Deborah M Nelson’s Reviews

Deborah M Nelson

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Attorney Malpractice/Medical Malpractice

    Posted by Alan, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Nelson.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    We used the firm of Nelson Boyd, and were represented by Deborah Nelson and Jeffery Boyd in our lawsuit against an attorney who mis-handled our earlier medical malpractice cases. In both our underlying cases we had received inadequate compensation for out injuries and received an amount way below what other, similar, cases had been settled for by other attorneys.

    Nelson Boyd helped us receive equitable compensation in mediation just before trial. They were responsive to our questions and kept us informed throughout the two-year process. It was great working with this firm.

    Alan & Margie J

  2. Positive Review

    Posted by Donna, a Slip and Fall client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Nelson.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Slip and Fall Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This was my first experience with a lawyer.She was comfortable to work with and a warm personality.She was excellent at explaining every move. She was very prompt at answering my inquiries by e mail ot phone. I am more than pleased with the outcome of the legal matter. I highly recommend her.

  3. Case Closed!

    Posted by Christopher, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Nelson.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Deborah Nelson is the best attorney I have ever worked with. She provided guidance and support that was beneficial for winning the case. Doborah gets right to the point and clearly lays out all of the details, as well as communicates the specifics on my role in completing tasks pertinent for a successful outcome. She is an outstandingly smart attorney and a wonderful and caring person!

  4. Excellent legal assistance, awesome advice and very honest and excellent communitacion

    Posted by Trisha, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Nelson.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Deborah took on my case even though I lived in a city 3 hours away and was so honest, upfront, had excellent communications with me and helped me in a case that was life altering for me. I would highly recommend her to anyone that requires her legal services. There was not one thing Deborah failed to do for me. In fact she went out of her way to make sure I was taken care of and understood every aspect of the application process and made sure that I was awarded fairly. Thank You Deborah Nelson

  5. motorcycle accident representation

    Posted by Carol, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Nelson.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    3 years ago I was involved in an accident which left me with 2 broken arms and 2 broken legs. The Boyd Nelson team pulled together all the information needed for me to be able to at least get the funds that were available in a settlement and I am quite thankful. I would suggest them for their professionalism, quick response and follow-through

  6. Appreciative

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Nelson.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    First let me say that I am a very kept to myself person. I don't like people knowing my business. I don't like talking about myself, especially to people I don't know.
    After my injury and "things" not being resolved a friend put me in contact with Deborah. I was very nervous about even talking to her in the beginning. Each time I spoke with her I felt more comfortable and confident. She is very personable, compassionate and knowledgeable. I didn't have to worry about any of it and if I had a question she had the answer.
    Very long story short Deborah and Jeff did an awesome job preparing for and in court. They will never fully know how much I appreciate them and the countless hours of work they did.
    I hope to never need another lawyer but if I were to need one I wouldn't hesitate to call Deborah and Jeff.

  7. wrecked in Reno (Motorcycle accident)

    Posted by a Motorcycle Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Nelson.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Motorcycle Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Let me first state that my previous experiences with lawyers has been with divorce attorneys and has been a very negative experience . Because of this I had no interest in giving an attorney any share of money awarded to me when I was in a motorcycle accident in Reno where the other party was clearly at fault. I knew I couldn't get the same settlement an attoney could , however , I wouldn't have to choke up a third of it to a lawyer that didn't do much to earn it. I just needed the insurance company to deal in an upright and honest manner with a guy who wanted enough of a settlement to upgrade his motorcycle and maybe a couple thousand for pain and suffering . After 3 months of dealing with the insurance companies it became obvious that the whole lot of them were not being honest with me and trying their best to force me into a settlement.
    Right off the bat after my initial Emergency Room visit no one would see me for follow up care. I have great health insurance (gov. Regence Blueshield ) They would pay nothing because it was an accident and someone else was liable. My insurance company (State Farm would pay nothing because PIP personal injury protection is not available on MCs . The at fault partie's insurance (Farmers) would pay nothing until the claim settled.I was finally able to get Regence to cover(lot of hassle) if I signed over a right of recovery form which enabled them to be 1st in line to recover their losses from the other party. I was already out of pocket several thousand dollars in fees , co-pays , and other uncovered and undocumented expenses and it looked like I was actually going to end this case several thosand dolllars in the whole rather than recovering my full expenses when My aunt suggested I try an attorney friend of hers .
    Deborah Nelson and partner Jeff Boyd interviewed me and actually explained to me hoe my insurance coverage actually worked. I was informed of a lot of facts that were previously not disclosed to me. My underinsured motorist coverage is upposed to pay for my time loss from work and any pain and suffering award given me by a jury amongst other things.
    To make a long story short , Deborah was able to take the case , even after I had provided a lot of information to the other insurance companies and even signed away some of my legal redress recovery, and obtain a sizable monetary recovery for me.
    After taking the case Deborah dealt with all of the insurance contacts and other hassles. I was kept very well informed on the case proceedings and had access to Deborah via telephone and/or email as needed.
    After the the case was over and the vehicle insurance companies had settled my claims , Deborah (receiving no additional funds) pursued my health insurance company to have them pay for a portion of my attorney fees getting me several more thousand dollars that I had not expected.
    Basically I ended up with tens of thousands of dollars more than I was originally afterbecause the insurance companies would not deal with me in an open and forthright manner.
    Thank you Deborah and Jeff

  8. Highest Recommendation

    Posted by a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Nelson.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After contacting a disabling illness and losing the ability to work, I filed for disability benefits with my LTD insurance provider. After my claim was unfairly denied, I hired Deborah to handle the appeal. From the first meeting, I was impressed with her experience, intelligence, and compassion. She has a proven strategy for disability appeals using credible and respected medical and rehabilitation experts for evaluations and testimonies. Having Deborah manage the appeal was a huge relief; this allowed me to focus on my health care. She was tenacious, firm, and professional when dealing with the insurance company. Deborah provided timely and clear updates and always answered my many questions promptly. I know that it was in large part to her excellent work and perseverance that I received a favorable settlement.

    I hope to never have another legal issue again, but if I do, Deborah will be the first person I call.

  9. Great experience and highly reccommended!!

    Posted by David, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Nelson.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had a great experience with Deborah Nelson. She had taken care of everything that needed to be done and which made it much easier on myself. Also I could not have been treated any better.

  10. Glad she joined our team.

    Posted by Heidi, a Wrongful Death client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Nelson.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Wrongful Death matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Deborah came into our case and was a great breath of fresh air, she was extremely knowledgable, kind compasionate and awsome at what she does. She was quick to get back with me with my questions how ever small or large they were. Was appropriate in the courtroom which you can tell she knows her way around in and should I ever need an attorney again will go straight to Deborah.