Susan Millican O'Brian’s Reviews

Susan Millican O'Brian

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Law Firm - Highly recommend!!

    Posted by Jerri, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan O'Brian.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I cannot say enough good about this law firm.
    I hired the law firm of Susan Millican O'Brian in August 2011 for a Third Party Custody Case of my grandsons after my son was stabbed. Susan will tell you in the beginning what your options are and will allow you to make the decisions based on this information and she explained what the outcome(s) could be.
    Although the case was pretty simple in the beginning, it became a high profile, difficult case due to other parties filing a custody case against me and THEIR attorney kept dragging it out. But Susan and her staff were able to push back on the other party and in the end, we did prevail and won the case hands down.
    Susan and her attorneys were very driven to stay with it and they guided me all along the way with the progress and what would happen during each step of the way. They communicated with me and we worked together as a great team. The entire office was involved in my case and all had a personalble desire to see it to the end.
    I would very highly recommend this law firm of Susan Millican O'Brian any day and feel that she was very professional and has been willing to work with me all the way.

    1. Susan Millican O'Brian

      Susan O'Brian

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am very grateful for Jerri's kind comments. It should be noted, however, that Jerri's primary attorney was Araceli Amaya, an Associate Attorney in my office who did an excellent job on behalf of Jerri. The entire office was 100% behind Jerri and her position, and we were thrilled with the outcome. Ms. Amaya did an amazing job, as Jerri has well-stated.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  2. Family law review

    Posted by Kim, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Susan O'Brian.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This firm was recommended to me by a good friend who practices family law. Everyone at the Redmond Town Center office was kind, professional, helpful, and accessible. I was constantly asking questions and looking for followup and I was never made to feel like I was bothersome or not a priority.

  3. winning for THEM at any cost !

    Posted by Laura, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Susan O'Brian.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I told this firm that I was low income, was seeing a court facilitator and needed to validate what was the proper course of action. They said I was not pursuing the correct action, said they they could do the correct action for me after paying them a retainer. They "bulldozed" ahead even researching and billing me for another unrelated case that I was already handling for free through DSHS in an attempt to "win additional monies from my ex for their personal attorney fees" (their words not mine). They tried to get their case heard at my expense and both the commissiner and judge dismissed it telling them they were not pursuing the correct action. They should have been filing the very action that I walked into their office with from the court facilitator. I was told they would do that but only for an additional $10,000. I had already paid them $14900.00 which was more than my entire income from the year before. They never listened to what I said or hired them for, withdrew from my case without finishing, and within a 30 day deadline of when the correct case had to be filed.

    1. Susan Millican O'Brian

      Susan O'Brian

      Lawyer Comment:

      I did not represent this client although I worked on her case. The client did not tell us she was low income and signed a Legal Services Agreement and paid her retainer and bills on time, apparently with funds from other resources. We requested an award of attorney's fees on her behalf, which would have offset and reimbursed her for some of the fees she had paid us. We correctly filed the case; this client has now used our own work in a case she filed; she misrepresented the situation to our office and tried to withhold information from the Court. Although she owed the firm money, we offered to reduce our fees and further assist her, but she declined, so we had no choice but to withdraw.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  4. Falsification of court data

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Susan O'Brian.

    If you want a firm that only cares about winning a case (and not truth or facts)...this is the team!

    They will do whatever it takes to win a case and facts and truth are not important. You can tell them any lie, and they will go with it without any hesitation...in fact they will help embellish it!

    Every stereotype you can think of with regard to "Lawyer" rings loud and clear with this group. Remember...it isn't about justice, it is only about winning!

    1. Susan Millican O'Brian

      Susan O'Brian

      Lawyer Comment:

      Although I previously added a response to the above comment, apparently that response was deleted by Avvo. As I said previously, this firm is very ethical, and abides by all the professional rules. We are officers of the court and take our role very seriously. We would NEVER lie or intentionally misrepresent anything to the Court. This comment sounds like it was submitted by an unhappy opposing party rather than a client.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  5. Excellent Firm

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Susan O'Brian.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This office treated me extremely well throughout my case. I had a very difficult and emotionally charged divorce and their team was with me and my children every step of the way. I always felt that I had a strong advocate on my side. If you have children, I especially recommend this office.
    The only thing other thing I would have to say that they are more knowledgeable of the processes in King County than they are with the ones in Snohomish. They were able to stay on top of things in Snohomish but they were clearly more comfortable working within the King County court system.

    As to their billing practices mentioned by others, they are a service you are paying for and, as with any professional, they don’t work for free. When you sign up you agree to pay for what you get but you definitely get what you pay for. At the end of my case, things ended very tragically and I had already spent close to $50,000 on lawyers (not just them) in a period of a few months. Knowing my situation, they “no charged” much of the work to close out my file.

    The biggest “plus” with this firm, for me anyway, is that they are all very caring and personable. They take each case on as if they are fighting it for themselves. They honestly care about their clients, you won’t feel like you’re just their next paycheck!

