a great attorney

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Shane.
    • I hired Charles 1-6 months ago.
    • Charles handled my Real Estate matter.

    I hired Charles after a previous attorney had given me bad advice and cost me a lot of time and money. Charlie resolved this case quickly and at minimal cost. I really can't say enough good about him. I would definitely recommend him to my friends and family. Thanks Charlie!!

  5. Professional and dedicated attorney

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Charles Shane.
    • I hired Charles 1-6 months ago.
    • Charles handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Charlie represented me in a domestic violence matter and conducted himself with the utmost sensitivity, professionalism and dedication to my case. I highly recommend his services.

  6. A True Professional

    Posted by Christina, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Shane.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Child Custody matter.

    Charlie Shane is the example of professional . He took my case and guided me through the process of a very difficult child custody situation with the ultimate demeanor of compassion, caring , knowledge and professionalism that exceeded my expectations . He guided me through the entire process of this issue from start to finish , always keeping me up to date on what I could expect and what steps we needed to take to complete things in a timely manner. My case had a good outcome and I feel so confident in his abilities , not only would I hire him again but I have already recommended him to friends & family for their legal needs .

  7. An amazing pro bono lawyer

    Posted by Fatma, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Shane.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Immigration matter.

    Charles Shane is an amazing lawyer,i will recommend him for anyone that is looking into an immigration case.He knows his work and knows what he is doing.He kept me well informed the entire time and because of that i had no doubt in him.He is an excellent lawyer and i highly recommend him

  8. Very Happy

    Posted by Amy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Shane.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was very nervous and scared when I started on my way to a divorce. Mr. Shane was very sensitive and understanding. I had no previous experience with the court system or the paperwork involved. He took the time to explain everything to me which made me feel more comfortable during a difficult and confusing time. I felt he had the best interest of me and my children in his mind at all times. He was almost always available to talk and promptly returned my phone calls if he was busy. Looking back I feel it all went so smoothly because he was there to help me every step of the way. His positive and reassuring energy was exactly what I needed during a very hard time.

  9. A smart soft spoken bull dog lawyer we needed...

    Posted by Jennifer and Ryan, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Shane.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Child Support matter.

    Thank goodness for Craigslist and we found Charlie. Over the past 2 years I have exclusively used Charlie Shane for all my legal family consulting needs. He is available continuously and puts a personal touch on everything he does. I recently hired him as full time lawyer for my Child Support Modification. His soft tone and good family nature makes him take his cases personally like he is fighting for his own family. Charlie is a very smart hard-working attorney, he does not only exhibit compassion and exemplary communication skills with his clientele, but displays calm extraordinary persuasive abilities in the courtroom as well. He was very truthful and honest with me and devoted a lot of time and energy into every aspect of my case. His reasonable flat fee helped us to rely on him and to know that he was working for us not just for the money. His excellent quality of service made him apply himself to the extreme and use good tactics in our case to help us win. I will definitely continue to use Charlie Shane for all my family needs and I highly recommend him to any person faced with a family law situation.

  10. NOT for family court.

    Posted by Terry, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Charles Shane.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Child Custody matter.

    I had hired Mr. Shane to modify my Support, and to address custody concerns that stemmed for the violations of the American Disability Act violation my Ex's legal counsel had used in obtaining sole custody. I had been the primary care person for our 3 children before Ex started affair and decided to get divorce. Instead of addressing this he allowed her counsel to dictate the case again. The outcome Supervised visitation for me. Our children had been questioning their mothers behavior. This was due to me attempting to instill values and morals into there life's and not wanting them to make the same mistakes. Supervised Visitation for 16 hours a month at $2,500 retainer then $125.00 an hour or $2000.00 a month to see my children on top of child support. Even this was set illegally as the allegations by the counselor are not in the DSM or recognized by the American Psychiatric Board. Now after him receiving almost $10,000 with parents help, I am back filing Pro/Se cleaning up his highly ineffective counsel.

206-497-1945