Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR’s Reviews

Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR

Average Rating

Based on 70 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Attorney! Highly Recommended..

    Posted by Monica, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stephen is an excellent attorney! We hired him in early 2012; my husband was charged thru the military and was looking at 55 years of confinement. With Stephen's expertise; hours upon hours, road block after road block... we made it thru. The outcome, only 16months confinement-essentially close to year for my husband. This is WAY better than any other alternative we were facing. Stephen was always easily accessible, responding to even the smallest questions. My husband was always able to contact Stephen when needed; via telephone, text or email. Stephen always listened with great intent. Problem solving expert! Determined. Divinely cared for our family and what we were going thru. Supportive and real. This is Stephen Carpenter. I loved watching him work his “magic” in court. I would recommend him to anyone.

  2. GOMOR Local Filing Saved My Military Career

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen defended me against an unjustified personal vendetta carried out by my commander. His rebuttal to the GOMOR I received, referring time and again to the appropriate regulatory guidelines, was instrumental in having it removed from my OMPF, allowing me to continue my military career and service to my country. Stephen is more than just talk, he is action, and I highly recommend his services if you find yourself in a similar situation.

  3. Best Lawyer I met

    Posted by dennis, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    One of the most professional attorney's I ever meet. He always kept me informed of all details in my case and stood by me and never let my hopes drop down. If anybody would be looking for a attorney I would recommend him in a heart beat to anybody that would be looking for the best attorney out there. Thank you again for everything Mr. Carpenter.

  4. Awesome Advocate saved me from administrative discharge

    Posted by Jonah, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen is the man I want in my corner. Right away he went to the heart of the issues and understood all the critical information. He is very insightful when dealing with witnesses. He made them feel comfortable and excited about helping support my case. His court room finesse was something to admire. He was truly devoted to winning this case for me. His knowledge of military law saved my career.

  5. Stephen You Saved My Career

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I cannot express how grateful I am for Mr.Carpenter. As a Service Member with 19 years in service, I was facing a potential career-ending issue when one of my co-workers recommended Stephen Carpenter. Stephen Carpenter kept me informed through the long, stressful process. After the long military process, I was retained and given a second chance to serve my country proud. Because your career is worth it, I would recommend his services to any Service Member facing any type of military adverse actions. THANK YOU STEPHEN!

  6. Schweinfurt soldier saved from being targeted and threatened by command.

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a severe situation with my chain of command I filed a police report against an NCO for threatening me and afterwards was staring down the barrel of 3 field grade article 15's less than a week after I reported him.....Nothing was beyond their grasp I was continuously interrogated and singled out For everything under the sun in retribution for me holding an NCO responsible for his actions.....After contacting Stephen Carpenter I filed paperwork against my command got the harassment to stop and everyone that was involved was either Demoted or transferred out of the unit with letters of reprimand....thanks to Stephen I was transferred from the unit and everything is going great now

  7. Military law

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This lawyer has helped us so much. We were stationed overseas in Vilseck Germany and had some trouble. He is quick to respond and he gets on it right away. I would always use him again. There were no problems. He is awesome.

  8. Mission Accomplishment

    Posted by William H. Griffith, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Anytime your going against the Government because they have something against you need a solid attorney to keep them at bay. Mr. Carpenter is that attorney. All the drug charges are gone and now my military record is clear because of him! I am now medically retired.

  9. Saved Son's Career

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    As a lawyer, I would highly recommend Mr. Carpenter. I retained him for my son, after speaking with different potential lawyers. Most seemed indifferent about my son's chances of success (as if there was little to lose given my son's relatively brief time in the service) and viewed a discharge as an almost inevitable result. While realistic about the possible outcomes, I felt at all times that Mr. Carpenter was in our corner and willing to go the distance in giving my son that chance to tell his side of the story and fight for the opportunity to continue to serve. I found Stephen to be thoughtful, confident, respectful, knowledgeable and very effective. Ultimately and most importantly, he was successful. His suggested strategy was right on. He saved my son's career and preserved his reputation. I am very thankful to him.

  10. Impeccable Attorney

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    For anyone in the military that is searching for a great attorney, I would suggest Stephen Carpenter. His expertise, care for his client and professional demeanor. He helped save my 20+ year career and his reputation spearheaded the peaceful outcome of my situation. I would suggest this attorney to anyone who is facing any type of prosecution from military authorities. I will be forever grateful to him.

Call now for a free consultation.

206-357-8434