You should comply with the discovery rules. However, the demand should really be received 14 days in advance, not postmarked 14 days in advance. If you want to use the mail, you should allow at least 17 days. Weekends are included. If you don't receive discovery because you are late in obtaining it, you might be able to get a continuance from the judge.
No. RCW 46.61.688 affects both operators (drivers) of vehicles, as well as passengers; however, under Washington State law, the Department of Licensing is not allowed to share the infraction with insurance companies and employers.
"I had a handicapped placard on display." Well, actually you didn't - you acknowledge that it had fallen to the floor. It sounds like the reason you got cited is because the placard fell and the parking enforcement officer did not see it. You need to make sure that your placard is properly displayed at all times.
I wouldn't say that parking is unlimited, but you have greater limits than the non-disabled population. If you park in a restricted zone - such as no parking 4-6 - your car is...
Children and parents don't technically incur fees; the driver linked to the license plate in question incurs the fees, and whether the fees are legitimate is the question that needs to be reviewed.
Why weren't the tolls paid? Was notice given? Was notice ignored? These are questions that you need to review first. If you're received a summons you should have an attorney review all paperwork you received.
Typically a court judgment can be collected for 10 years, but court judgments can last a very, very long time and judgments can be renewed, further extending the time for which it can cause you real problems.
If this is the only hold, I suggest trying to either paying the amount owed in full, entering into a payment plan with the collection agency in exchange for getting the agency to ask the court to lift the hold, or getting the court to pull back the fine from collections, which could...
You should start by finding out if there's a warrant out for your arrest. In Washington State, some judges will issue warrants for nonpayment of criminal case fines, but not all judges. Before you go to court, find out if you can go without being subject to arrest just for showing up. A lawyer can help with finding out this information. You should aim to try to resolve this case so that it is no longer open and a source of stress to you.
You are not allowed to go over a posted speed limit in Washington "with a reasonable margin of safety" on a roadway with two lanes in the same direction. The law in Washington is that you can only go over the speed limit to pass on a roadway with fewer than two lanes in each direction so that you may pass. Even then, if you speed it must be safe to do so.
In your case, you might have a defense to where your vehicle was on the roadway at the time you were going 5 over. If you were in a...
You should look to the original contract that you signed. If you had no written contract, I would question whether any debt against you is valid. You might need a debtor attorney to deal with this. It's unclear what kind of services agreement you had and that can affect the outcome. Good luck.