Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR’s Reviews

Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR

Average Rating

Based on 77 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Awesome Advocate saved me from administrative discharge

    Posted by Jonah, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen is the man I want in my corner. Right away he went to the heart of the issues and understood all the critical information. He is very insightful when dealing with witnesses. He made them feel comfortable and excited about helping support my case. His court room finesse was something to admire. He was truly devoted to winning this case for me. His knowledge of military law saved my career.

  2. Stephen You Saved My Career

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I cannot express how grateful I am for Mr.Carpenter. As a Service Member with 19 years in service, I was facing a potential career-ending issue when one of my co-workers recommended Stephen Carpenter. Stephen Carpenter kept me informed through the long, stressful process. After the long military process, I was retained and given a second chance to serve my country proud. Because your career is worth it, I would recommend his services to any Service Member facing any type of military adverse actions. THANK YOU STEPHEN!

  3. Schweinfurt soldier saved from being targeted and threatened by command.

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a severe situation with my chain of command I filed a police report against an NCO for threatening me and afterwards was staring down the barrel of 3 field grade article 15's less than a week after I reported him.....Nothing was beyond their grasp I was continuously interrogated and singled out For everything under the sun in retribution for me holding an NCO responsible for his actions.....After contacting Stephen Carpenter I filed paperwork against my command got the harassment to stop and everyone that was involved was either Demoted or transferred out of the unit with letters of reprimand....thanks to Stephen I was transferred from the unit and everything is going great now

  4. Military law

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This lawyer has helped us so much. We were stationed overseas in Vilseck Germany and had some trouble. He is quick to respond and he gets on it right away. I would always use him again. There were no problems. He is awesome.

  5. Mission Accomplishment

    Posted by William H. Griffith, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Anytime your going against the Government because they have something against you need a solid attorney to keep them at bay. Mr. Carpenter is that attorney. All the drug charges are gone and now my military record is clear because of him! I am now medically retired.

  6. Saved Son's Career

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    As a lawyer, I would highly recommend Mr. Carpenter. I retained him for my son, after speaking with different potential lawyers. Most seemed indifferent about my son's chances of success (as if there was little to lose given my son's relatively brief time in the service) and viewed a discharge as an almost inevitable result. While realistic about the possible outcomes, I felt at all times that Mr. Carpenter was in our corner and willing to go the distance in giving my son that chance to tell his side of the story and fight for the opportunity to continue to serve. I found Stephen to be thoughtful, confident, respectful, knowledgeable and very effective. Ultimately and most importantly, he was successful. His suggested strategy was right on. He saved my son's career and preserved his reputation. I am very thankful to him.

  7. Impeccable Attorney

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    For anyone in the military that is searching for a great attorney, I would suggest Stephen Carpenter. His expertise, care for his client and professional demeanor. He helped save my 20+ year career and his reputation spearheaded the peaceful outcome of my situation. I would suggest this attorney to anyone who is facing any type of prosecution from military authorities. I will be forever grateful to him.

  8. Took the Time

    Posted by Edward., a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A 19-year officer, I found myself the subject of an investigation into alleged misconduct and was relieved of command, facing career-ending accusations. Stephen negotiated a settlement which saved my career and my retirement. Although an area outside his area of normal military practice, it was obvious he took the time to research the particular law and regulations pertinent to my case. His fixed-fee system is great as it allows for open communication and discussion regarding strategy and issues without worrying about billable time. I would certainly use him again (although I hope I don't have that need again!) and recommend him to anyone facing adverse actions potentially affecting their career.

  9. Outstanding Military Attorney for Coast Guard Case

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great attorney to work with. Very knowledgeable on military law and, specifically for my case, in Coast Guard procedures. He went the extra mile to represent me and secure expert witnesses. Stephen is easy to communicate with, and is always quick to respond. Favorable results for my case, and I highly recommend him.

  10. Career Saver

    Posted by Ryan, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been a proud member of the U.S. Coast Guard for over ten years. Early in 2012, an unfortunate event occurred in my career that had me facing possible separation from the service, likely under less than honorable conditions. I was referred to Stephen by my father, who is also an attorney, and his recommendation could not have been more astute. He expertly guided me through the legal process, and because of his in-depth knowledge of military law and his professional relationships with Coast Guard legal staff and investigators, I am now being retained and looking forward to a bright future once again. Without a doubt, I owe my career to Stephen Carpenter and I highly recommend him to anyone in the service.

Call now for a free consultation.

206-357-8434