James Egan’s Reviews

James Egan

Average Rating

Based on 35 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI experts

    Posted by Karl, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Egan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was involved in an accident where a blood draw by the officer revealed a .15 BAC. I was looking at a license suspension plus at least 2 days in jail by the prosecutor’s first recommendation. I was confident in hiring James Egan’s team because of the extensive DUI defense experience of every single one of their four lawyers. Mr. Egan personally helped me avoid a DOL license suspension altogether. Then, on the criminal case after legal argument was filed, the prosecutor agreed to a Negligent Driving reduction without jail, a small fraction of fines, and obviously no license suspension. I got off essentially scott free! James Egan’s firm saved my life! If you made the mistake of DUI as I did, there is no mistake in hiring these DUI experts to fix it!

  2. THE SMARTEST LAWYERS YOU COULD EVER HIRE

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Egan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My facts could not have been worse. I had a second DUI offense in 7 years with a car accident and a .21 BAC level. Every other lawyer said I would probably do 45 days in jail if I didn’t go deferred. Mr. Egan’s legal team has decades of experience and they promised me a strong and recognized legal defense for my very serious charge. James Egan’s team identified a series of legal issues and filed motions for the criminal case, resulting in a major reduction to Negligent Driving without any jail time. They also beat the license suspension, which is clearly their forte. The outcome they got for me goes beyond words and is frankly jaw-dropping. They saved my life! I would highly recommend their extremely solid legal services to everyone charged with DUI. These guys are all legal geniuses!

  3. Very happy with my legal services

    Posted by Brad, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Egan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    When I first met James Egan and his team of attorneys, I found out I missed the Department of Licensing 20 day deadline and that my license was going to be suspended for 90 days. On top of that, I was going to need SR-22 insurance for the next three years. The Law Offices of James Egan were able to get DOL to grant me a late hearing request. They then won that hearing and saved my license. On my criminal case, despite blowing over the .08 legal limit, James Egan’s attorneys were able to convince the prosecutor to give me an infraction instead of a misdemeanor. I avoided jail, I avoided a license suspension, and even avoided a criminal conviction. I’m very happy with my legal services.

  4. Amazing outcome when everything was at stake

    Posted by Eric, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Egan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I had blown over twice the legal limit and my commercial driver’s license was at stake. A DUI conviction or a DOL loss would have ended my career as a truck driver. James Egan’s team was able to win my DOL hearing and get the prosecutor to reduce my DUI charge to a Reckless Driving, saving my commercial driver’s license and my job. Absolutely amazing work.

  5. Saved my job

    Posted by Marcus, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Egan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I blew more than twice the legal limit and knew I was in big trouble. I am required to travel to Canada as part of my job and I knew a DUI conviction would likely keep me out of Canada for life. The Law Offices of James Egan got my case reduced and saved my job, and advised me to stay calm, positive and optimistic through this stressful wait time, which was invaluable, helpful and sound advice. The prosecutor was trying to put me in jail for five days but instead I walked away with just some community service. James Egan and the other amazing attorneys in this fine firm exceeded all my expectations and I couldn’t be more pleased, and I am forever grateful, humbled and indebted to the entire team at the Law Offices of James Egan.

  6. Jail on 1st Offense

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I do not recommend James Egan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired James for my first criminal offense, a DUI no blow. My case had no particularly unique facts, but I ended up losing my license for a year and spent a total of 36 hrs, including 24 straight hours in jail.

    James told me "There's a 99% chance you won't go to jail.". I have no idea if he was full of it or if I just got unlucky.

    What I do know is that I paid $4500 to go to jail and lose my license for a year, which was really terrible. REALLY terrible.

    It seems James' attorneys' strategy failed: he never was able to get a hold of the Prosecutor to bargain. I had several continuances and it was pretty clear my attorney, Carl, Linda, whoever there was there that day, was just finally talking to the Prosecutor about my case right on the spot. In other words, on the criminal side, it's not clear to me James' attorneys did ANY work other than to show up (when other clients of there's were there too), and try to get a 5 second word with the prosecutor. I ended up pleading to reckless and got JAIL.

    My understanding is this is a strange result. So I got unlucky, or, again, James failed.

    1. James Egan

      James Egan

      Lawyer Comment:

