Matthew Curran Knauss’s Reviews

Matthew Curran Knauss

Average Rating

Based on 42 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Could NOT have been more satisfied with outcone of my cases.

    Posted by Taylor, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew < 1 month ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My attorney Matthew Knauss was not only hired very last minute but he represented me on 3 different cases in 3 different counties. In each case there was a possibly of jail time but Mr. Knauss was not only able to keep me out of jail in all 3 counties but was able to also get one of my cases completely dismissed. In the future if anything ever happens (which it won't) I will definitely hire Mr. Knauss. I very highly recommend him.

    1. Matthew Curran Knauss

      Matthew Knauss

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for the review! I'm always happy to help.

      Posted 9 days ago. Flag

  2. Excellent

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    During a very dark and scary time for me, Matt was incredibly responsive, informative, and helpful throughout the entire DUI process. After each meeting with Matt, I felt better and more "in the know" on the situation, whether there was a court date or not. His ability to study and acknowledge the situation helped me end up with the best possible sentence and solution to my case.

  3. Knauss

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Matt was thorough and patient listening and paying attention to my needs. The information and advice i was served were accurate and forthcoming. The integrity, knowledge, and professionalism that i relied on are truly appreciated.

  4. knowledgeable, friendly, trustworthy

    Posted by caryn, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It was so reassuring to have Mr Knauss representing me. He provided much needed guidance through what I found to be a somewhat confusing trial process. I am certain that if I did not have him advocating for me, I would have ended up with stiffer fines,etc. The office did a great job of calling to remind me of court dates, etc and were always very friendly and happy to answer any question I had.

  5. Outstanding Outcome

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Matt Knauss was very helpful and answered all my questions in a very timely manner. I was arrested for suspicion of DUI arrest in Kirkland. I contacted Matts law firm of Cowan Kirk Gaston and Wolff the next morning and even though it was Saturday they returned my call and set up an appointment to meet Monday for a free hour of consultation. Matt was very knowledgeable and explained everything to me in terms I understood, also he did not sugar coat anything or make promises he couldn't keep, but he did promise to fight for me. I retained his services immediately. He laid out the process and recommended that I attend the Alcohol and Drug Training Class and get an alcohol assessment performed quickly so we would have all these in place as the case progressed. Throughout the process he answered questions and kept me informed. Due to his knowledge of the Kirkland criminal system and is familiarity with the Kirkland prosecutors as well as their respect for him he was able to get my charge reduced to a Negligent Driving 1st degree and in just two months the best I could have hoped for. I was happy to have hired him and am glad I can now move forward from this.

  6. 10/10

    Posted by Luke, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Excellent lawyer. I had a DUI case that I hired Matt for. Despite being a case not very much in my favor, Matt gave it everything and even had the judge on the edge of his seat as to what the verdict would be. At the end of the it all, I didn't win the case, but it was very close. Matt's performance in court is stellar and he's also very helpful and informative. in and outside of trial. Wouldn't hesitate to contact again for legal work or recommend to friends .

  7. Always a great experience

    Posted by Nora, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Matt has always been very prompt and professional. He has gotten several of my tickets dismissed with no issues. I would definitely hire for any future matters.

  8. Thanks Matt!

    Posted by JC, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A little more than a year ago, my life changed when I made the decision of getting behind the wheel of my car after having a few drinks. In a flash, my life was turn upside down when I got pulled over and later charged with DUI. I had never been in trouble with the law. I was scared, confused, and angry at myself. I did not know what was going to happen. Was I going to lose my job? Was I going to spend time in jail? Would I be able to drive again? I did know one thing, I needed help, I needed a lawyer.
    I began asking around, searching the internet, making phone calls. I knew that I need to find someone that I could work with, trust, and overall could help me navigate the court system. I met with 5 different lawyer and while they all explain the possible consequences in a very uniform way, Matt was the only one who was straight forward, very clear, and above all very professional. I felt very comfortable with him.
    I decided to hire Matt and I am so glad I did. Once he took my case, I was able to breath. I knew that I had made the right decision and he quickly conformed it. He kept me informed and was with me every step of the way. He fought for me in court and was able to reach a deal with the prosecutor. For those reasons, I highly recommend Matt as a lawyer. He is extremely knowledgeable and has worked on both sides of a case (first as a prosecutor and now as a defender).
    Today, more than a year later, my life is back to normal and looking back I am so thankful to Matt and all what he did for me.

  9. Legal Representation

    Posted by Megan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.

    I highly recommend Matthew Curran Knauss to anyone needing legal advice. Matthew was very helpful in answering all of my questions reguarding and assisting me in sealing my record. He followed up with me in a timely and fashonable manner, and was very precise in what and how we would be moving forward. Matthew is definately an excellent choice for representation!

  10. My Stealth Attorney

    Posted by Joan, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    There are thousands of defense attorneys out there, many familiar names and faces from their advertising campaigns. I don't want flash, arrogance or ego. I want the job done. That is why I chose Matt Knauss. He is my "Stealth Attorney": unobtrusive, but on target for even the most minor
    traffic infractions. I was treated respectfully and my case with importance. Cautious, reserved, but determined and skilled. Matt got the job done and has earned my respect and that of the legal community. I respect him as an attorney and a man.