H. Michael Finesilver’s Reviews

H. Michael Finesilver

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Buyer Beware > Hank Stank

    Posted by a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend H. Finesilver.
    • I hired H. Finesilver 1-3 years ago.
    • H. Finesilver handled my Appeals matter.

    I waited a long, long while to write this review in hopes time would temper my words and thoughts, but it hasn't.

    In short order I awarded Hank some appeals based on his words to me. Unfortunately I misjudged arrogance for confidence. Hank is a very knowledgeable attorney, but severely lacked professional etiquette.

    Hank guaranteed winning. He gave me a firm figure capped on his services. Neither of which happened.

    Hank was inaccessible and buffered by his staff. In over two years he only called me once, even after I requested more communication. At the end, I asked for accountability. Hank refused to call me. Instead, a letter came justifying his actions, insulting me as a client, placing blame elsewhere. I was seeking education and clarification; instead my questions were met as challenges.

    Hank concealed critical information. I owed a large $um on an appeal Hank boasted he would win, but lost. My judgment sat around in Hank's office for months before I was told. I found out because I prodded due to hearsay. Imagine my surprise that I owed BIG for a failed appeal > plus Hank doubled his original fee to me after our original agreement.

    In a nut shell > Would I recommend Hank? NO, NEVER.

    Somethings time can not temper. And, this is one of them. I don't take what I just wrote lightly. In fact, it took a lot for me to leave this in public view. Apparently I am not the only one with Hank issues on this review forum. Just wish I read this forum earlier.

  2. Savy and knowledgable

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend H. Finesilver.
    • I hired H. Finesilver 1-3 years ago.
    • H. Finesilver handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Finesilver is very experienced and knowledgable, he has been in this business for long time and very savy in any unorthodox sutiation. He follows the rules and the law so well, the opposing side would find it hard to beat his arguments. In trial he is very well prepared and gets results.

    His assistant is a very energetic and thorough young professional , who is a great compliment to his office. She makes communication smoother and clarifies many of the details, not clear to most people who haven't dealt with the legal system.
    One think I would like to see different is the ability for direct contact via e/mail. I think this is very important and beneficial to the relationship between one and their attorney.

    I would raccomand him, as I feel his expertise and cognition of the system made big difference in my case

  3. You may have found the best lawyer who is your freind as well

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend H. Finesilver.
    • I hired H. Finesilver 1-3 years ago.
    • H. Finesilver handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Going thru divorce is a most difficult time. It was for me. Having an experienced lawyer is very critical. Hank was my lawyer and I could not be more fortunate to have him. My trial judge was about to retire. My case was his last case. He had all the experience one could imagine. Yet, Hank cited a case and a ruling regarding division of pension that the Judge had not heard. He was very impressed with Hank and realized that Hank was a solid experienced and knowledgeable lawyer. Hank gained the trust and respect of the judge. Hanks proposal for division of properties was accepted without any modification. My former spouse was penalized for false accusation. Because of the trust, the judge asked Hank to write the final ruling and was accepted without any major modification. The expert witnesses called by my former spouse turned to testify in favor of the points Hank was making. Hank is quick thinker as any trial lawyer needs to be in a trial.
    In my view, there is no win or lose in a divorce. However, one needs to ensure that his/her rights are protected and mine was. I recommend Hank without any reservation.
    Above all, Hank has a most pleasant personality. I enjoy his friendship.

  4. Lazy and always looking for the next BIG case

    Posted by Cynthia, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend H. Finesilver.
    • I hired H. Finesilver 1-3 years ago.
    • H. Finesilver handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I expected to get Wolfgang, but was rolled over to Hank. He spent more time with Les responding to what was my impression as "More Important" cases than mine. Always excusing himself to walk into what appeared to be a communications room.

    My bill was outrageous, and then I found out he had just recently gotten divorced and needs to restock his bank account. I wish I would have known who his wife hired because obviously he's trying to rebuild his bank account by excessively billing me.

    If I would have only known to look here first I wouldn't have saved me Hundred K but I would have have better piece of mind that the money I spent was in representing me and not his standard of life.

  5. Help When Help was Needed

    Posted by Mike, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend H. Finesilver.
    • I hired H. Finesilver 1-3 years ago.
    • H. Finesilver handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Based on a friend's recommendation, I sought H. Michael Finesilver's counsel, starting in May 2007, when it became inevitable that my then wife and I would divorce. I was completely at a loss of what to do, emotionally wrought and ignorant of the law. Enter Mr. Finesilver. He was professional, to the point and knowledgeable. When I engage counsel, what I really need is to be taught what I need to know to effectively evaluate options. I was appreciate of the straightforward, concise help.

