Back to Eric’s Profile

Client Review

Eric has received 14 client reviews

Bad experience

Posted by: a Divorce client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Fair
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Eric Engel

I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.

Eric handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Eric is a nice guy. I was impressed at first. But he seemed too overworked or something. I don't know. The work was sloppy, and I was kind of embarrassed. I actually wish I had the other attorney.

LOOK NO FURTHER, THIS IS THE MAN FOR THE JOB !!!

Posted by: TJ, a Child Custody client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Eric Engel

I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.

Eric handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

Mr. Eric Engel is by far a cut above, to say the least. I was represented or should I say misrepresented by several others that worsened my case considerably and severely. . I had nothing but blatant rip offs and liars until I met Eric. Eric is in the know, straight up and gets on it. He is a highly intelligent Attorney who knows how to get the job done right! I am always treated with the utmost in respect and Eric takes the time to really understand your situation and most importantly, HE CARES and has HEART! If your looking for a razor sharp, competent and caring Attorney, look no further, THIS IS THE MAN FOR THE JOB ! ! ! (5) STARS ALL THE WAY ! Thank You for an ongoing job well done Eric!

Good job on relocation prevention

Posted by: Dave, a Child Custody client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Eric Engel

I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.

Eric handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

When I saw this man I was looking at my X taking my kids cross country. He got in there and did a good job of catching my X on her lies helping me keep my kids in Seattle. Owe much thanks.

Amazing Firm, Amazing Attorney

Posted by: Kai, a Family client almost 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Eric Engel

I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.

Eric handled my Family matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I absolutely LOVE this law firm and all the people associate with it. If it weren't for Eric and his associates, my family would have been completely destroyed. Through their skill, knowledge, and compassion my family once again became whole. I really don't know what any of us would have done without them. I honestly can't put into words how thankful I am to have met them and been graced with their service

Unparalleled Professionalism

Posted by: Michael, a Chapter 7 client about 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Eric Engel

I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.

Eric handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

When I first hired Eric, I was swimming in a sea of debt without a clue of what to do or how to proceed. Eric calmed my fears down and got me to see the bigger picture of my financial well being. Eric's professionalism in unparalleled but it's his compassion for my issues that really drove me to write this review. Eric was responsive to my fears when they arose and when I had questions, he was decisive and quick to quell my concerns. When I called his firm, his support staff was equally as professional and responsive to my questions and I always received a call back in a timely manner (should Eric be assisting other clients). I just can't say enough good things about him and his firm. I also found his firm to be supportive to my financial issues as they worked with me on setting up a sensible payment plan for the services I received. Without them, I wouldn't be where I am today. I can't thank them enough! I strongly recommend this firm to anyone needing a bankruptcy or family law action!

Divorce Client

Posted by: a Divorce client about 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Eric Engel

I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.

Eric handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Mr. Engel handled my challenging divorce with assertiveness, legal expertise, and prompt responses. His strong presence was exactly what was needed to handle the combative personality of my ex, combined with excellent negotiating skills in a situation where he did not back down. I recommend him to anyone who needs a professional attorney who wants to win.

A very helpful team

Posted by: Bill, a Child Custody client almost 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Eric Engel

I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.

Eric handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

For anyone facing the gut-wrenching issues involved in divorce and child custody, I would not recommend anyone other than the Engel Law Group.

I fired him - Disorganized, costly and out of touch with clients

Posted by: Patrick, a Child Support client almost 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Fair
Trustworthy
Average
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Eric Engel

I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.

Eric handled my Child Support matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Shortly after hiring Mr Engel I began to question my choice in selecting him to represent me. Right away a red flag went up when my paperwork which my wife and I brought to our first consultation with Mr. Engel was missing along with the remaining paperwork we faxed and emailed to his law office. I was not made aware of any of this until after my case had been shuffled off to an associate in Mr Engel’s firm and she called wanting to be “updated” on my case. This associate attorney became noticeably irritated when my wife balked at having to re-submit the selfsame paperwork again! I was charged for this update and could not understand why I should be charged for providing the very same information and same paperwork to the same law firm for the second time. These issues repeated themselves over again and I found that we had to repeat everything to a variety of paralegals also. Again, all this repetition was being charged against my retainer. Over the course of the months Mr. Engels’ firm was hired by me to represent me in a child support case it appeared that I was being guided to go along with most everything the prosecuting attorney wanted. The issue that cinched it finally was the weak argument from the associate attorney assigned my case that if “they”, the prosecuting attorney, were going to use my overtime to calculate child support then they should also use my ex spouses. This was the very best argument this attorney appeared to be able to come up with. I realized then I would not get competent representation from this firm. It cost me almost half of my retainer to find out how disorganized and uninformed the representation from this firm had been. I fired them and hired another attorney and started from square one and within no time had a hearing and had a fair child support adjustment and was able to keep the original child support order unchanged outside of the adjustment to the transfer payment. The issues brought to the table by the prosecuting attorney were in the end without grounds yet Mr. Engel’s firm wasted my time and money bantering with my wife and me over them. I had emailed Mr. Engel to request the remainder of my retainer and was ignored until my wife threatened to contact the WSBA if we did not receive it. It was to this threat which Mr. Engel finally responded by stating that they usually kept the retainer for one billing cycle prior to releasing it but since we were demanding it sooner he would have it sent. Not good business at all….particularly since no further work had been done on my case other than responding to a continuance requested by the prosecuting attorney. This continuance was not brought to our attention until WE contacted Mr. Engels firm on the Friday prior to the hearing date the following Monday. Had we not done this I would have taken off work and gone to court only to find the hearing had been continued once I arrived there. I would not recommend Mr. Engel’s firm at this time. Their disorganization and apparent over tasked associate attorneys and paralegals will do little to afford one proper and timely resolution to legal issues.
  1. Eric J Engel

    Eric J Engel

    LawyerComment:

    We take this stuff seriously. As the poster points out at the end, he was represented by another attorney at the firm. We have since taken appropriate disciplinary action.

    Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

Excellent help and got what I needed and wanted

Posted by: Dave, a Divorce client almost 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Eric Engel

I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.

Eric handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I have nothing but good things to say about Eric. He is easy to talk to and knows what he is doing.He is flexible and has the ability to address an issue from many different angles in order to achieve the desired result. In my opinion, Eric is knowledgeable, communicative, and produces high quality work. He is professional at all times. I definitely got great value for my money… I got exactly what I wanted.I highly recommend Eric as an attorney

Property Separation and Custody Representation

Posted by: a Family client almost 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Eric Engel

I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.

Eric handled my Family matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mr. Engel has represented me in a CR2A property settlement dispute following divorce (exercising a power of sale option on a quit-claimed property for which I was still liable on the note -- new owner not meeting CR2A obligation to make payments), in a case to regain custody of children from a negligent parent (truancy), as well as criminal defense representation stemming from false allegations related to the above issues (felony assault of a minor). Thanks to his efforts, I currently have sole legal and physical custody of my two children -- they are back in school and thriving. As our case is still unfolding, I prefer to remain anonymous. I would recommend him to anyone with difficult family law issues.