Ruth Laura Edlund’s Reviews

Ruth Laura Edlund

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Over promised & Under delivered

    Posted by Suzanne, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruth Edlund.
    • I hired Ruth 1-6 months ago.
    • Ruth handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ms Edlund represented me in a child custody case. Even with solid proof of my husbands mental illness and abusive nature she was unable to get me the custody i desired. She claims to be the most knowledgable and respected lawyer in the area but I saw nothing close to that in my interaction with her. The best thing about her is her strong relationship with several family court judges. Many of which are in "awe" of her high profile firm. This unfortunately didn't help me to get the sole custody I wanted with my "Little Boo"

  2. Still practicing? Something is wrong here

    Posted by Karen Garland, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruth Edlund.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms Edlund represented me in a post divorce matter. Apparently gave me poor advise. I had no case. Had to pay other attorney $2000.00

    Didn't realize there was a hearing that I had lost until I received her bill and notice to pay other attorneys fee. Also didn't know I had filed an appeal until, I went to the courthouse to see what had happened. Erroneously filed and processed without my knowledge or signature,

  3. John Panchot

    Posted by John Panchot, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Ruth Edlund.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Ruth provided excellent representation to me during the very dificult and complicated custody battle over my child. It was the most difficult and painfull time in my life and In hindsight no amount of responsiveness and keeping me informed would have been sufficient to adequately dissuade my pain and anxiety during this time. I am now, as a result of Ruth Edlund exceptional work the custodial parent for my child and would not be the least bit surprised if I came across Ruth Edlund coming out of a phone booth wearing a cape.

  4. Unresponsive and irresponsible

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Ruth Edlund.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Ms Edlund was unorganized and did not keep me informed of timeline and deadlines. She missed crucial deadlines in my case and was too busy that she pushed undemanding and inexperienced clients to the bottom of the proverbial "list" to accommodate more commanding and demanding clients.

    1. Joshua Nihan Foreman

      Joshua Foreman

      Lawyer Comment:

      Good family law attorneys make enemies -- the other clients. I also have somebody pretending to be a former client who trashed me on AVVO. I don't believe a word of this or any negative review of Ruth Edlund, who is a superb attorney in every way.

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

  5. Ruth is great!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Edlund.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My case was a complicated process with much opposition and I quickly learned that Ruth Laura Edlund enjoyed a challenge! I had complete confidence in her as she navigated me through the legal process. She communicated well, was realistic as to a possible outcome and went over different options. It is fair to say she never promised anything she thought she couldn't deliver. I recommend her wholeheartedly.

  6. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Edlund.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ruth represented me in our divorce involving children. My experience is that she is very intelligent and is very knowledgeable, experienced, and thorough. She is responsive and is well networked with family-law-related professionals in King County. She understood my main objectives and executed a plan that achieved these. Ruth is concerned with the interests of children and some of her recommendations to clients reflect that. Ruth works to achieve negotiated settlements, unlike many take-no-prisoners attorneys whose cases always end in trials. But if your case should end in a trial, as mine unfortunately did, Ruth will do an excellent job representing your interests in court.

  7. Post Divorce - issues

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Ruth Edlund.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ruth provided excellent direction and multiple options to resolve my post divorce issues. These issues ranged from financial disputes, to harassment & decision making for children. She always put my (and my child's) health & safety first, my finances were always considered as well.

    Ruth presented alternatives to the "court room" in terms of mediation and arbitration all with the best interest of me and my child in mind. Lastly she was comprehensive in her approach, addressing areas that had I not thought of, might be costing me a lot more right now.

    Ruth's services are not inexpensive - but what good service is?

  8. Client Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Ruth Edlund.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very closed minded. Imcomplete cross examinations. Leaves many issues unresolved. Does about face without disclosing changes with client. Arrogant and dismissive. Acts secretively without allerting or informining client of impact of changes.

  9. Top tier divorce lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Ruth Edlund.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ruth was recommended to me as one of the best attorneys for divorce, and this is very much true in my opinion. She is expensive, but if you're looking for a divorce attorney then you know that you're pretty much screwed anyway. As for me I've spent about 15 grand in attorney fees only. Her pros and cons come from the single fact - she is smart, wise and very professional. This is good, since she will truly act in the best interest of you (and mostly for all parties, including your children). This is also a bad thing, since during a divorce very often attorney on the other side would be far from being honest and have any other interests other than getting attorney fees and as much of your assets as possible - you probably need other type of lawyers to defend against this. Just keep this in mind, and good luck.