      This comment has been reviewed by the entire staff at the Law Offices of James Egan, and we are unaware which prior client if any this was. This is because:
      1) Our legal fees are usually lower than $4500 for first offenses of DUI's; we found no client recently that paid that much in legal fees on a first offense refusal.
      2) Our requests to Avvo to ask this past client to contact us to discuss concerns and a possible good-faith refund by us, have gone ignored by whoever this person is.
      3) As the managing partner, I make it clear to every client that I personally should be the first person to speak with if any concerns come up about any attorney's performance in court. The reviewer here did not contact me at any time before posting this negative review on Avvo, and continues not to do so, despite request through Avvo.
      4) The facts here illustrate that it this was a DUI Refusal. Avoidance of a DUI to become a Reckless Driving is a reasonable outcome, generally, and not a "terrible" one. This is a "two step" reduction, which is certainly better than a one-step reduction to a simple DUI. The jail complained of by this client includes apparently 12 hours spent immediately after arrest and *before this firm was hired*, which is beyond our control. We have no record of any recent client pleading to a Reckless Driving and actually being sentenced to a further jail day by the court. The fact of avoiding a DUI at all after refusing to blow into a BAC as required by the Implied Consent statute shows that the attorneys did sufficient negotiation work to make this two-step reduction happen, usually through emails, letters, and preliminary written legal motions which are usually shown to clients. If in fact a prosecutor made decisions "on the spot," this is due to the prosecutor not reviewing our earlier petitions for reductions well before a court date, despite our communications. Some prosecutors do operate in a last minute fashion which we must work around; this firm categorically does not.
      5) The fact that the reviewer lost his license at Department of Licensing makes him or her like the 78% of petitioners and their attorneys who statistically lose those petitions. Issues in refusal cases are limited to whether there was a lawful arrest, reasonable grounds to believe DUI, and that the Implied Consent Warnings were read where the subject manifested no confusion to those warnings but refused to blow. Suspensions on refusals may be statistically lost even more than License hearings where breath tests occurred, given the low legal standard for DOL to do so (preponderance of the evidence). The fact of losing this hearing under state law does not mean legal efforts were not taken to avoid the suspension. Our track record of beating these suspensions was 53% in 9 audited months of 2011, which included over 100 consecutive client license suspension matters. Given the average 22% win rate, we consider our 53% rate to be rather good. We are sorry that this reviewer had greater expectations in preserving his or her license than the reality of the law.

      If this reviewer had a legitimate beef with the firm's work, my phone line has always been open (My cell phone is 206-795-3292). The reviewer's account is suspiciously off, or minimizes the difficulties inherent in DUI refusal cases. The reviewer's account disregards the firm's avoidance of a DUI conviction, and describes serving jail where that is not a recognized recent experience of any of our clients on a Reckless Driving reduction.

      Our firm has represented around 1,500 DUI clients, and in each case we strive for solid outcomes. Whatever the circumstances with this reviewer, their account is offset by the vast majority of positive reviewers below.

      -James Egan

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

    2. James Egan

      James Egan

      Lawyer Comment:

      James told me "There's a 99% chance you won't go to jail."

      That is simply UNTRUE. No lawyer of any experience would make that kind of promise for a person charged with DUI Refusal where a conviction as charged results in a mandatory 2 day jail penalty. While I can opine about statistical chances of reductions based on over 1,000 past DUI defenses (and there was a substantial reduction here), I certainly don't guess about jail, because there are multiple variables (prosecutor, judge, client's compliance with court conditions). So the reviewer is either being untruthful or does not recall what I ever said. I stand behind the two-step reduction from a DUI refusal to a non-DUI as being reasonable depending on circumstances.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Very happy I chose James Egan

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Egan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    When I met James Egan and his team, they gave me a lot of confidence that they could help me out of a tough situation. I didn’t think I had done anything worth getting pulled over for, but after I blew above the limit I was worried that a DUI would end up on my record forever. After finding problems in the police report, Mr. Egan and his partners got the prosecutor to amend my charge to negligent driving with a suspended sentence. I’m very happy I chose the Law Offices of James Egan. If any of my friends get in trouble I know who I’ll recommend.

  8. These guys know what they're doing

    Posted by Aaron, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Egan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I thought there was no way the prosecutor would agree to reduce my DUI charge. I blew twice the legal limit and didn't have the best record. There really was no defense to the charge.

    However, based on a speedy trial issue spotted by the Law Offices of James Egan, the prosecutor agreed to reduce and I avoided having to install an ignition interlock device on my car for a year.

  9. Completely impressive defense

    Posted by Gregor, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Egan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was incredibly worried after I was pulled over and charged with DUI just for crossing a lane line. I chose James Egan to represent me because of his obvious experience and team approach. I was completely impressed with the way they spelled out exactly what I needed to do and how they aggressively went after the evidence against me to destroy the prosecutor's case. Not only did they get me a Negligent Driving 1st Degree even though I blew over the legal limit, but they saved my license because they showed the officer didn't have any grounds to pull me over in the first place. James Egan's team is one of a kind and I would hire them again in a heartbeat.

  10. Amazing

    Posted by Alfred, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Egan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James,

    I'm still in a state of shock about what happened in court. We were supposed to have a routine continuance hearing, but instead my entire case was settled very quickly.

    The facts speak for themselves. I totaled my vehicle, refused, and have a prior DWI, and your team managed to get me a reckless driving, no jail, no 1-year revocation of license, no interlock, modest fine and 30-days without license. Wow!

    You are a brilliant attorney and I cannot begin to tell you how much I appreciate your representation. I will tell everyone I know who has the misfortune of ending up in DUI-court that you are simply the best.