Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR’s Reviews

Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR

Average Rating

Based on 73 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Life Saver

    Posted by Marcus, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My attorney, Stephen Carpenter, saved my life. I have 15 years of service in the military and was given a GOMOR, which is a “career killer” for military officers. I felt that the GOMOR was unfair and should not have gone into my OMPF records, but it did and there was nothing I could do about it. Then, while deployed, I was notified that the Human Recourses Command (HRC) was considering me for separation from the military due to the draw-down of personnel. That means that I was getting kicked out with no benefits and no pension. I have a wife and three children. I was mortified. I was sent back to the US to face involuntary separation from service with NO options to fight it. I called every lawyer in town and chose Mr. Carpenter because of his honesty about what I was facing and his vast knowledge of military law. I was told by my Battalion Commander that I was not eligible for a “Show Cause Board” where I could try to fight this action. Stephen proved her to be wrong. He got HRC to agree to a board and then he proved my innocence at that board. He was unrelenting and would not let them just take my rights lightly. The board even recommended that the GOMOR be removed from my file. I am now happily serving with my good name and reputation back and it is thanks to the work of Stephen Carpenter. He saved my life.

  2. Best Military Lawyer.

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen Carpenter helped me immensely. I was in a situation where I was facing a discharge from the army under less than honorable terms. Had I not contaced Mr. Carpenter, I would certainly be out of the military and facing an extreme burden. However, I did hire Mr. Carpenter and I am extremely grateful that my military career is back on track and I am still serving my country honorably. The result he helped me to achieve is more than I could have ever asked for. He has the intelligence, legal prowess, and above all, the integrity that it takes to get the most positive result for his clients. If I did not hire Stephen Carpenter, I would be out of the military and facing obstacles that Mr. Carpenter did not think I should have to face. I was utterly impressed by the way he handled my case, the advice I was given, and the way he made me feel like I was taken care of. Stephen Carpenter saved my career, my reputation, and my livelihood.

  3. Saved my stripe. Saved my career. Saved my reputation.

    Posted by Joe, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen saved my career! I am an E-6 with the Air Force and was taken to a SPCM. I risked losing everything I had built up over the last decade. He was always available and straight forward. He had my trust from the start and worked on my case diligently. Thanks to his hard work, not only do I still have my stripe and my career, but I still have my reputation. His flat rate was a perfect fit, and he earned every penny. He invested himself in our case and had no problem traveling out to Montana. I was actually surprised at first with how well he worked with the military defense counsel as well. I have nothing but great things to say about Stephen and have already recommended him to multiple people and will continue to do so. My family and I will always be grateful for everything he's done for us.

  4. Excellent Attorney! Highly Recommended..

    Posted by Monica, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stephen is an excellent attorney! We hired him in early 2012; my husband was charged thru the military and was looking at 55 years of confinement. With Stephen's expertise; hours upon hours, road block after road block... we made it thru. The outcome, only 16months confinement-essentially close to year for my husband. This is WAY better than any other alternative we were facing. Stephen was always easily accessible, responding to even the smallest questions. My husband was always able to contact Stephen when needed; via telephone, text or email. Stephen always listened with great intent. Problem solving expert! Determined. Divinely cared for our family and what we were going thru. Supportive and real. This is Stephen Carpenter. I loved watching him work his “magic” in court. I would recommend him to anyone.

  5. GOMOR Local Filing Saved My Military Career

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen defended me against an unjustified personal vendetta carried out by my commander. His rebuttal to the GOMOR I received, referring time and again to the appropriate regulatory guidelines, was instrumental in having it removed from my OMPF, allowing me to continue my military career and service to my country. Stephen is more than just talk, he is action, and I highly recommend his services if you find yourself in a similar situation.

  6. Best Lawyer I met

    Posted by dennis, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    One of the most professional attorney's I ever meet. He always kept me informed of all details in my case and stood by me and never let my hopes drop down. If anybody would be looking for a attorney I would recommend him in a heart beat to anybody that would be looking for the best attorney out there. Thank you again for everything Mr. Carpenter.

  7. Awesome Advocate saved me from administrative discharge

    Posted by Jonah, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen is the man I want in my corner. Right away he went to the heart of the issues and understood all the critical information. He is very insightful when dealing with witnesses. He made them feel comfortable and excited about helping support my case. His court room finesse was something to admire. He was truly devoted to winning this case for me. His knowledge of military law saved my career.

  8. Stephen You Saved My Career

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I cannot express how grateful I am for Mr.Carpenter. As a Service Member with 19 years in service, I was facing a potential career-ending issue when one of my co-workers recommended Stephen Carpenter. Stephen Carpenter kept me informed through the long, stressful process. After the long military process, I was retained and given a second chance to serve my country proud. Because your career is worth it, I would recommend his services to any Service Member facing any type of military adverse actions. THANK YOU STEPHEN!

  9. Schweinfurt soldier saved from being targeted and threatened by command.

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a severe situation with my chain of command I filed a police report against an NCO for threatening me and afterwards was staring down the barrel of 3 field grade article 15's less than a week after I reported him.....Nothing was beyond their grasp I was continuously interrogated and singled out For everything under the sun in retribution for me holding an NCO responsible for his actions.....After contacting Stephen Carpenter I filed paperwork against my command got the harassment to stop and everyone that was involved was either Demoted or transferred out of the unit with letters of reprimand....thanks to Stephen I was transferred from the unit and everything is going great now

  10. Military law

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This lawyer has helped us so much. We were stationed overseas in Vilseck Germany and had some trouble. He is quick to respond and he gets on it right away. I would always use him again. There were no problems. He is awesome.

Call now for a free consultation.

206-357-8434