Skip to main content
Jon Michael Zimmerman

Jon Zimmerman’s Answers

550 total


  • What advice would you have for me in reducing a "careless driving ticket" in the state of Colorado.

    to be exact I received this ticket for turning across a six lane/2 way street into the middle lane and merging over into the right lane too quickly afterwards.... you should know that I did not get in an accident, I didn't damage property, I had a...

    Jon’s Answer

    Attorney Leroi is correct - get an attorney, don't try to handle this on your own.

    See question 
  • What are things to look for to get a ticket dismissed?

    I was in downtown Seattle, I thought it was a one way but there was a bus lane going the other way. I had pulled up to the red light facing these lanes and came to a complete stop and then proceeded to take my left hand turn on to the street.

    Jon’s Answer

    It's unclear what you are alleged to have violated. You should look at the law as well as the ticket.

    See question 
  • New court date?

    I have court date for next Friday in a Snohomish County court. I may want to extend that court date but I am not certain and probably wouldn't know for sure until Monday. I know the law, or at lest the court rules, says I have to request it 5 day...

    Jon’s Answer

    Rules are rules, and while there may be exceptions, you should follow the rules. The answer under the rule would be no. Prior means counting backward. Monday would give you four days, not 5. You might get a continuance, but it's best to follow the rules.

    See question 
  • Getting pulled over by a cop counts as being arrested?

    My friend was recently pulled over by the police. When he was asked to step out of his car he said no (he hadn’t done anything wrong, he’s just stubborn and “against the man”) to which the officer responded by forcibly taking him out of the car, c...

    Jon’s Answer

    Yes, if being pulled over for a traffic offense, under Washington law it's an arrest. It's not a custodial arrest, but it is an arrest. As for being told to step out of the vehicle, you should do so since you have no right to refuse. Being asked to step out does not mean that your friend is suspected of a criminal offense, but if your refuses then your friend is likely to face greater problems for the refusal than for the act that led your friend to be pulled over.

    See question 
  • Over 5 years ago. I got tickets for no insurance, do they at some point drop off?

    there were several tickets but was never grouped into all. so when the judacation was going though , it got caught up with the other tickets & wasn't able to get the license, so I just said bag it, but it didn't stop alliance 1 from bugging me to...

    Jon’s Answer

    In Washington State tickets don't stay on your record forever. If you were originally cited with a traffic infraction, the infraction drops off your driving record 5 years after the conviction date (3 years for insurance purposes). However, if you ignore a ticket, it can be on there much, much longer. Same with judgments where you owe unpaid fines.

    See question 
  • I was charged for driving under suspension in O hio. How long does the court have to tri my case?

    from the date the ticket was written

    Jon’s Answer

    If you're license is suspended, there are a number of actions you should take. You should contact an Ohio attorney to answer this question and other questions you might have.

    See question 
  • Careless driving + class or Unsafe Operation?

    I have just received a ticket for careless driving because I was speeding on the turnpike. I was debating on whether or not it is prudent to take the careless driving ticket, then take the defensive driving class. Or try to get the ticket amended ...

    Jon’s Answer

    You should discuss the matter with an experienced New Jersey traffic attorney before you do anything.

    See question 
  • What are my options to fight this ticket? (Driving with an expired license) Here are the details of the case:

    I was in Las Vegas with my fiance my 21st birthday when it expired (I live in CA)When I returned to CA it was Fri. after 5PM (so I couldnt have renewed it then).I had work on Sun. and had to drive back to my home town that Sat. (200 miles away) Du...

    Jon’s Answer

    It's not a defense. There's no reason why you couldn't have renewed your license a week or even a month prior to the day it expired. You should contact a California traffic ticket attorney to see what can be done for your specific situation.

    See question 
  • Reasonable cause to enter garage?

    Had an Improper lane change (no turn signal on right turn). Ohio State Highway patrol followed me into my condo complex. I pulled into my garage, got out of the car to see flashing lights. Officier told me to get back in my car and then she entere...

    Jon’s Answer

    You should repost this question in the criminal law area. Various state courts have looked at facts similar to yours in different ways. You should contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in Ohio who can help you with this question and the many other questions that are bound to arise. Good luck.

    See question 
  • I have moving violations that weere in a personal vehicle&I have a CDL...Its been affecting me finding a job..I'm filing motions

    Motions to have them expunged in Louisiana..Once expunged will it come off my MVR as well since there is no more record of it?1 is a speeding.1 is yielding&1 not haing my license on me.

    Jon’s Answer

    Some differences exist on how states deal with clearing tickets from driving records. As you've found out, traffic tickets while driving a personal vehicle also affect a CDL holder. You should contact an attorney in Louisiana to see what information is available and to whom when expungements take effect.

    See question