    1. Susan Millican O'Brian

      Susan O'Brian

      Lawyer Comment:

      I did not personally represent this client, but did assist the Associate Attorney who did.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  6. Ms. Carlson

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan O'Brian.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I just finished my family law case with Wolfgang Anderson of Seattle. After spending a year and $30,000 with Susan O'Brian's firm, my case, in her firms own words, "was prejudiced", as they had to make a "request for continuance" due to the case's terrible mismanagement for nearly a year while they collected funds for work that was never done. I had been working with one of her attorneys that I was told was under Susan's direct advice and discretion. It was pretty obvious when I met with Susan just before I left the firm, that wasn't the case. Even after leaving her firm I was still continued to be billed. In my opinion, she should repay the $30,000 I gave her law firm since I had to pay another attorney to complete my case and reverse the damages done by her firm. Three of the five attorneys she had working for her at the time all suddenly walked out. It's no longer my business however, simply put- I would not recommend Susan O'Brian's firm to anyone. I will say though, her office staff was excellent warm and caring.

    1. Susan Millican O'Brian

      Susan O'Brian

      Lawyer Comment:

      I never represented Ms. [name removed], yet she posts this comment against me, and not against the attorney who represented her, Kristilyn Reese, a former Associate Attorney who is no longer with my firm. I met with Ms. [name removed] on two occasions after Ms. Reese left this firm. Ms. Reese handled all aspects of her case, and assured me that the case was on track. After Ms. Reese left, Ms. [name removed] hired another Associate Attorney in our firm who filed a Motion for Trial Continuance in order to allow further discovery to be completed before trial. The use of the word “prejudiced” was taken out of context. Our Associate Attorney at this firm wrote that Ms. [name removed] would be prejudiced if a trial continuance was not granted, as more discovery needed to take place - but the trial continuance was granted, and, thus, no harm to Ms. [name removed]. Her issue is not with the work that had been done on her case; her issue is with the work that had yet to be done on her case. We were fully aware of what we needed to do to be ready for trial in September. Ms. [name removed] was not starting all over again; Mr. Anderson was starting from the same point we would have started - - with discovery, with depositions, and with a settlement conference and possible trial. Ms. [name removed] chose to change counsel. Ms. [name removed] had no complaints with Ms. Reese’s work product all the way through her abrupt departure from this firm on April 30, 2010. In fact, Ms. [name removed] had originally agreed to move with Ms. Reese to her new firm, so she obviously had no concerns about her representation. Upon the recommendation of her financial expert, she then opted to remain with our firm. Ms. [name removed] alleges that we collected funds for work never performed, which is not true. She received a bill every two weeks and Ms. Reese billed her for time spent on her case. If Ms. [name removed] has a complaint, it should be directed towards the attorney who represented her, but she has purposefully maligned my name instead because she still feels friendly towards her former attorney. We were on board to complete her case, with plenty of time as a result of the trial continuance, yet, Ms. [name removed] utilized our services for that continuance and after achieving a positive result, she left our firm and suddenly hired another attorney. The bills sent to her were for fees incurred in securing the trial continuance, which our firm “wrote off”. There were no damages done by our firm. Ms. Reese performed a service for many months, and was paid for that service. I appreciate her comment that my office staff is excellent, warm, and caring. So am I, as detailed below in many other comments posted herein.

      Posted over 4 years ago. Flag

    2. Susan Millican O'Brian

      Susan O'Brian

      Lawyer Comment:

      I did not represent this person, but an attorney who is no longer with my firm did so. She only billed for work she performed. There were no damages done to her case as a result of the representation, but more time was needed before trial to fully develop it. As for the attorneys that left, they formed a partnership and are no longer all together. They left because they did not want to work to the degree I feel is necessary in order to represent clients well. They have been replaced by hard-working, caring attorneys who know how to do a great job.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Supportive Law Firm

    Posted by Joshua, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan O'Brian.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My experience with Susan Millican O'Brian and her firm has shown me that there are lawyers who care about the clients. Susan did not represent me in court but did lend assistance and support when needed. One specific time was when my attorny Kristilyn Reese had to be out of town. The opposing party tried to slip in some exhibits last minute knowing my lawyer was out of town. Susan contacted me from her hom after hours to make sure I was made aware of what was going on and also made sure I knew what it all meant. Susan and her firm have stood me and my family through out my custody hearing. Their support has been extremely reassuring in this unbearable sistuation. I Thank Susan and all those with in her firm help and support.

    1. Susan Millican O'Brian

      Susan O'Brian

      Lawyer Comment:

      I did not represent this client but assisted the Associate Attorney who did.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

    2. Susan Millican O'Brian

      Susan O'Brian

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for the nice comments, Josh!

