Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR’s Reviews

Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR

Average Rating

Based on 73 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mission Accomplishment

    Posted by William H. Griffith, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Anytime your going against the Government because they have something against you need a solid attorney to keep them at bay. Mr. Carpenter is that attorney. All the drug charges are gone and now my military record is clear because of him! I am now medically retired.

  2. Saved Son's Career

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    As a lawyer, I would highly recommend Mr. Carpenter. I retained him for my son, after speaking with different potential lawyers. Most seemed indifferent about my son's chances of success (as if there was little to lose given my son's relatively brief time in the service) and viewed a discharge as an almost inevitable result. While realistic about the possible outcomes, I felt at all times that Mr. Carpenter was in our corner and willing to go the distance in giving my son that chance to tell his side of the story and fight for the opportunity to continue to serve. I found Stephen to be thoughtful, confident, respectful, knowledgeable and very effective. Ultimately and most importantly, he was successful. His suggested strategy was right on. He saved my son's career and preserved his reputation. I am very thankful to him.

  3. Impeccable Attorney

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    For anyone in the military that is searching for a great attorney, I would suggest Stephen Carpenter. His expertise, care for his client and professional demeanor. He helped save my 20+ year career and his reputation spearheaded the peaceful outcome of my situation. I would suggest this attorney to anyone who is facing any type of prosecution from military authorities. I will be forever grateful to him.

  4. Took the Time

    Posted by Edward., a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A 19-year officer, I found myself the subject of an investigation into alleged misconduct and was relieved of command, facing career-ending accusations. Stephen negotiated a settlement which saved my career and my retirement. Although an area outside his area of normal military practice, it was obvious he took the time to research the particular law and regulations pertinent to my case. His fixed-fee system is great as it allows for open communication and discussion regarding strategy and issues without worrying about billable time. I would certainly use him again (although I hope I don't have that need again!) and recommend him to anyone facing adverse actions potentially affecting their career.

  5. Outstanding Military Attorney for Coast Guard Case

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great attorney to work with. Very knowledgeable on military law and, specifically for my case, in Coast Guard procedures. He went the extra mile to represent me and secure expert witnesses. Stephen is easy to communicate with, and is always quick to respond. Favorable results for my case, and I highly recommend him.

  6. Career Saver

    Posted by Ryan, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been a proud member of the U.S. Coast Guard for over ten years. Early in 2012, an unfortunate event occurred in my career that had me facing possible separation from the service, likely under less than honorable conditions. I was referred to Stephen by my father, who is also an attorney, and his recommendation could not have been more astute. He expertly guided me through the legal process, and because of his in-depth knowledge of military law and his professional relationships with Coast Guard legal staff and investigators, I am now being retained and looking forward to a bright future once again. Without a doubt, I owe my career to Stephen Carpenter and I highly recommend him to anyone in the service.

  7. Amazing and professional

    Posted by Josh, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Although in the end Stephen did not represent me, he was very consistent and fast in responding to any and all questions I had. He's no non-sense and is very committed to getting you represented. Thank you Stephen.

  8. Not guilty of all charges by a military jury

    Posted by David, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I can't express enough how thankful I am to Mr. Carpenter. Stephen helped me through a military case that took eleven months to resolve. Stephen kept me informed and up to date at all times during this long and stressful process. His knowledge of military law and his professionalism are above anything I could ever hope for. I would highly recommend anyone facing military charges to not hesitate to call Mr. Carpenter for representation.

  9. There when you need him!

    Posted by Patrick, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I cannot express how grateful I am for Stephen Carpenter. As a Marine with almost 15 years in service, I was facing a potential career-ending issue and I found Mr. Carpenter. Even though I ended up not requiring his full service, he met with me and was more than generous with his time. He put me at ease and let me know that he was there for me if things got even more serious. I would without fail recommend his services. Very knowledgeable and truly caring for his clients needs. You won't regret retaining Stephen Carpenter. Your career is worth it!

  10. Satisfied Client

    Posted by Navy O5, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It pays to hire the best. I did my research before selecting an attorney. He is fare and upfront with costs and responsibilities. Mr. Carpenter knows military law inside and out. He clearly articulated to me my rights and possible and probable outcomes of the situation facing me. He tenaciously followed up every detail of my case and mitigated any future actions against me. He understands how the military works and how the chain command is involved in the decision making process. He helped me develop credible witnesses to speak on my behalf. I fortunately did not need them. His advice and counsel were invaluable in resolving my issues with no adverse actions.

Call now for a free consultation.

206-357-8434