Alan Scott Funk’s Reviews

Alan Scott Funk

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Alan provided Honesty, Integrity, and a Constant Reminder to stay focused on my Child's Best Interest

    Posted by Jason, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Alan impressed me in our initial consultation with his integrity, knowledge, and experience and lived up to that impression throughout my case. He very carefully made sure that I understood how the law applied to my situation and provided thoughtful guidance on appropriate courses of action. Alan approached the issues in my case with honesty and integrity and helped me see them in an objective light. Most importantly, he continuously helped me focus on doing what was best for my son.

    Alan was available when I needed him and responsive to calls, e-mails, and texts, showing me he understood how critically important and urgent the issues I was facing were to me. While I hope to avoid any further involvement with our courts, I would happily use Alan's services again.

  2. My person recommendation of Mr. Funk

    Posted by Mohebat, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Funk has been representing me for the last 11 months. He is such an honest, truwtworthy lawyer. He will guide you in the most gentle way possible and make this horrible situation all better. His knowledge of the system is incredible and he has continued to keep me informed every step of the way. He responds to e-mails ASAP with full knowledge and confidance. I could not have asked for a better lawyer. He is truly a star in his field.

  3. A Compassionate and smart attorney; a role model for others in the field of family law

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Alan took over as my attorney after the first 3-4 months of my case. He has been an exceptional lawyer, representing me for over a year in an extremely complex case. He has been trustworthy, steadfast, and reliable. Alan is not at all pompous despite his masterful knowledge of the law and his successful navigations through the turbulent waters of the family law system.

    During my case, Alan never recommended any action that did not involve "taking the high road". He always insisted on following the course that would protect the best interests of my children. Even when the opposing party attempted to create hostility and conflict, Alan kept his cool. Ultimately Alan's approach resulted in a very successful outcome , especially with regard to parenting and custody issues. This (hard fought) success was the result of Alan's ability and good judgement. However, Alan's honest and above board approach should not be mistaken for weakness. In fact, Alan fights for his clients - but he knows how to do this without engaging in mudslinging or tactics that are mean-spirited. Alan does not sugar-coat possible outcomes and never encouraged me to spend money on legal proceedings were without merit. He is clearly an expert in his field; yet he treated me as an intelligent partner with whom he was working rather than a person who knew less than he did. I believe Alan would work equally well with both male and female clients. He does not have a personal axe to grind that would make him incompatible with any client (other than someone who expected him to act dishonestly). He is a friend to his clients, but he does not confuse his role or overstep appropriate boundaries. Alan understands the complex psychological issues that many divorces involve, especially the needs of children.

    Alan also has a good sense of humor. The merit of that trait should not be underestimated...as laughs may be few and far between during the divorce process.

    Alan has a remarkable ability to see both sides of nearly any issue. I would not be surprised to see Alan finish his legal career on the other side of the bench, as a judge. However he was never acted as if he was more interested in promoting his own success rather than the best interests of his clients.

    I hope and believe that other family law attorneys will continue to recognize Alan as a role model.

  4. Prompt, Efficient & Aware

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Alan has been a great help to me, & has kept me aware of costs, as well as all the issues involved in my case. He is very efficient & knowledgeable about all the different aspects that pertain to my situation. I appreciate his quick responses, honesty, & strong ability to facilitate all issues in a timely manner.

  5. Knowledgeable and timely advise

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I had an experience where I needed both swift and responsive filings in a Court related to the custody of my son.

    I found Alan had the ability to process a large amount of paperwork related to a jurisdiction issue very quickly. Additionally, Alan had the support staff and the backing of a firm to handle all sorts of difficult and sensitive questions so that filings. Whether it be a phone call or an email, my questions were answered and I was kept informed.

  6. Alan Funk review

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Focused, clear, to the point. articulates issues succinctly.

  7. Highly recommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Alan is open and honest. I expected him to be knowledgeable and experienced because of his firm, Wechsler and Becker LLC. At every meeting and conversation he confirmed my expectations with his suggestions, different options, possible ramifications and always with examples of his personal experiences. What impressed me most was his candidness. He treated me with a perfect blend of professionalism and openness. He advised me as a client and friend. I trusted him to give me all the information and his opinions. I highly recommend Alan Scott Funk and will go to him for any future needs.

  8. All Around Good Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Alan Funk handled my case as a subordinate to a senior attorney who was trying to help me keep costs down. They both were concienscious of my financial limitations, while providing the best service possible. They had a firm grasp on the depth and complexities of the issues, more than any other attorney in my previous experiences, and dealt with me with compassion and understanding at all times.

  9. Alan Funk review.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Funk kept focus on the financial issues, strategy, and had a very good team of partners, tax attorneys and accountants for referral. I found the quality of his network and peer regard (internally and externally) an independent verification of respect for his work. He is disciplined, intense, focused, efficient, listens to the client to apply the law to the client's specific issues. Alan was effective at showing compassion and diligence for the familial issues and the impact on the remaining family members and their futures. Mr. Funk was very effective at giving attention to cost/benefit, working on my behalf, not his. He was effective at negotiating with wily adversaries across the bench representing more wily defendants. Alan was extremely professional and diligent at one of life's significant transitions. He is an emerging expert in family law that should displace Seattle's old guard of family law attorneys.

  10. Review by Former Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I retained Alan for a family law matter. He took over my case after the failures of another before him and after acting Pro Se. Alan and his staff provided representation with sensitivity and professionalism. Alan assisted me with education on options for various approaches to case matters. When I communicated with Alan, he provided a timely response even if it was to acknowledge the communication and to notify me that he would provide a response at a later time. Alan let me know if he did not have answers and pursued information through his colleagues as needed. I was extremely satisfied with the results of this professional relationship.