Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR’s Reviews

Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR

Average Rating

Based on 70 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Not Guilty of all Charges

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    I can't begin to express how thankful I am that we were lucky enough to have Mr Carpenter represent my son. Not only is he a great lawyer but a great person as well. He is dedicated and committed to serving our military and proving innocence . Thank you again Mr Carpenter!

  2. My experience with Mr. Carpenter

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Fraud matter.

    I was represented in a fraud case by Mr. Carpenter. The case started as a general court martial and I was staring down the barrel of a potential Dishonorable Discharge. After the Art. 32 hearing, it was reduced to an Art 15 with no rank lost and still on active duty. Thanks for your help.

  3. Phenomenal Lawyer! Saved my Career

    Posted by Robert, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    I hired Mr. Carpenter as lead counsel for my court martial and then again later for a separation board. I was faced with very serious charges during my court martial and later, at my separation board, there were more than enough reasons to discharge me from the service. Despite all of this, both events ended up with excellent results. I was guilty of the offenses that I was charged with and I was punished for them, however I was still retained in the military and currently I am advancing back through the ranks. This would have never been possible without the help of Mr. Carpenter. I was lucky enough to have been assigned very good TDS lawyers, but I know if I hadn't hired Mr. Carpenter I would have never been retained in the military and would also have many more convictions on my record.

    Like most people, I was completely lost when both of these legal proceedings were imposed on me. I had no idea what to expect or how to prepare for them. This is what the TDS lawyers are supposed to be for, however they are not always the right fit for their clients. For my court martial, the TDS lawyer assigned to me was stationed on the other side of the country and he was over worked with other cases, so contact with him was minimal. Later, when I was recommended for a separation board, I met with the TDS lawyer, assigned to me, about 6 weeks prior to my board. After that meeting he told me that he would be in contact with me once it got closer to the date of the board. I did not hear from him again. Then only few days before my board I received a call from another TDS lawyer, saying that he was now going to represent me. Luckily, on both occasions, I had hired Mr. Carpenter early on and he was there throughout each process to advise me on what to do and to keep me updated on what was happening.

    Mr. Carpenter is an exceptional defense lawyer that pulls from his vast knowledge of military law and experience to ensure his clients receive the best defense. He never treated me as just a client, but more like a friend in need. I believe that this trait is rare when it comes to lawyers. It made me feel confident knowing that he was not taking a halfhearted approach to my case.

    I hope my point is clear. Mr. Carpenter is one of the best lawyers that you can hire to represent you. I have over 10 years in the military and it all would have been for nothing if it hadn’t been for Mr. Carpenter.

  4. Not guilty of all rape and sexual assault charges

    Posted by Linda, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We can not express how grateful we are to Mr Carpenter. After my husband was charged with 9 counts, including rape, sexual assault, and adultery we felt our lives were over. Mr Carpenter started working right away and was able to reduce the number of charges to 7. After an 11 month long, intense battle my husband was found not guilt of all rape, and sexual assault charges. Stephen is very knowledgeable, provides outstanding legal advise, and truly cares for his clients. He works long hours, always kept us informed and was always there for my husband. Watching Mr Carpenter in the court room is truly amazing. He is definitely the lawyer to have by your side if you are facing a court martial where the outcome could be life in prison. Again, thank you Stephen! God bless you.

  5. Petty Officer

    Posted by Russ, a Government client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Government matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Carpenter was the best thing that happened to me in a terrible situation. After a misunderstanding turned into the Coast Guard trying to put me in jail for up to five years!!! Stephen not only got them to drop all but one charge, but also got me out of confinement with time served after my trial date. Beyond the results though, Mr. Carpenter was professional, caring, and knowledgeable. He not only kept in touch with me every week, but also called my wife to let her know what was going on as well. While everyone else in confinement hadn't heard from their lawyers for weeks, Mr. Carpenter was in touch with us every single week. He made a terrible situation manageable and my Wife and I where fortunate to have him as our lawyer. He is the best money I have ever spent and I guarantee he will work hard for you as well.
    Thanks Steve,

