Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR’s Reviews

Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR

Average Rating

Based on 70 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Took the Time

    Posted by Edward., a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A 19-year officer, I found myself the subject of an investigation into alleged misconduct and was relieved of command, facing career-ending accusations. Stephen negotiated a settlement which saved my career and my retirement. Although an area outside his area of normal military practice, it was obvious he took the time to research the particular law and regulations pertinent to my case. His fixed-fee system is great as it allows for open communication and discussion regarding strategy and issues without worrying about billable time. I would certainly use him again (although I hope I don't have that need again!) and recommend him to anyone facing adverse actions potentially affecting their career.

  2. Outstanding Military Attorney for Coast Guard Case

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great attorney to work with. Very knowledgeable on military law and, specifically for my case, in Coast Guard procedures. He went the extra mile to represent me and secure expert witnesses. Stephen is easy to communicate with, and is always quick to respond. Favorable results for my case, and I highly recommend him.

  3. Career Saver

    Posted by Ryan, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been a proud member of the U.S. Coast Guard for over ten years. Early in 2012, an unfortunate event occurred in my career that had me facing possible separation from the service, likely under less than honorable conditions. I was referred to Stephen by my father, who is also an attorney, and his recommendation could not have been more astute. He expertly guided me through the legal process, and because of his in-depth knowledge of military law and his professional relationships with Coast Guard legal staff and investigators, I am now being retained and looking forward to a bright future once again. Without a doubt, I owe my career to Stephen Carpenter and I highly recommend him to anyone in the service.

  4. Amazing and professional

    Posted by Josh, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Although in the end Stephen did not represent me, he was very consistent and fast in responding to any and all questions I had. He's no non-sense and is very committed to getting you represented. Thank you Stephen.

  5. Not guilty of all charges by a military jury

    Posted by David, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I can't express enough how thankful I am to Mr. Carpenter. Stephen helped me through a military case that took eleven months to resolve. Stephen kept me informed and up to date at all times during this long and stressful process. His knowledge of military law and his professionalism are above anything I could ever hope for. I would highly recommend anyone facing military charges to not hesitate to call Mr. Carpenter for representation.

  6. There when you need him!

    Posted by Patrick, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I cannot express how grateful I am for Stephen Carpenter. As a Marine with almost 15 years in service, I was facing a potential career-ending issue and I found Mr. Carpenter. Even though I ended up not requiring his full service, he met with me and was more than generous with his time. He put me at ease and let me know that he was there for me if things got even more serious. I would without fail recommend his services. Very knowledgeable and truly caring for his clients needs. You won't regret retaining Stephen Carpenter. Your career is worth it!

  7. Satisfied Client

    Posted by Navy O5, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It pays to hire the best. I did my research before selecting an attorney. He is fare and upfront with costs and responsibilities. Mr. Carpenter knows military law inside and out. He clearly articulated to me my rights and possible and probable outcomes of the situation facing me. He tenaciously followed up every detail of my case and mitigated any future actions against me. He understands how the military works and how the chain command is involved in the decision making process. He helped me develop credible witnesses to speak on my behalf. I fortunately did not need them. His advice and counsel were invaluable in resolving my issues with no adverse actions.

  8. A Young Marine's Best Advocate

    Posted by Brian, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My son, a young Marine, was involved with an 8-month legal process involving serious charges with threats of Special Courts Martial, NJP, and, eventually, an Administrative Separation Board. Through it all, Mr. Carpenter displayed the utmost professional demeanor, outstanding legal advice, and a complete grasp of the the pertinent military law. He never "sugar coated" the legal implications, but presented a well documented, well researched, and well reasoned defense the resulted in my son being cleared of all charges and being allowed to serve back in the fleet. God Bless you Stephen.

  9. We are so grateful

    Posted by Ted, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Our son had gotten into trouble and was facing possible confinement and a dishonorable discharge from the Marine Corps. Mr. Carpenter knew just how to fight for our son and soon the possibility of confinement was no longer on the table. We were then looking at a couple of possibilities ranging from acquittal to a general discharge or other than honorable; with our hope leaning toward general and of course, the dream of an acquittal.
    I was impressed by how much Mr. Carpenter put into this case in every area: time, knowledge, compassion and understanding, professionalism and honesty. After all Stephen's hard work; and prayer on our behalf, our son was acquitted on both of his charges and is already putting his mistake behind him. He is already in a leadership position training other Marines and is looking forward to making the most of his second chance at a career in the Marine Corps- something he's wanted since he was a boy. You cannot go wrong hiring Stephen Carpenter. He has an incredible amount of knowledge, will work long hours for you and is affordable, which we also greatly appreciated.
    Thank you Stephen!

  10. Allegations of Fraternization and Travel Fraud Against a Reserve Officer

    Posted by Jim, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Allegations of fraternization and travel fraud were made against me by the Reserve Center CO who caused my retirement to be cancelled. After NCIS was unable to substantiate his allegations, he continued to investigate me for a period of almost 12 months. During this period I was never officially informed that I was being investigated. I initiated a Congressional inquiry as to why my retirement was cancelled. The only thing they could tell me was to expect a call from NCIS. Without hesitation I retained Attorney Stephen Carpenter, Jr. Stephen tackled the problems with the utmost precision. Mr. Carpenter's intervention was outstanding as I am now retired. Don't waste your time or effort filing a Congressional, call Mr. Carpenter if you want results.

Call now for a free consultation.

206-357-8434