Alan Scott Funk’s Reviews

Alan Scott Funk

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. LIFE CHANGING EXPERIENCE FOR ONE MAN

    Posted by Jose, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • Alan handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I called a few different law firms no one would take my case. I drove to a law firm were I was suppose to have a consultation whit & attorney he refuse to see me because I had my youngest daughter 3 at the time. He's only words to me were there are 2 firms in Seattle that might be able to help you. 1 was Wechsler Becker,LLP the second one didn’t even call me back. I spoke to a lady at Wechsler Becker, She dint know if MR. funk would call me back but to give her a few case Numbers and other information that she would forward to MR. Funk. As I spoke to her I realized that these people were very professional from the start. A few hours went by then I received the call that changed my life. It was MR. Funk we talked a little he set up a consultation with me. The rest is history for me. He was not only my Attorney that would carry me the long way but a friend and staff that treated me and my youngest daughter like family. He's staff accommodated her from day 1 so I could have my consultation with MR. Funk. The process took almost a year very rocky from court to court. At one point I told MR. Funk that I could not afford his services I was very sad, confused, frustrated etc. As I have 4 children to take care his words to me were that he would work with me. Set up a payment plan he carried my balance until the end. After My ex wife a & I settle he's word to me were not to worry about the BALANCE that it was his CHRISTMAS PRESENT FOR MY KID’S & I.

    I have admired MR. Funk all the way to the end. Were ever we went in the court house he was well recognized an respected among his pears & court staff Ill never for get the look on one commissioner that I went to see with him at the first hearing that determined the custody of my children with me. It was not a good look but he knew who MR. Funk was all about, FACTS after seen his work thought E-Files he had provided the commissioner. He hear the other sides argument. But when it was all said an done. He went whit MR. Funks work an granted custody of the children to me the father.

    In my life I have come across quite a few people Rich & famous but never before a man like Alan. There are very few people like him in this world. His a business men an at the same time he is family. I have learned from him. What real mean & woman are all about from the experience I had with his staff an him. When he was unable to be with me at a hearing he would have one of his colleagues be there with me on last minute notice. Divorce can be a pain full, rest less & confusing process.

    I will never forget Alan not only for what he has done for me and my family. But in talking to him one on one he is a family man. I had some vision on how my life was changing wile being with him watching the sunset on the horizon over looking Puget sound at my settlement conference when it all came to the END.

    I will never for get you all at the firm. Best Wishes J.R.P.R.

  2. Extraordinary, Brilliant, Poised, Confident, Ingenious

    Posted by Melissa, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have a very high regard for Alan Funk. First and foremost is his strength of character: he always takes the high road/the ethical course and because he does, his clients have the best outcome. It is possible to have a clear conscience and restful sleep because Mr. Funk will do the right thing and make sure the children involved will have what they need to grow into happy well-adjusted adults.

    Mr. Funk is caring, empathetic, brilliant and always poised and confident. He comes up with ingenious ideas and plans to overcome obstacles and opposition (often times his plans are better than those the therapists or GAL’s come up with). He’s always available to answer questions and to help with day-to-day concerns. He is an extraordinary and brilliant strategist. He reminds me of first rate, unsurpassed, virtuous attorneys that are only found in fiction--except this one is real. He has never let me down.

    If you think Mr. Funk's rates may be unattainable, think again. If Mr. Funk is retained, your money will be more than well spent. I previously spent more than twice the amount of money on an attorney that was careless and ineffective at best. Hiring Mr. Funk ensures that quality and effective representation will be received for a reasonable price. For his price, one does not get someone who only “knows the law;” instead someone is retained who makes a sincere effort, and has vision, integrity, courage understanding, power of articulation and profundity of character, but most importantly, gets results. Mr. Funk is priceless.

  3. Best Attorney ever!

    Posted by Pamela, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan 6-12 months ago.
    • Alan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Alan is amazing. He is smart, strategic and had my back when I didn't. After a grueling year emotionally, Alan set great boundaries and led me through the crazy process of getting a divorce. I highly recommend him and feel I received a far better settlement than had I not gone with him. He has integrity and is excellent at his profession. Without dishing up all the dirty details, I can only say that I may have regrets about my marriage but not about choosing Alan to represent my interests.

