Jennifer J. Payseno’s Reviews

Jennifer J. Payseno

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Extremely competent representation

    Posted by Eric, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jennifer Payseno.
    • I hired Jennifer 6-12 months ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was in a difficult position with an attorney that was not representing me well and was actually undermining my position. I met with Jennifer. She agreed to take my case, which ended up being much more complicated and convoluted than it should have, through no fault of hers. She represented me very well, always trying to achieve the best outcome for me. In one hearing, the word "poised" came to mind while watching her address the commissioner. It was obvious she knew her facts, supported them with appropriate case law and was fair. She tried on several occasions to save both me and my ex-wife attorney's fees by educating opposing counsel but was unsuccessful.

    Jennifer and her team (Jessica and Kristina) work well together and definitely know their stuff. I would not hesitate to seek their counsel again if I had a difficult legal matter. The only thing to be aware of is this firm is not inexpensive. Although expensive, throughout the entire matter I always felt like I was well-represented, and I was being heard by my attorneys.

  2. Terrible

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Jennifer Payseno.

    I can't recommend Jennifer Payseno and I can't recommend this firm. She is unresponsive and outrageously expensive. I spent the vast majority of my time communicating with her paralegal, who I happen to like, but nevertheless is not worth the $2,500 I paid in less than one weeks time for setup fees. For her part, I basically just got generic information and pleasantries for $1,200. When I figured out my ex-wife was spending about 1/3 on her attorney who was a lot more proactive in filing the initial divorce (that I kept asking to be filed first) and more aggressive, I knew I had to get another attorney but not before the firm collection person started hounding me for more money even after little work has been done.

  3. Excellent dissolution attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Payseno.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Twenty months ago, devastated by the sudden end of a long term marriage, I sought legal counsel. I met with and retained Jennifer Payseno. I was impressed by her ability to sort through my emotional issues while highlighting all of the important legal concerns that would be affecting my case. As my spouse was in the legal profession, she understood the need for me to have an advocate that could “level the playing field.” I found her advice to be straightforward, clear and calming. This was especially important at a time in my life where I found decision making difficult. She was responsive to each and every one of my concerns. Jennifer and her team mastered the complicated components of my family business that confounded easy solutions in settlement. As additional life changing events occurred during this process, Jennifer had continuing compassion for me and a strategy for all the new legal issues these changes presented. I have known her during the most difficult time of my life and found her work for me to be thorough, strategic, professional and compassionate. I would recommend her and her team of Jessica Moore and Kristina Zimmerman to anyone who finds their marital life compromised and who needs a strong, clear thinking advocate.

  4. Strength~ Grace ~ Integrity

    Posted by Josie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Payseno.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Family matter.

    Jennifer and her team went above and beyond for me. Jennifer exudes a combination of compassion and strength which gave me a sense of peace in an otherwise extremely stressful time in my life.
    i am thankful for Jennifer and her team for their diligent and honest work ethic.

  5. Professional, Knowledgeable, and Realistic

    Posted by Mark, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Payseno.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I worked with Jennifer Payseno at McKinley Irvin on a child custody modification. Some words that describe here are: professional, knowledgeable, and most importantly, realistic. Her passion for her profession became obvious as she made the effort to know me and to understand my situation. I provided volumes of information that would be difficult for most to read past the first page. It became apparent through the process that Jennifer and her staff took the time to not only read it, but become very familiar with it so that they could better help me through my situation. I very highly recommend Jennifer and McKinley Irvin to anyone in need of a family law expert and highly competent advocate.

  6. satisfied client

    Posted by Albert, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Payseno.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jennifer was extremely professional and handled my case with class. I did better than I expected going in to my divorce and can't thank Jennifer enough.

  7. Divorce Attorney - Recommendation

    Posted by Dave, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Payseno.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Undergoing a divorce as a reluctant defendant...particularly after a long term marriage with complicated business, contractual, estate, and childcare-related issues...is a brutally emotional process that most of us have no experience in navigating. The terminology, the invasive nature of inquiries, and the prescriptive legal requirements are all foreign. Having someone representing you that can maintain a rational discourse with you as well as opposing counsel is essential.

    Jennifer Payseno and her team, specifically co-counsel Jessica Moore, did exactly that for me. They presented the hard realities of my case, the law, and early-on set my expectations. At the same time they developed solid defensive strategies built on facts, events, and chronology to counter the bombastic theatrics of opposing counsel. This was a protracted roller coaster ride and at times, Jennier and her team served as both legal counselor and therapist. Her style is both collaborative and strategically offensive; a nice mix.

    During nearly a full year of support and hand holding with enough twists and turns to make a long running soap opera, Jennifer was not only able to pull my emotions off the ceiling, but steadly educate opposing counsel on the rational weaknesses in their case. Despite our defendant status, Jennifer and her team took the lead in nearly every filing and proposal to ensure that plaintiff's counsel reacted to our templates, ideas, and requirements. This is not the cheapest way to go, but the only way when facing a wave of unrealistic and marignally logical thinking from opposing counsel.

    I didn't always like what Jennifer was telling me...and at times didn't even follow that advice...but her counsel was dead on accurate. She and Jessica always had my interests at heart and were extraordinary in their knowledge of the ever-changing details. There was never the need to revisit issues or bring them up to speed...they were nearly aways acting, not reacting.

    At times I bristled at the McKinley Irvin business model of prepaying for a six-figure legal defense ahead of the services provided, but the exceptional quality of that defense is unquestioned.

  8. Jennifer Payseno

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Payseno.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jennifer represented me on 2 occasions as the relationship with my wife fluctuated. The second time resulted in a court ruling following my wife's attempts to get me removed from our property. The build up to this was extremely stressful but the guidance from Jennifer and her team was exceptional, leaving nothing to chance and providing me with reassurance that the best possible argument was being prepared. Jennifer was always contactable, always responsive and always provided sound advice. On the day Jennifer took the opposing council to the cleaners, her preparation totally overshadowed the opposition and the moment the Judge ruled in my favor I had to ask Jennifer if I'd heard him correctly, He required my wife to move out and gave me almost 50 -50 custody of my daughter. It was quite a moment.
    In hiring Jennifer I took the approach that legal costs were secondary to what I wanted out of this so was prepared to pay. My decision to select Jennifer was based on research, reputation and reading reviews. I couldn't have got it any better. I would recommend Jennifer in all cases

  9. Unquestionably the right attorney for my case

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Payseno.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I brought Jennifer an extremely complicated case involving multiple business partnerships and custody issues. Jennifer listened to my concerns and desires regarding my divorce, carefully and artfully executed a strategy that kept me on the high ground and was consistently several steps ahead of my wife's attorney. I was amazed at how quickly Jennifer got a handle on the very complicated business holdings and moved to protect my interests. Every step of the way, even when finances were tight, Jennifer was understanding, dedicated and reliable. I wouldn't hesitate to hire Jennifer or McKinly-Irvin again.

  10. Client Review

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Jennifer Payseno.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We used this attorney based on a recommendation for a child custody issue involving our grandson. There was already a case pending, with a hearing date in Idaho (where the case originated) when the natural father filed in Washington. Payseno represented us in a very short hearing wherein both judges, Idaho and Washington agreed that the natural father was forum shopping and his case in Washington was denied. Payseno charged us well over $5000.00 for this and failed to ask for attorney fees and or sanctions on the natural father. We were told later, by other attorneys and a judge involved that had she requested fees on our behalf we would have prevailed and been granted the fees. We paid over 5 grand for a very short amount of work on a case that was easily defeated.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

206-625-9600