Geoffrey L. Burg’s Reviews

Geoffrey L. Burg

Average Rating

Based on 54 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. 1st DUI charge reduced to Reckless driving

    Posted by Ryan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Burg.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-6 months ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was indirectly referred to Geoff's law firm as I was seeking representation for a recent DUI (my first). I met with him, explained the facts surrouding my case and was impressed by his easy going nature. The thing that stuck out to me the most in the initial consultation is he let his experience, reviews and credentials speak for themselves. I spoke to another lawyer in a prior consultation that had a lower fee structure but still went with Geoff because he made me feel the most comfortable. Geoff didn't make me any absurd or outlandish promises regarding my case. I appreciated how candid and frank he was about the evidence being presented against me.

    I also appreciated that he had an outline (along with referrals to vendors) for everything that the court required of me throughout this process. I feel very fortunate in who've I've dealt with regarding obtaining the alcohol evaluation and SR-22 insurance. This shows me that Geoff took his time researching good people to work with his client's needs. I'm extremely happy that he has helped me navigate through the court system and was able to have the prosecutor reduce the DUI charge to Reckless driving. I will HIGHLY recommend Geoff to anyone who may be facing criminal charges of their own as he made me feel that I wasn't alone during the court proceedings.

  2. Excellent lawyer, highly recommended

    Posted by Sai K, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Burg.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Getting arrested for a DUI is very stressful and can throw your life into a disarray. This was my first time going through the judicial system and I was both scared and confused. The entire ordeal lasted over 8 months for me and finally due to all the efforts and time put in by Geoff and his team I came out of this with a positive outcome.

    I did a lot of research on the internet, talked to several lawyers and finally chose to hire Geoff to represent me because he came across as a very knowledgeable, patient, talented and straight forward lawyer. In our first meeting he went over all the details of my case and clearly explained to me all the next steps. He provided clear instructions and explanations for all the steps and pointed me in the right direction. He did not sugar coat anything unlike other lawyers and he was straight forward about how my case looked and what I could expect to happen. The first step was the DOL hearing and he put in all the required paperwork in time and made a very good argument. Unfortunately the case against me was very solid and with very low percentage of winning in DOL cases, it was no surprise that I got a negative outcome. But this was just the beginning. Over the next few months Geoff prepared excellent motions and filed them in court. He is extremely well organized and he sent timely reminders and follow ups for every step along the way. He is very well known among Seattle lawyers and I witnessed this first hand during our court apperances. He is very well connected to a multitude of lawyers both in private practice and from DA's office. My case was based in Redmond district court and almost all the judges knew Geoff and respected him. I was pleasantly surprised by this level of recognition for him and I was glad that I made the right choice. Geoff negotiated with the DA over the course of several months but they did not budge because they believed that they had a solid case. Geoff did not back down and he prepared to go to trial. He prepared me for a testimony and we went to trial. He and his team filed several well researched motions and he recommended an expert witness to help my case. I was very anxious through all this and always asked Geoff a multitude of questions but he was very patient and answered all of them. He is very responsive and usually replies to an email within a few hours or by the end of the day. The trial started and Geoff did an excellent job picking the jury and giving an opening statement. We got a lucky break in the trial all thanks to Geoff's effectiveness and knowledge and got a favorable outcome from the case. So finally after 8 months of anxiousness it all ended and given my case I couldn't be more happy with the outcome.

    I highly recommend Geoff for anyone facing a DUI charge, he has a lot of experience and knows the ins and outs of DUI law. He will help you in every aspect of the case and will work tirelessly to get you a favorable outcome. He is very knowleadgable has an excellent team to support his efforts. He will work with you for any special needs you have (in my case, immigration) and give you all the necessary information needed to move forward.

  3. Arrested for DUI? Scared as hell? Worried you screwed your life up? Don't stress — there is help.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Burg.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    A little over 2 years ago I was pulled over about a mile from my home on the way home from dinner with my wife. I was in a busy, lit area and had pulled out of my parking spot with my lights off. I had drank a few drinks throughout the night, but felt fine. But knowing how low the legal limit is — I was screwed.

    After being arrested and put in jail I was how most people in my situation probably feel — what the hell do I do now?!? Will I lost my license? Will I lose my job? Will I be a felon? Did I just screw up my life forever? Well, yes, your situation isn't the best. But it'll be okay. You have to just take things a step at a time.

