Stacy Dyan Heard’s Reviews

Stacy Dyan Heard

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A Great Family Lawyer

    Posted by Dillon, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stacy Heard.
    • I hired Stacy 1-3 years ago.
    • Stacy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stacy Heard handled a complicated custody issue for us. It was high conflict with the opposing party and very stressful. Ms. Heard took over for another lawyer who had let our case flounder and got it back on track. She had to work hard to fix many of his mistakes and at the end, we got a better result than we expected.

    The best things about Ms. Heard are: She has your back 100% and you can trust her completely. She kept us up-to-date on all court filings, responses and deadlines. She is very knowledgable about family law which is her specialty. We had to file an appeal which was decided in our favor due to errors by the judge/commissioner. I know that our previous lawyer would not have done the due diligence to keep our case moving forward.

    There are 2 reasons we did not give her 5 stars overall. The first is when we had to deal with getting reports from the children's therapists. She would get annoyed that we didn't have the reports fast enough and when we did get them, they were not quite as specific as they could be. Therapists are bound to privacy/confidentiality rules and since we weren't getting full psych evaluations, there was less specific information available. There wasn't much we could do about it but we felt like she expected us to do more than was possible.

    The second reason is that after some of the court rulings were decided, we felt we hadn't done enough planning for contingencies. Ex: if we won what could we ask for, if we lost how could we limit the damage. Due to some of this poor planning we were unable to control some of the situations that came up because we didn't have clear guidelines from the court. We were partly responsible for this because we didn't think to ask about these scenarios. We did feel she could have had some strategies for us to handle certain outcomes. In all fairness, it is hard to tell which way your ruling will go but we do believe there could have been more planning for those situations.

    She is very professional but can sometimes come across a little too tough. You have to be able to handle that. She is also very empathetic and understanding. She will do everything she is capable of to win your case. She did as much as she could to help us win and we did win.

    We had a difficult, stressful and relentless case that was very hard to handle from almost every angle. Stacy did an excellent job for us and I would highly recommend her services.

  2. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stacy Heard.
    • I hired Stacy 6-12 months ago.
    • Stacy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stacy Heard has been a great help to me during a lengthy and mentally-straining process. She explains the whys, the hows, and whens very well and can anticipate opposing counsel’s next move. I am glad to have her as an asset and would recommend her to anyone going through a divorce or related family law issues.

  3. Smart, Problem solver, and responsive. Appreciated the advice

    Posted by EK, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stacy Heard.
    • I hired Stacy 1-6 months ago.
    • Stacy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I consulted with Stacy for a matter and she was extremely responsive despite being on travels. She was also helpful with the suggestions and I appreciated her advice. I would recommend her to others needing help with family matters.

  4. Took the case for month. Did not do anything but charged me a thousand.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stacy Heard.

    She took my case and did nothing with it for six months. Every time I sent her an email asking if she could look into the case, she replied "will do" and change me $50/word. After six months, I took my case back and had to pay her a thousand for so many "will do" she replied. Totally won't recommend her to anyone.

  5. Excellent Experience, Despite the Situation of Divorce

    Posted by Sonya, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stacy Heard.
    • I hired Stacy more than 3 years ago.
    • Stacy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stacy has done an outstanding job. She is candid, blunt and honest regarding how the system works yet is caring and understanding that emotions are playing a role in any divorce proceedings. Despite the unfortunate situation, I found her enjoyable to work with. I worked with her more than a year from start to finish. I had shopped around and met with several attorneys before I decided that Stacy was the one I knew who I would work best with. I knew she could get in there and be tough when she needed to be, which I appreciated. I truly felt that my best interests were always being looked after, instead of her bottom line - as I have seen other attorneys do. And I felt that she prepared me to what I should honestly expect in the end results. She is knowledgeable, seems to have great recognition in the legal community among her peers and possesses excellent communication skills.

  6. Professional and knows the law

    Posted by Chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stacy Heard.
    • I hired Stacy more than 3 years ago.
    • Stacy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Stacy from another well reputable attorney in Seattle. From the first meeting we had, Stacy understood my divorce case and set the proper expectations of what I could expect. It was a difficult divorce with multiple evaluations for child custody. The case ended up in mediation and was resolved there. I was very satisfied with the outcome of the divorce and know I would have not been able to do it without her.

    Stacy is not only passionate about the law, but knew how to communicate the law so I could understand it. She never left me in the dark, would consistently get back to me on the same day I sent an email or called, and always felt she was giving me the truth. There were a couple of times that I was feeling drained and wanted to give up - Stacy would refocus me on my goals and always kept an eye on the end. I found it very helpful that she is so well networked in the community. She made great suggestions for evaluators and a mediators!

    Stacy knows when to listen, knows when to advise, and knows when to be tough. I would highly recommend Stacy's representation in a divorce case.

  7. Great Family Lawyer

    Posted by Craig, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stacy Heard.
    • I hired Stacy more than 3 years ago.
    • Stacy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stacy really saved me when I needed it most. She has a great understanding of family law and the emotional side that goes with it. Unlike a lot of attorneys, she was incredibly responsive and always made sure I understood what was happening and coming up next.

    She's a straight-shooter and will always guide you in the right way. I never felt dumb and always empowered.

    Not only would I recommend her, I would hire her again in a second. She made a terrible situation much more bearable.

  8. Dissappointed and Dissatisfied

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stacy Heard.
    • I hired Stacy more than 3 years ago.
    • Stacy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I met Ms. Heard she appeared to be in a full service offfice; I should have realized she was a one person show when I had to pay her via PayPal .(because she did not accept credit cards) Like the other negative reviews said, she is aggressive and angry, but toward her client, I felt she was more a friend to the other parties lawyer and would demand that I acquise to their demands every time. . . if I disagreed she would argue with me. She was hard to get a hold of, if you want an update via email or phone, expect to be charged for each second including her tantrums. I could have done a better job representing myself as I never felt procedure and options were explainded to me. She is NOT a team player with her client.

  9. Best lawyer in Seattle

    Posted by Erin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stacy Heard.
    • I hired Stacy more than 3 years ago.
    • Stacy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stacy was excellent I had a very long drawn out case and she stayed the course. I have complete confidence in her. She kept me very informed of the other parties every move and gave me very logical advice about how to handle everything. In the end Stacy helped me get all that I was hoping for in my divorce and parenting plan. It was terrifying for me to be in court and face my ex-husband and every time I had to she was right there calming my fears in her subtle way of explaining what would happen with such confidence I always felt safe with her. Stacy was very professional and has so much experience, I truly enjoyed working with her and getting to know her. You are in great hands with her!

  10. Excellent Family Law Attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stacy Heard.
    • I hired Stacy more than 3 years ago.
    • Stacy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would definitely recommend this lawyer. She kept me informed throughout my case and provided excellent representation.

Contact The Law Office of Stacy Heard, PLLC for representation in family law matters

206-447-8200