Melissa Ann Huelsman’s Reviews

Melissa Ann Huelsman

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Best in The Great Northwest

    Posted by Barbara, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melissa Huelsman.
    • I hired Melissa 1-6 months ago.
    • Melissa handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As a new client of Ms. Melissa Huelsman's, I walk away from our initial consultation regarding a predatory lending situation with a renewed sense of confidence in our judicial system here in the great state of Washington. Ms. Melissa strikes me as a veritable fireball of enthusiasm in her field of legal expertise.

    Straightforward, no nonsense honesty is engrained in her persona. Her Biography reads like a who's who in the world of consumer advocacy. Ms. Melissa's victorious accomplishments taking on large financial institutions is to be commended. Bringing the hammer down on MERS scams proves she is fearless in the face of any formidable adversary large or small, powerful or weak.

    If you or someone you know are facing issues regarding the loss of security associated with a foreclosed domicile, run, don't walk, to LOMAH for advice on bringing swift resolution to your desparate circumstances..

    Be prepared to hear the truth and to tell the truth, as to do otherwise would clearly be a waste of her valuable time. An Attorney possessing the skills of forthrightness and fearlessness is rare in today's litigation oriented society, but thankfully I found a hound that bites hard in this woman and that is exactly what I need in the midst of this crises.

    Although I am a new client and have absolutely no idea how our case will play out in the long run, I guarantee there will be no more wrestless days and sleepless nights. To put it simply, I feel confidant as I place my trust in her high degree of competency that "this too shall pass".

  2. If you need foreclosure/ home loan help hire Melissa ASAP

    Posted by Jenna, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melissa Huelsman.
    • I hired Melissa 1-3 years ago.
    • Melissa handled my Foreclosure matter.

    We hired Melissa when we were facing foreclosure, and were denied by our lender for modification 4 times. Melissa is an excellent attorney. She is straight forward and doesn't give false hope.
    She only agreed to take our case because she thought we had a chance to win.
    Throughout the process she was responsive, courteous, and went above and beyond to answer our questions and make sure we understood everything that was going on with our case.
    As our case proceeded and we settled with out bank she put us in touch with a non profit organization that could help us finish the terms of the modification with our lender. She suggested this to us because the service from them would be free. She could have said nothing and finished that portion of the modification and charged us but she was really looking out for our best interest.
    Melissa kept in touch after all was said and done, and she even checked over the final modification paperwork for us.
    I would recommend her for anyone in WA state facing mortgage problems. My only regret is that we didn't find her sooner in here process!
    Thank you Melissa!

  3. Great lawyer

    Posted by Tam,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melissa Huelsman.
    • I hired Melissa 6-12 months ago.

    I hired Melissa a few years ago and have been extremely satisfied with her in all areas of business. It's hard to say that one "enjoys" any legal experience, however I appreciated her honesty and integrity during a challenging time. Her knowledge is extensive and she always took the time to answer my questions. I would highly recommend Melissa to anyone seeking legal counsel.

  4. FACING FORECLOSURE ? MEET THE BEST LEGAL PROFESSIONAL IN WASHINGTON CAPABLE OF FACING OFF AGAINST PREDATORY LENDERS WITH EASE.

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melissa Huelsman.
    • I hired Melissa 1-3 years ago.
    • Melissa handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    A true warrior amongst lawyers, with no tolerance for mortgage company representatives that are accustomed to rolling over people with inexperienced staff, sloppy preparation, and questionable legal practices. Her knowledge of the current state of affairs, the people involved in the industry, personal, and corporate personalities, and probable outcomes is encyclopedic. You could not ask for a more formidable adversary to oppose a mortgage holder intent on pursuing their own agenda at your expense. Highly recommended.

  5. Foreclosure Mediation & Prededtory Lending

    Posted by Roland, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melissa Huelsman.
    • I hired Melissa more than 3 years ago.
    • Melissa handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In 2008 the Recession brought a drastic downturn in automobile sub-prime lending. I had been successfully employed in this industry for 15 years. Clearly in 2009 it was over and, I had held on for too long. This resulted in falling behind on our mortgage payments. My wife and I unsuccessfully sought-out a loan modification with our lender several times during the next 9 month period.

