Susan Jayne Shulenberger’s Reviews

Susan Jayne Shulenberger

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding divorce attorn

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Shulenberger.

    Susan has been a remarkable lawyer thus far. My divorce has yet to be finalized, my future ex and I elected to take a non-traditional route that is neither litigious nor as formalized as collaborative. Susan's willingness to help me deal with the difficulties this poses has been outstanding. And she does it in a way that doesn't increase her billable hours: i.e., "I could help you with this, but if you were to use resource xxx it would be cheaper or free." For as "friendly" as my divorce is, it is somewhat complicated. There are no children, but it's a long term marriage. But there are assets, health issues and it is complicated by one of the spouses now living outside of the US. It's a lot to manage, and Susan stays on top of it. I always get quick responses from her via email; she sets my expectations realistically; she is extremely flexible - either being the "tiger" in the meetings for me, when I am unable to be strong, or supporting me as I discover how to be strong and look after myself. And she keeps me apprised of my monthly bill, and what to anticipate as events continue to unfold. Hands down the best attorney choice I could have made.

  2. Susan Schulenberger

    Posted by John,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Shulenberger.

    Susan has been exceptional throughout the entire process of my divorce. She is extremely knowledgeable. Her advice and support has helped me get through these trying times. She is always available to answer questions and give advice. I strongly recommend her to any person who has to go through a divorce.

  3. When life-events (divorce, parenting, financial issues) seem insurmountable, it can all work out...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Shulenberger.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sometimes, you need someone in your court who understands you and not just the terrible process you may be going through or the mess you feel your life has become. My experience with Susan over these past months (nearly a year now) has proven to me how incredibly important it is to have an advocate who is there for me while working diligently and proactively on my behalf. Not only is she expertly versed in the law, deeply knowledgeable, grounded in real life, and committed to workable, realistic solutions, but what makes her stand out is how personable and accessible she is. Susan is compassionate, understanding, available, and pays attention to what is happening with me. Sure, she had to talk me off the proverbial ledge every now and then, but she demonstrated great empathy and wisdom along the way. Whe she needs to be, Susan is focused, fierce and assertive in her advocacy and all of those important things that lawyers do to help you achieve the best possible outcome in the midst of something as unbelievablly difficult as a divorce (with a child involved). When someone says that divorce is financially one of the worst things that can happen at mid-life, it is true. But Susan was able to help me achieve an outcome I could live with, and protect me from agreeing to impossible terms. I am deeply grateful that she has been there for me through this difficult time in my life. I cannot imagine anyone better.

  4. Excellent

    Posted by Darcy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Shulenberger.
    • I hired Susan 6-12 months ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Susan helped me through my difficult divorce with grace and professionalism. She skillfully acted with compassion as she proceeded to finalize my divorce with an excellent custody plan and exceptional support , maintenance and distribution of assets. She included details that for years later I referenced, having no idea the issues would come up in terms of co parenting. Her regard for the client as a person going through the most possibly painful experience in their life makes the process bearable, but more importantly leaves the client feeling fairly represented with integrity and strength, a nearly impossible combination to find in an attorney today.

  5. Susan Shulenberger Review

    Posted by James, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Shulenberger.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I retained Susan by recommendation of a long time family friend. I was on the receiving end of a divorce with a confused mix of property, pension, 401K , etc. Susan was very responsive and professional, flexible, knowledgeable, and caring. Susan was also global in context; and thus was able to motivate a fair settlement without a protracted combat..I highly recommend Susan at Integrative Law in Seattle.

  6. Highly Reliable and Insightful Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Seattle Client, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Shulenberger.
    • I hired Susan 6-12 months ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.

    Susan Shulenberger represented me in a contentious divorce case that lasted almost two years. The disputed issues included alimony, a complex business valuation for property separation and child-raising issues for very young children. My ex-spouse preferred to fight rather than resolve these disputes and even sought to delay the trial when it finally did come to trial. The opposing counsel was hyper-sneaky and prone to emotional outbursts too. Through all this tribulation, Susan kept her cool and gave me level-headed advice. She always knew how the big issues would sort out under Washington law and she knew which small issues to sidestep – win the war not the battle was her motto. Meanwhile, she was always sensitive to both the importance of protecting the children from the stress of the conflict and the wisdom of not running the legal cost beyond the minimum necessary. To provide such multi-faceted legal and emotional counsel requires an extremely sophisticated skill-set honed over years of practice. I benefitted greatly from her work and am extremely grateful to her for the very good outcome I got in the end by following her advice.

  7. Experience Shows

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Shulenberger.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Susan is extremely knowledgeable about family law in Washington; and she's familiar with the players - judges, opposing counsel and experts. They all respect her as a knowledgeable, formidable and trustworthy advocate for her clients. She can guide a client through the emotional upheaval of a divorce and help maintain a focus on how one's behavior during a divorce will affect the ultimate resolution of disputes in or out of court. Only one with her considerable experience can see this far ahead in a case and save a client money and emotional stress while working toward a favorable outcome. She is well aware of the primacy of the interests of minor children. I would highly recommend her to anyone facing a divorce case that might involve difficult or complex issues such as parenting plans, funding retirement or college, dividing business interests or disputes over houses.

  8. Best Family Law Lawyer in Seattle

    Posted by Faye, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Shulenberger.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Susan is an excellent attorney with a firm command of the law. Deciding to get a divorce is a tough decision no matter the circumstance, finding the right attorney is the most important thing you can do for yourself and for your children. Susan was able to give me the support and advice I needed when I was scared about the legal process. She listened to me and always included me in the decision making process. She was in constant contact with me and helped give me the the backbone I needed to stand up for myself. She gave me solid advice that resulted in me getting the best possible settlement. Susan is practical yet aggressive and kept my best interest at the forefront every step of the way. Susan had to deal with a hostile opposing attorney and she dealt with her in a professional and grounded way. Susan is a body guard, enforcing the law, and making sure my best interest and the best interest of my children were center stage. I am confident I have the best parenting plan I could get because of Susan's dedication and expertise. If I ever hear anyone mention the word divorce, I tell them to call Susan.

  9. Best divorce attorney ever!!!

    Posted by Camille, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Shulenberger.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It was my good fortune to find Susan! What an incredible attorney! I finally found a divorce attorney that would be my advocate. She was simply amazing! She was organized, responsive, and knowledgeable. No detail was left out, no detail was too small. I am extremely pleased with how my case turned out. I would give Susan my highest recommendation!!!

  10. SJS Law

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Shulenberger.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Susan and her staff provided me with support and comfort during a very stressful time- the end of a long term(over 30 years) marriage. Susan got a good settlement for me under difficult circumstances- I live out of state and most of our interviews were over the phone and business conducted by email.When I did go to Seattle for the mediation Susan went beyond the call of duty both professionally and personally. I don't think anyone else could have provided me with a better settlement.