  6. Mr. Carpenter is a strong advocate who stands up for You!

    Posted by Gulnora, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We were so lucky to find Stephen Carpenter as our private, civilian military lawyer to represent my husband in his request for clemency. My husband was wrongfully convicted for a one time positive urinalysis for drug use. Stephen worked hard in our case and he was successful. He is very knowledgeable, professional, respectful, honest, and approachable. In tough situations like ours when the loved one went to prison for a crime he did not commit, you want to choose someone who stands up for you and who ensures that everything is done correctly and your rights are protected. I recommend Stephen Carpenter as one of the strongest, most reliable civilian-military lawyers. He knows the law and its application in military system.

  7. Stephen Carpenter helped save my career.

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Carpenter when I found that there was an investigation initiated against me in Afghanistan. After it was completed, I was read a Field Grade ART 15, and charged with numerous completely false charges. Accepting a FG ART 15 as a SSG would have been a career ending punishment. Stephen was extremely confident throughout the whole process, and he was able to prove each charge to be false, leaving the Commander no choice but to throw out the ART 15 completely. Stephen was instrumental in saving my career, and I highly recommend him if you are at risk of losing yours.

  8. Life Saver

    Posted by Marcus, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My attorney, Stephen Carpenter, saved my life. I have 15 years of service in the military and was given a GOMOR, which is a “career killer” for military officers. I felt that the GOMOR was unfair and should not have gone into my OMPF records, but it did and there was nothing I could do about it. Then, while deployed, I was notified that the Human Recourses Command (HRC) was considering me for separation from the military due to the draw-down of personnel. That means that I was getting kicked out with no benefits and no pension. I have a wife and three children. I was mortified. I was sent back to the US to face involuntary separation from service with NO options to fight it. I called every lawyer in town and chose Mr. Carpenter because of his honesty about what I was facing and his vast knowledge of military law. I was told by my Battalion Commander that I was not eligible for a “Show Cause Board” where I could try to fight this action. Stephen proved her to be wrong. He got HRC to agree to a board and then he proved my innocence at that board. He was unrelenting and would not let them just take my rights lightly. The board even recommended that the GOMOR be removed from my file. I am now happily serving with my good name and reputation back and it is thanks to the work of Stephen Carpenter. He saved my life.

  9. Best Military Lawyer.

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen Carpenter helped me immensely. I was in a situation where I was facing a discharge from the army under less than honorable terms. Had I not contaced Mr. Carpenter, I would certainly be out of the military and facing an extreme burden. However, I did hire Mr. Carpenter and I am extremely grateful that my military career is back on track and I am still serving my country honorably. The result he helped me to achieve is more than I could have ever asked for. He has the intelligence, legal prowess, and above all, the integrity that it takes to get the most positive result for his clients. If I did not hire Stephen Carpenter, I would be out of the military and facing obstacles that Mr. Carpenter did not think I should have to face. I was utterly impressed by the way he handled my case, the advice I was given, and the way he made me feel like I was taken care of. Stephen Carpenter saved my career, my reputation, and my livelihood.

  10. Saved my stripe. Saved my career. Saved my reputation.

    Posted by Joe, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen saved my career! I am an E-6 with the Air Force and was taken to a SPCM. I risked losing everything I had built up over the last decade. He was always available and straight forward. He had my trust from the start and worked on my case diligently. Thanks to his hard work, not only do I still have my stripe and my career, but I still have my reputation. His flat rate was a perfect fit, and he earned every penny. He invested himself in our case and had no problem traveling out to Montana. I was actually surprised at first with how well he worked with the military defense counsel as well. I have nothing but great things to say about Stephen and have already recommended him to multiple people and will continue to do so. My family and I will always be grateful for everything he's done for us.

Call now for a free consultation.

206-357-8434