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  8. Would not recomment

    Posted by Ms. Ma, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan O'Brian.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was a client of Susan Millican O'brian almost 6 years ago and I totally agree with Michele and another client's reviews. I was billed by outrageous fees with details of the charges which were unrealistic like fax, photocopies, stamps, etc..... ( I am talking about grand).
    I had to call to get the update of the status of my divorce. My court dates were changed and rescheduled many times due to Susan's personal affairs as per Susan's explanations, shortage of staff, (one lawyer and one paralegal at that time, then Rachel, who left shortly, then Billie joined...) I had the same bad experience as one client at the mediator's office in Seattle. I was billed for a total of 11 hours for the arbitration while the arbitration lasted for less than 8 hours. I was shocked when I learned that I was billed from the time when Susan left her house until she got home at the Eastside. She offered me a ride to the Eastgate park and ride . If i would have know that ride cost me $275.00, I would say: No thanks. A cab is still cheaper than her ride. It's ripped off and unethical.
    The outcome of my divorce would be different if she were more professional and ethical and I had fired her to get a better lawyer.
    I would definetely not recommend this lawyer.

    1. Susan Millican O'Brian

      Susan O'Brian

      Lawyer Comment:

      It is difficult to respond to accusations from a client who only identifies themselves as “D” and submits a comment 6 years after the fact. According to the Legal Services Agreements that we sign with our clients, they know up front and agree to the fact that they will be billed photocopy, fax and postage costs - - just like any other law office. Each of our machines is coded to each client so that there are no errors on the charges. If this person had raised this issue with me over 6 years ago, I would have explained it to them and pointed out the terms of the Contract they signed with our firm. If this is the person I am thinking it is, then the continuances were necessitated by the other party/counsel, not by my office changes (as I moved from one business location to another). As for allegedly billing 11 hours on an 8 hour mediation, the client has forgotten that the travel time to and from court and to and from a mediation is billable time, and this factor is also spelled out in the Contract we sign with clients. Travel time is included because it is directly related to the representation of that client, and the time is set aside to focus only on that client’s case. As for meeting my client at a park-n-ride, I would have done this in order to save the client from having to pay additional parking fees in downtown Seattle, and it would have given us a chance to discuss their case, both before and after the mediation. It was done as a courtesy for that client. In addition, this person neglects to mention that my Associate Attorney at that time, Billie Grissom, attended the full-day mediation at “no charge” so they had the benefit of two counsel’s opinions at no extra cost. This person’s complaint stretches from my billing for travel time and incidental costs to their having had a different outcome with a different lawyer - quite a leap in logic - and an unnecessary and untruthful statement.

      Posted over 4 years ago. Flag

    2. Susan Millican O'Brian

      Susan O'Brian

      Lawyer Comment:

      I did represent this client. Her Legal Services Agreement (that she signed) provides that she will pay for photocopies and other costs (as most firms do). The Agreement also provides that the client pays for travel time since we cannot be working on other cases while traveling to and from court and other events. However, there is no correlation between charging for photocopies and travel time and the outcome of a divorce. She had a very good outcome. And charging for costs pursuant to an Agreement signed by a client has nothing to do with one's professional or ethical demeanor. If you read the other comments submitted by people I represented, you will see that they rated me highly on my ethics and professionalism.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  9. Dedicated and Hardworking!

    Posted by Nikki, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan O'Brian.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I came to the Law Offices of Susan Millican O’Brian and Associates, P.S. with an extremely difficult parenting action that needed some major changes. I knew going into this process that the odds were against me, although, I had confidence that if anyone could succeed and persuade a Commissioner/Judge to listen to my position, it would be this team. They are very thorough in their research and they whole heartedly believe in what they do. Because I have a disabling disease, I was limited on how much foot work I was able to do. Therefore, I needed to hire someone I trusted 100% to take my case and the facts I presented them and trust that they would be able to research it thoroughly and pull together a winning argument. The result of their hard work was very favorable for my daughter and I. When I explained to my daughter what the changes in our life would be – the look on her face was priceless, her whole face lit up and she was grinning from ear to ear. In fact, her school counselor even commented on how confident she is with this change. I recently hired them to work on an adjustment of child support for me and one of their attorneys, Jeff M. Gregory, was able to get me over 4 times the amount of child support I had been receiving for 7 years. I am so thankful to this team and the changes they were able to make for my life and my family. Everyone associated with this office has always gone above and beyond what I expected. If I had a question there was always someone who knew about my case and was able to get the answer I needed. They treated me with respect and were honest from day one exceeded my all my expectations. I would highly recommend Susan's office to everyone.

  10. Professional Team, Handles with Care

    Posted by Christina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan O'Brian.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am so grateful to Susan and her team. They handled my divorce case very professionally. They handled me, during such an emotional time, with care and respect. Everything was explained to me thoroughly- including my bill. If I ever had a question or a concern, the office was a phone call away, and promptly answered my questions. I found Susan very ethical- a huge difference from some of the lawyers I have used in the past, and those a few of my colleagues have used for their divorces. Let me say this: If you are going through a divorce, and especially if you are a woman, do yourself a favor and get a good lawyer with an experienced team. You will not regret it- even if it costs you a bit more. I look back at my divorce, and I realize what a fragile state I was in- it was a relief to trust my lawyer- to know my case was being handled effectively. I wholeheartedly recommend Susan Millican O'Brian's office.