    Then the government sponsored Home Affordable Mortgage Program (aka: HAMP or Obama Plan) arrived on the scene. It was made available to lenders like ours. Because of our attachment to the house we had called "home" for 13 years we chose the HAMP plan over selling it and taking our equity of approximately $250,000. We thought we had entered the Trial Period of the Plan. It consisted of making three months of reduced payments. These payments were supposed to be an amount close to what our actual HAMP payments would be after we completed the qualification period. This was all documented in the the Plan contracts sent to us by our lender.

    Three months in to the Trial Period we were felt our position was good and that we were successfully completing the qualifying period. We were now waiting on the modification "contracts". Then, on the SIXTH! month the lender quit withdrawing funds from our account. When we asked why they responded that we had asked to "be removed from the Plan." Not true! After the lender agreed to review recorded phone conversations they admitted the mistake was theirs. They offered to put us back into the HAMP Plan. After a couple more months of no payment withdrawl we found we never were put into a HAMP modification plan. Moreover, we were being foreclosed upon in very short order! It was time to go see Melissa Huelsman!

    We elected to litigate with Melissa representing us against the lenders' very capable attorneys. She quickly secured us several Temporary Restraining Orders of foreclosure. The TRO's resulted favorably in "stays" spanning a two and one-half year period. We were very happy! Similarly, favorable opinions were given on her arguments regarding the main issues in our case. Those issues were the actions taken by the lender in violation of the Deed Of Trust Act and the Consumer Protection Act. As well, it was found we would be due Damages for Lost Equity. The end result was that we won our case in a Judicial Mediation. We were awarded a favorable settlement with the lender.

    In our opinion Melisa A Huelsman is an excellent attorney. She clearly has all it takes to mount a formidable campaign whether taking the offensive or the defensive position. She's smart, fair, knowledgeable, experienced, detail oriented, down-to-earth, tough as nails and personable all at the same time. She also seemed to be well liked by the court and comfortably confident in her knowledge and expertise in foreclosure and predatory lending law. She's a WINNER!

  6. Excellent Foreclosure Lawyer

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melissa Huelsman.
    • I hired Melissa 1-3 years ago.
    • Melissa handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Melissa's knowledge, experience, and understanding helped me through a very complicated and difficult situation. Her performance in both court and mediation were outstanding. She obtained not one, but TWO settlements on my behalf. She's truly a leader in her field. I'd recommend Melissa and her courteous, efficient staff to anyone who finds themselves in need of foreclosure/bankruptcy legal services.

  7. Best of the best

    Posted by Randy, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melissa Huelsman.
    • I hired Melissa more than 3 years ago.
    • Melissa handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My wife and I were days away from losing our home because our lender played games with our loan modification and we found ourselves many thousands of dollars in debt with them. Melissa stepped up and found the best solution for us (bankruptcy) at the time and the future. Every time we (my wife and I) would meet with her we would come away knowing that she’s got our back and we can expect the best possible outcome available to us. She’s not afraid of the big banks and is working to help create laws that will return our banking system to something that is geared more for protecting the people rather than the banks.

  8. No-Show in Court...and more reasons not to hire her

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Melissa Huelsman.
    • I hired Melissa more than 3 years ago.
    • Melissa handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Extremely unresponsive. Unreliable. Did not show up in court to my one and only hearing. Said she was in California. Took all the money I had upfront but failed to provide an accounting even after she stopped representing me. She failed to negotiate on my behalf with the lender. Instead, I had to negotiate myself, although I had paid her. When I asked for my money back for failing to represent me, failing to appear in court, failing to negotiate, she refused to refund my money or provide a billing statement. I would not trust her to represent anyone, especially those in vulnerable situations, facing once-in-a-lifetime crises.