Cynthia F Buhr’s Reviews

Cynthia F Buhr

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Extremely Helpful

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Buhr.
    • I hired Cynthia 6-12 months ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Cynthia helped me resolve my dissolution. She was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I would recommend her to anyone looking for an attorney.

  2. Exceptionally Professional

    Posted by Kristina, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Buhr.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Estate Planning matter.

    We brought our estate planning to Cynthia because we knew of her stellar reputation for being professional, responsive and knowledgeable. We could not be more pleased with her in every aspect of her professionalism. She was always patient and considerate of our many questions. She made us feel like she truly cared about us as clients, and what was important to us was also important to her. We highly recommend Cynthia Buhr for estate planning, She is an exceptional attorney.

  3. Fast honest and does a great job.

    Posted by Hope, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Buhr.
    • I hired Cynthia 6-12 months ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Child Support matter.

    Cynthia was great, speedy and honest which goes a long way with my. I'll be using her for all my legal needs in the future.

  4. Great help in planning to secure rights as lesbian couple

    Posted by Joanne, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Buhr.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Estate Planning matter.

    Cynthia was very knowledgeable about what kind of documents we needed as a lesbian couple trying to do as much as we could to protect ourselves, our assets, and our relationship. She was very comfortable to work with and very responsive to our changes and questions. We have complete faith in her and would use her again for any legal needs,

  5. Very Professional!

    Posted by Christopher, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Buhr.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Cynthia to work on my very complex divorce case and she kept me informed about the proceedings as things transpired. She researched the specifics regarding my case to ensure that it was being handled in the best possible manner. She was very professional and prompt, would highly recommend her!

  6. Great service doing our estate planning

    Posted by JC, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Buhr.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    My partner and I used Cynthia for a fairly straightforward estate plan. Cynthia was very professional and the experience was straightforward and effecient yet she took time to answer all of our questions in length.

  7. Cynthia Buhr, knowledgeable, trustworthy and responsive! Straight forward and easy to communicate with.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Buhr.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Cynthia Buhr is easy to communicate with, has an excellent energy and I would recommend her to any of my friends.

  8. Excellent attorney - highly recommended

    Posted by a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Buhr.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cynthia has been a superb attorney to work with. She handled our son's adoption, our family estate planning, and is now handling our daughter's adoption. We have appreciated her clear communication, prompt responsiveness, reliability, and affordability. Above all, she is extremely knowledgeable about the unique issues facing LGBT families, as the legal landscape for these issues is quickly changing. Cynthia is respectful of the time of busy families, and has made these processes as easy and convenient as possible. I enthusiastically recommend her services.

  9. Would not recommend

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Cynthia Buhr.

    • Unorganized
    o We ended up using the opposing attorney’s documentation, which put me at a huge disadvantage, because they were more prepared.
    o I had to answer the same question multiple times. It’s definitely good to get confirmation, especially regarding legal documentation; however, I was asked for information that I had previously answered in the multiple page questionnaire which I spent hours completing. It led me to believe that this questionnaire wasn’t used at all.
    o Along these lines, instead of using the information I provided to put together a proposal that would be customized to my needs, she used a template from prior cases which didn’t address my concerns.
    • Difficult to talk to
    o She is really hard to talk to. Most of the time I felt as though I was inconveniencing her and that she really didn’t care about my situation. Once I realized this I would have loved to switch attorney’s but unfortunately at that point realized it was too late to do so. She was also argumentative with me at times when I raised concerns about some of the decisions.
    o In addition, throughout the case it felt as though she just wanted to close the case as quickly as possible and hence probably made recommendations that weren’t in my best interest.
    • Unresponsive
    o There were multiple occasions where I had to wait weeks for Cynthia to deliver on her commitments. I had to send her multiple reminders and felt as though I was prioritized to the bottom. Consequently, everything ended up being rushed towards the end and I was forced to make decisions I was not happy with.
    • Inexperienced
    o We ended up going with all of the other attorney’s recommendations. Looking back I don’t think this was a good idea and had Cynthia been experienced with their recommendations would have advised against them. She in fact told me after the fact that she didn’t have experience with some of their suggestions.

    1. Cynthia F Buhr

      Cynthia F Buhr

      Lawyer Comment:

      While I strive to please all clients, I recognize that may not always be possible, and I am disappointed to read here about this anonymous client's experience. I make it a priority to advocate zealously for all clients, and I work very hard to be clear and well prepared in all matters, as well as communicating promptly with clients. This particular feedback is surprising as I have not received it from any other client, nor from this client directly. I am open and willing to address concerns voiced during representation. In this case, they were not raised, and I welcome this client to contact me further so I can learn more as I remain dedicated to improving my representation and client experience.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Excellent Estate Planning!

    Posted by Sara, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Buhr.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Cynthia provided fast, friendly, and excellent assistance to us for our estate planning. I am so happy to have the peace of mind knowing that our status as partners is official now! I highly recommend Cynthia.