Michael J. Longyear’s Reviews

Michael J. Longyear

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thoughtful & Compassionate Legal Services

    Posted by John,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Longyear.

    Being a Seattle native and having lived in Seattle for many years prior to relocating, my career as a professional manager and business consultant put me in direct contact and dealings with numerous attorneys. Mike Longyear stands out among them as one of the most caring and compassionate attorneys with whom I have dealt. Mr. Longyear is an individual who puts a great deal of thoughtful consideration into the decision making processes that affect his clients. He treats his clients with kindness and respect, which I can say is rare in the legal community. He is extremely knowledgeable and takes the time to share that knowledge with not only his clients but his colleagues as well.
    I have recommended him to several friends that need legal services in the Seattle area and will continue to do so.

  2. Review of Mike Longyear

    Posted by Mike, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Longyear.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.

    Mike did an excellent job in writing my will and wrote up my parents will in a way that prevented disagreement after passing. Mike is really good at avoiding potential future issues.

  3. Review of Michael J. Longyear's services for a Will, POA and Medical POA

    Posted by Tory,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Longyear.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.

    Michael was very calm and patient with achieving important but basic needs. He quickly showed us what we needed and what we did not. Having had similiar documents that needed to be updated we found his formats to be above and beyond the standard. I feel as though my family will not be left in doubt about what needs to be done and what my wishes are when that time comes.

  4. He does good work

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Longyear.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Estate Planning matter.

    Who wants to think about making a will? Mike Longyear made the task painless. His advice was solid and he asked the right questions, but left the decisions to me. I'll definitely go back to him when it is time to revise and update.

  5. Estate planning plus end of life directives

    Posted by Esther, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Longyear.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Estate Planning matter.

    I was introduced to Michael Longyear through our mutual involvement in the arts probably fifteen years ago. Liking him and learning of his good reputation for estate planning, I used Michael Longyear to put together a will and end of life directives. Recently, when enough things had changed in my life, we worked together to update these materials. I liked the pace of the process which allowed time to make thoughtful decisions and Michael’s scope of experience which provided wisdom along the way. I believe he shares my values (important to me), I trust Michael Longyear to give good professional advice and to get the details right in composing a will and end of life directives. Working with him has been a very good experience.

  6. The perfect choice for estate planning.

    Posted by Ellen, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Longyear.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Trusts matter.

    Michael drew up trust documents for me this year, and I could not be happier with his services. He is intelligent, trustworthy, respectful, and knowledgeable, not to mention fun to talk to. He and his staff were thorough and efficient, keeping me in the loop whenever necessary. I could not recommend Michael and his firm more highly.

  7. Excellent advice and execution

    Posted by Brad,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Longyear.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.

    Mike has helped me with a number of issues over the last 15 years or so.
    I initially met Mike as a co-director on a residential condo board and I was impressed with his thoroughness, hard work, and commitment.
    When I needed some legal advice I went directly to him as a result of this connection.
    He first created a Trust for me and helped my partner and I construct a pre-nuptual agreement. He handled this sensitive issue extremely well and we were both pleased with the result.
    He also has created wills and medical directives for us.
    Since then he has revised the trust, the wills, and the medical directives to stay in synch with our current circumstances and changes in tax law and we both feel confident that we are in good shape in these critical areas.
    He has offered excellent advice and his attention to detail and his taking the time to truly understand our needs made navigating through these complex, difficult issues possible. I would recommend him without qualificaton.

  8. Grear attorney and nice guy to boot

    Posted by Dena,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Longyear.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.

    I have known and worked with Mike Longyear for about 20 years. He handled my personal will and estate planning to start and then he set up my husband's corporation. He has been diligent in making sure that my family was protected. He specifically talked to me about what my goals were, about issues that might arise and ways to work around those potential problems. He even reviewed the amount of life insurance I had in place and recommended an increase to meet my family needs if something should happen to me.

    Mike took the time to get to know me and my family so everyone would be protected. And he did this without adding some of the typical nickel and dime charges that I have seen other attorneys do.

    Mike is the best.

  9. Mike is simply the best!

    Posted by Paul, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Longyear.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.

    My first experience with Mike was working with him on the sale of a home where he was the executor.
    I have to say that he walked through walls to get the transaction closed. Recently Mike set up an LLC for my new business. He and his staff didn't miss a beat through every step of the process. Mike is simply the best; he made me feel like i was his only client. Oh, and he his nicest guy too.

206-624-6271