    Today, six years later, I visited Mr. Finesilver again for help regarding another and related issue. I was again appreciative of his help and skill and decided to post this endorsement.

  6. Review of representation by Hank Finesilver.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    • I recommend H. Finesilver.
    • I hired H. Finesilver 1-3 years ago.
    • H. Finesilver handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mine was a small and fairly simple case. Hank's advice on strategy proved sound and the outcome was satisfactory. They were not very prompt responding to messages. I did not much care for being charged for preparation of a 'I will be unavailable for a couple of weeks' notice.

  7. Great lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend H. Finesilver.
    • I hired H. Finesilver 1-3 years ago.
    • H. Finesilver handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am so glad to hire him as my lawyer. He is knowledgeable and very professional. His staff are also very supportive and friendly.

  8. A Pragmatic Honest Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend H. Finesilver.
    • I hired H. Finesilver 1-3 years ago.
    • H. Finesilver handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The idea of divorce was really stressful to me before I knew Hank could help me. I was married in one state, lived in California, but moved to Washington after leaving my husband. My husband didn't want the divorce, and therefore didn't accept service for anything and refused to respond to any communications from my attorney. Hank kept assuring me that I was going to get divorced, and not to worry. I was convinced that because my husband decided not to respond to anything I couldn't get divorced, and I was really worried. Hank helped me understand the system and he took care of everything.

    I wasn't married long, but I made more money than my husband and my husband kept threatening to take everything from me. Divorce is hard enough and having a lawyer that knows what he is doing makes it so much easier to deal with, I got my divorce and my husband didn't get anything. It wasn't because Hank was a magician, don't get me wrong, he just knew the law. It was great.

    His assistant Les always responded to my emails and calls. Les is a very calm person and extremely understanding. They are a good team. Hank always returned my calls, even when he was out of the office, which surprised me. Hank is very pragmatic in his approach, and never sugar coated my situation, even when it was hard to hear. He helped me be realistic about what I could get and what I couldn't get. I appreciated his honesty. For me, I needed his logical approach because it helped me know what I needed to do and what I could expect.

  9. Getting a Divorce, be warned find a different Lawyer

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend H. Finesilver.
    • I hired H. Finesilver more than 3 years ago.
    • H. Finesilver handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Hank came highly recommend, sadly his follow through was not there, he often didn't keep his word, didn't return calls and boasted he was cheaper than all the other guys in town while toting he was a SUPER LAWYER! Hank is really a Luddite at best........ He creates double work with everything he does by running everything through an assistant charging for their time, and then his. He rarely answers his phone nor returns calls, he didn't provide an email address and then when asked refused to correspond directly through his own email. He dictates emails and phone calls then reviews them, and has his assistant send in a letter format via the para-legal. The majority of communications are handled in this fashion, it is entirely inefficient and frustrating. The overall efficiency of the system was simply awful. Mr. Finesilver's given expectation for the cost of my divorce was entirely misleading. If you are considering hiring him, be warned, find another lawyer. If you have a lawyer that is matched up against Hank then good for you, as you will benefit from Hank's lack or organization. E.g. he asked me to sign a parenting plan that was full of errors that he repeatedly assured me had been corrected. In fact it was not, even after I put the needed changes in writing and spoon fed them to he and his assistant, he still couldn't get it right. if I wasn't reading everything I would have executed a PP that was not acting in the best interest of my kids or me, and frankly written very poorly. His services were very disappointing, and costly in many ways beyond just monies.

  10. Costly Disappointment

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend H. Finesilver.
    • I hired H. Finesilver more than 3 years ago.
    • H. Finesilver handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Wolfgang but unfortunately I ended up with his has-been colleague, Hank Finesilver. What a disappointment!

    Hank promised me a gold standard, but he didn't deliver.

    Despite 30+ years of experience, Hank couldn't stand up to the opposing rookie attorney. He didn't protect my best interest or advocate for the security and well being of my child.

    Hank did not prepare me or educate me on what I could expect.
    Hank wouldn't answer my questions. He would draft a 'letter' to me rather than email or pick up the phone. His letters wouldn't address the details of my issues or concerns.The frustration of trying to communicate with him was a nightmare.

    Don't be fooled by Hank's low hourly rate.He took advantage of me. I felt stuck after investing time and money with him. My divorce ended up costing me over $160K.

    Hank's incompetence and lack of negotiating tactics provided an excellent settlement for my ex!

    Don't give Hank the opportunity to represent you. You will be sorry.