    After calling and talking with 5 different top Seattle DUI attorneys and meeting with two, I was really starting to stress. How in the world am I going to afford this? My wife and I have a pretty modest income, and with rent, bills and other expenses this could really make us hit rock bottom. But just when I was feeling at the end of my rope I ran across a list of "Top DUI Attorneys" list in a local city magazine. There were only 5 listed for DUI and I had already spoke with 2 of them. Luckily, I picked up the phone one last time and scheduled an appointment with Geoff. After meeting with him at his office the very next day and telling him my situation — I knew he was my guy. He listened. He gave advice. He didn't push for my business. He shot me straight. It was exactly what I was looking for, it was exactly what I needed. I had blown a pretty high number, and my chances of winning the case were slim. But there WAS a chance. And in my situation, I really had nothing to lose by fighting it.

    Payment was easy for me because I was able to put the entire thing on a credit card up front, and he gave me a significant discount for doing so. Best part? THIS FEE INCLUDED ALL TRIAL COSTS (if there were any). And in my situation, I knew there could be. Some other attorneys I had met with charged a bit more, and then charged ADDITIONAL for trial costs. So it was a big relief to find a talented attorney that didn't cost a fortune.

    Geoff helped me throughout the process, from start to finish. In fact, I will still email him or call him from time to time with stupid questions or freaking out about something, and he always quickly and calmly gives me direction. So much so that I consider him more than just my attorney at this point — but more of a friend. He really goes above and beyond for his clients.

    In my case I ended up fighting it all the way to trial, and lost. But barely. I got extremely close to a deal on several occasions with the DA due to the DA's respect for Geoff. We then went to trial and almost had a mis-trial due to Geoff's talent twice. Geoff was considered a rockstar around the court building from winning a DUI trail a few weeks before that NO ONE thought he could win. But in my case I had blown a 0.14 and the police officer blatantly lied about what happened during my field sobriety tests so it was an extremely uphill battle.

    However, even though I lost I was given the minimum fine, and got to choose the jail (outside the city) to do my 24 hours. And while yes, the IID was horrible — the rest was a cake walk. And that was largely in part to Geoffery.

    So if you are where I was a few years back and are searching through reviews and trying to figure out who to go with, then do yourself a favor and quit looking. In my opinion you can't possibly find a better attorney than Geoff. He's a smart, talented and tenacious attorney that knows the law through and through. He does his research thoroughly and fights until the bitter end.

    So hang in there — things will be alright. The hardest decision you have to make now has an answer. And he's right in front of you.

  4. Excellent Attorney!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Burg.
    • I hired Geoffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired Geoffrey Burg for my DUI case and it has been one of my best decisions. During my ordeal, Geoff was always responsive, honest, and a pleasure to work with. He was also very knowledgeable and well respected in his practice. I have witnessed this through his interactions judges and other attorneys.

    To provide some background, I went out to celebrate with friends this past Memorial Day weekend. I was pulled over the next morning for speeding (~75mph), and subsequently arrested for a DUI. What I learned is that sometimes sleeping over at a friend’s house is simply not enough. I performed poorly on the sobriety test (wished I rejected this) and blew a 0.097 at the police station. What made my case even more difficult is that I have a prior minor DUI over 7 years ago. Although it does not count against this case, it certainly does not reflect well for me.

    First thing Geoff did was provide me a list of things to complete. He then guided and answered my questions throughout the pre-trial process. As part of his investigation, Geoff discovered that my conversation with a public defender on the morning of the arrest was voice recorded by the state. My client-attorney confidentiality rights were violated. We used this as a bargaining chip for negotiations and the result was a reduced sentence to Negligent Driving -1st degree! My fine was just $250 plus court fees. Not to mention, the 10 hrs of community service asked by the prosecutor was dropped by the judge since I completed everything per Geoff’s list. But more importantly, he is friends with the judge.

    It is also important to note that I was searching for a new job at the time. This charge really put me to the ground and I thought that all hopes of making a job transition was down the drain. Geoff provided good advice in dealing with this matter and he also wrote a letter explaining my case to the company I now work for. I cannot express how thankful I am for his superb service. I highly recommend Geoff.

  5. Geoffrey Burg, an attorney you want in your corner

    Posted by Billy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Burg.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    It was a pleasure to work with Geoffrey Burg. Being charged with a DUI was one of the most stressful times of my life. However, from the beginning of the process, he eased my concerns and kept me up to date with every piece of information. In the end, he was able to negotiate my case down to a reckless driving. I would highly recommend him to anyone that is facing a potential DUI.