  4. A class above the rest: Expert Attorney, Always does the right thing, kids first, honest, responsive, highly recommend

    Posted by Yaffa Grace, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Alan is the 3rd and hands down best attorney that I have worked with related to my divorce-specifically post divorce arbitration and other post divorce matters. I find him to be highly skilled and professional as is Dorene his paralegal. I would define my post divorce relationship to my ex-spouse as highly acrimonious and difficult. We've tackled issues such as expenses, communication, multiple issues related to the children, spousal harrassment-the list unfortunately goes on. He has consistantly helped me to accomplish my goal which is to put the children first at all times. Working with Alan has significantly reduced my stress level. He has actually taught me how to be a more effective communicator. He is able to assess a situation, bring clarity to the real issue, diffuse all emotion and offer counsel on the best course of action and strategy. He has helped me detach from the high level of frustration, anger, and pain that comes from a difficult, toxic divorce. At all times he refrained from any mudslinging and conducted himself and our case with the highest level of integrity. Despite the opposing parties best efforts to create an extremely negative, hostile environment ripe for instensifying the conflict - Alan ALWAYS maintained his cool steadfast approach. Alan has been a pleasure to work with-unlike past experiences with other attorney's , he actually makes me feel like my case is important. He is highly responsive, a highly skilled communicator, thoughtful in his approach and has an exceptional grasp on family law, the arbitration process, motions etc.. I have had multiple successful outcomes through the various arbitrations. I HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND Mr. Alan Funk.

  5. Trustworthy, Responsive and Knowledgeable

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A friend to recommended Alan me because I needed an attorney to guide me through a child support review. I am so thankful that I was given this referral. At the time, I was a new client. I emailed Alan and he responded immediately. We sent up and appointment. I was very impressed. Alan was extremely knowledgeable and easy to communicate with. We came up with the child support proposal uring my innitial appointment. My ex and I came to an agreement and I was relieved to know that I had done the best that I could for my children.
    Not long after the child support review, I again needed Alan's advice about moving out of our school district. Again, Alan responded immediately and walked me through the process. It was a relief to have someone on my side that I knew I could count on.

  6. Winning Custody Case!

    Posted by Sophia, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Alan is a wiz kid attorney and the complete package when it comes to zealous representation! I worked as a legal assistant at two other family law firms in the area, before becoming his client, and know for sure Alan is a cut above the rest, he is simply the best! When looking for a superior family lawyer I wanted someone who not only had the wisdom of experience but also cutting-edge knowledge of case law and could make moves quickly. Alan was all that and more! Alan helped my whole family put our heads together and come up with a plan based on the best interest of my daughter and the results were levels above my expectations. We won our case! Alan was a complete blessing to have on our team and made the difference for my daughter's quality of life for years to come! Alan's paralegal Doreen is very efficient, warm and easy to work with, so Perfecto! We are now going through a similar custody issue with my step-daughter and immediately called up Alan Funk to handle our case, why would I EVER call anyone else? Thank you sooo much Alan!!!!

  7. Highly recommend!!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan 1-3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We used Alan Funk and have been very happy with his services. Previous to finding Mr. Funk we had used numerous attorneys, and we are happy to have found one who will continue to be our attorney for the years to come. He is exactly what we wish we would have had from the beginning. After taking on our case he worked hard to sort out the mess that was left for him. He worked hard to get us everything we wanted and kept us grounded, reminding us of the importance of being fair and taking the high road when emotions tell you otherwise. He helped lay the groundwork for a more amicable future, which in the end is the most important thing when children are involved. He responded to our inquiries quickly and thoroughly, always laying out all our options and giving us his experience to help guide us. This is helpful when ones judgment is easily clouded by emotions. The knowledge he provided comes from years of experience, seeing the short term and long term effects and the realities of the law, the courts and the very real people involved. It is a time for families where the stakes are high and the pain real. Mr Funk was wonderful to work with and his fees more than reasonable. We feel we got way more than what we paid and he will stay part of our Rolodex for all our future needs. We will never again be unprepared and are confident having him on our side.

  8. Third Party Custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Alan was hired after we had started proceedings pro se and we had temporary custody of our granddaughter. He always had the the child's rights and what was best for the child in the forefront. He was thorough in explaining options as well as how we were going to proceed with our case.

  9. Very poor service. Would not recommend.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As one of Mr Funks less wealthy clients It was apparent my case was not at the top of his list. Every time I sat down with him or had a phone conversation with him he would recite situations from other cases he was handling - believing he was speaking to me about my case him. FRUSRTATING! I can not recommend his services.

  10. Alan was very helpful to our family

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alan Funk.
    • I hired Alan more than 3 years ago.
    • Alan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When my daughter decided to leave her abusive husband, Alan Funk helped our family navigate the legal process, from restraining orders through the parenting plan. Working with Alan was a very positive experience in the middle of a difficult time. He was so professional, clear with recommendations but also responsive and respectful of our concerns. The judges we dealt with respected Alan--sitting in court, we quickly realized the value of being represented by an attorney who had earned a solid reputation by being on top of all the small and large technical aspects. He was very honest and clear with us about what he thought we could realistically expect, and what it would cost us in legal fees. He was remarkably efficient with his time. He was able to help us negotiate financial and parenting details effectively with the opposing party, representing our family's interests without inflaming the other party. There really wasn't a down side to our experience with Alan.