  6. Excellent and trustworthy lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Burg.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I got to know Geoff through my friend when I was looking for a good attorney for my first DUI defense. He was very knowledgeable and always quick response. Since this was my first defense I had many questions about the procedure. He had explained everything I asked right away and gave me great relief. I fully trusted and followed his advise and could finish my case in two months and half, receiving a better conviction than DUI. In addition, his lawyer fee was reasonable with a flexible payment plan.
    All the above said, I would say Geoff Burg is a highly recommended criminal defense lawyer.

  7. Excellent legal representation provided by Geoffrey Burg

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Burg.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Burg provided excellent representation during my ordeal with the legal system. From the very first meeting he provided me with sound advice and gave me a blueprint of how I could expect the process might proceed from beginning to end. He was extremely professional, but at the same time very personable and provided a sense of comfort that helped me during that very difficult time.

    Mr. Burg gave me great contact information so that I could proactively manage the obligations that I would be required to fill under court orders, such as attending a victim's panel, getting into an alcohol treatment program and getting my insurance coverage adjusted to allow me to continue to drive throughout the legal proceedings. During my legal proceedings he was successful in getting my SCRAM device removed after just one month of monitoring. He also successfully had evidence that was improperly obtained suppressed which led to an amendment in my charge from DUI to Reckless Driving.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Burg's services to any of my friends, family or co-workers who might find themselves in the unfortunate situation that I found myself. His legal advice was outstanding and the representation he provided was second to none.

  8. DUI NOT GUILTY VERDICT

    Posted by Sue, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Burg.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was a BAC refusal case but I had done the field sobriety test. I had interviewed with 3 other attorneys and never felt confident or comfortable with them as I did with Geoff. Geoff was honest and had given me material review before I even hired him. I had no idea about the law. Never had to deal with it before. No blemishes on my driving record. Geoff took my case and was beside me 100% all the way. 8 months of stess. My case was brought to trial. He had to prove Beyond a Resonable Doubt that I was not guilty. He did!! I now have my life back. My family and I can not begin to THANK him enough. I would recommend Geoff in a heartbeat!!!

  9. Geoff Burg

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Burg.
    • I hired Geoffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Geoffrey Burg is fantastic. I was completely unfamiliar with the court system and he walked me through EVERYTHING step by step. Legal issues can be frightening but Mr. Burg made everything a lot less overwhelming. If I ever had a question either Geoff or a member of his team would answer it within a few hours if not almost right away. I literally cannot say too many great things about him.

  10. How Good a Lawyer is Geoff Burg?

    Posted by Rocky, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Burg.
    • I hired Geoffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Let me count the ways:

    1. At my arraignment for DUI, he secured my release without a bail increase and with terms comparable to first time misdemeanor offenders – even though the information in front of the judge spelled out my embarrassingly bad record that included two DUI’s over the previous 30 years and a felony conviction for assaulting a police officer.

    2. After thoroughly examining and analyzing the evidence, Geoff set a strategy of patience to reach a good plea deal. He was able to wear down the prosecutor’s less than reasonable initial offer by continuing the case until either, a.) he was matched with a more compromising negotiating partner, b.) regardless of the particular prosecutor, the SA’s office was tired of our case coming up month after month without resolution, or C.) all of the above. It took awhile, but it worked.

    3. Well after sentencing, a year after and for a period of about six months, Geoff continued to provide his services during my trials and tribulations with the ignition interlock device: fielding my problems and complaints regarding recurring device malfunctions, false-positive violations, the unscrupulous vendor, and the flawed IID compliance law. The IID restriction was the most trying and surprising part of the whole DUI process for me, worse even than the humiliation and despair I felt during the arrest. Geoff not only helped me through it, he did so without extra charge.

    4. During this IID period, Geoff replied to dozens of my emails and phone calls seeking guidance and support, he wrote to the IID vendor and DOL officials on my behalf, he enlisted the help of a state trooper to verify my claim of a false-positive violation, he consulted other attorneys for their expertise, and when he had exhausted all avenues, he broke new ground by initiating a proposal to revise the state IID law -- a proposal his law partner has crafted into an amendment and that is now making its way through Washington’s legislative channels.

    5. Geoff was solid from beginning to end. He was competent, honest, hard working, amiable, and dependable. I could not have asked for more from a criminal defense attorney.

    ###

Call now for a free in person consultation.

206-467-2607