Matthew Curran Knauss’s Reviews

Matthew Curran Knauss

Average Rating

Based on 35 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thanks Matt!

    Posted by JC, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A little more than a year ago, my life changed when I made the decision of getting behind the wheel of my car after having a few drinks. In a flash, my life was turn upside down when I got pulled over and later charged with DUI. I had never been in trouble with the law. I was scared, confused, and angry at myself. I did not know what was going to happen. Was I going to lose my job? Was I going to spend time in jail? Would I be able to drive again? I did know one thing, I needed help, I needed a lawyer.
    I began asking around, searching the internet, making phone calls. I knew that I need to find someone that I could work with, trust, and overall could help me navigate the court system. I met with 5 different lawyer and while they all explain the possible consequences in a very uniform way, Matt was the only one who was straight forward, very clear, and above all very professional. I felt very comfortable with him.
    I decided to hire Matt and I am so glad I did. Once he took my case, I was able to breath. I knew that I had made the right decision and he quickly conformed it. He kept me informed and was with me every step of the way. He fought for me in court and was able to reach a deal with the prosecutor. For those reasons, I highly recommend Matt as a lawyer. He is extremely knowledgeable and has worked on both sides of a case (first as a prosecutor and now as a defender).
    Today, more than a year later, my life is back to normal and looking back I am so thankful to Matt and all what he did for me.

  2. Legal Representation

    Posted by Megan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.

    I highly recommend Matthew Curran Knauss to anyone needing legal advice. Matthew was very helpful in answering all of my questions reguarding and assisting me in sealing my record. He followed up with me in a timely and fashonable manner, and was very precise in what and how we would be moving forward. Matthew is definately an excellent choice for representation!

  3. My Stealth Attorney

    Posted by Joan, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    There are thousands of defense attorneys out there, many familiar names and faces from their advertising campaigns. I don't want flash, arrogance or ego. I want the job done. That is why I chose Matt Knauss. He is my "Stealth Attorney": unobtrusive, but on target for even the most minor
    traffic infractions. I was treated respectfully and my case with importance. Cautious, reserved, but determined and skilled. Matt got the job done and has earned my respect and that of the legal community. I respect him as an attorney and a man.

  4. Respectful and courteous

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I worked with Matt while acting as power of attorney for my father, who had been in a car accident and charged with a DUI. Matt did everything I could have hoped throughout the process: He answered my questions, kept me informed, and made sure I understood how he planned to proceed and that I was comfortable with it. He was always available by email or to schedule a phone call. The thing I appreciated most was how Matt dealt with my father. My dad suffered a brain injury during the accident that left him greatly impaired in some areas and highly functional in others. This can be quite challenging to navigate, but Matt always treated him with the upmost respect. Matt was genuinely concerned about the emotional cost the process could have on my dad. He took care to answer my dad’s questions and to walk him through the process to help ease his anxiety.

    The whole process is something I hope to never experience again, but I am grateful Matt was there to help.

  5. My 5th DUI

    Posted by Barry, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After I got my 5th DUI I was referred to Mr. Knauss. He was nothing short of phenomenal. I did exactly as he said even though I might not have wanted to spend the money it cost to do so. For example the DOL hearing, but he explained why it was important and I think ended up being instrumental in getting the verdict that I did. Matt always kept me up to date on what was going on including calling the day before a court date to make sure I knew. All in all I was very impressed, he seemed to know the prosecutor and how she operated and got me in front of a judge that he thought would give me the best chance at my verdict. I ended up getting the minimum on my 5th DUI even though it had been 10 years they could've given me a year and probably would of had I not come across Matt. He poked holes in their case and had I not had so many priors I could have beat it or at the very least gotten it reduced. I chose the safe way with one day in jail, 6 months treatment and a fine. Hire him, he's good, I highly recommend him.

  6. Matt Knauss successfully defended me against DUI charges

    Posted by Dan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was pulled over by a sheriff's deputy and charged with DUI. Matt Knauss successfully defended me in the civil department of licensing (DoL) case and helped me to avoid prosecution in the criminal case. When I got pulled over I was facing the suspension of my drivers license, large fines, and potentially even time in jail. With Matt's help, my civil case was thrown out by the DoL judge and the criminal case was never even filed. Thanks, Matt!

  7. Outstanding Service and results

    Posted by Kris, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Matt did an outstanding job of working my case. I was being charged in Washington State and I live in South Carolina. You can only imagine the difficulties dealing with something 3,000 miles away with a 3 hour time difference. Matt and his staff did an outstanding job of keeping me informed and in many instances they were able to allow me to stay in South Carolina and not have to attend some of the numerous court dates.

    I would not hesitate to use Matt again though I don't intend to get myself into this type of situation in the future.

  8. You want Matt on your side

    Posted by Sarah, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I don't have enough words to express my gratitude towards Matt. Like many, after a bad night with a poor decision I felt frantic and scared trying to find some good out of my awful situation and I found Matt Knauss. I had a situation where I did everything wrong and felt very hopeless in my situation. From the night of my incident to the last court date it lasted over a year but it was worth it. If you are looking for a lawyer that has every tool that you can imagine Matt has it. He is part of a team that wrote the book on DUI, a very helpful staff when i ever had a concern or question I felt comfortable calling in, and he has some tricks up his sleeve. I was completely satisfied and every penny was worth hiring Matt and his team. It was a long road but Matt and I stuck it out and came out in a better situation than I ever imagined it turning out to be. If you need a DUI lawyer please don't look any further. Matt, Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  9. Above and Beyond!

    Posted by A., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I can honestly say that going through the DUI litigation process was the scariest and most depressing part of my life. I had never before been in trouble like this and didn't know where to turn for help. My mind raced through all of the possible outcomes. Thankfully I was given the recommendation to sit down and meet with the Cowan Kirk Gaston team to discuss my options. Following this free consultation I decided to choose Matt Knauss to represent me going forward. This was the best decisions I could have made! Matt gave me his personal cell phone number and told me to call/text him day or night if I had any questions. Matt was with right there with me every step of the way keeping me informed about what was going on and working tirelessly to find any holes in the state's argument. He even gave me a ride home after a few of the court hearings! It was obvious to me that Matt really cared about the outcome of my case and always had my best interests in mind. Even to this day, many months after the conclusion of my case, I can go to Matt with a quick question and he will have a prompt response. I may have made one of the biggest mistakes of my life, but having Matt Knauss on my team allowed me to get through it as easily and quickly as possible. There is no better lawyer in Seattle you can have on your side than Matt!

  10. If your looking for an awesome attorney who will walk through your situation with you, look no further!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Knauss.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    When looking for a firm to find representation, I went to the Cowan Kirk Gaston law firm based on a referral from a friend who used them and was very happy. This was my first situation ( and the last ) in which i needed such representation and I want to assure any potential clients of Matthew Knauss that you will be well taken care of! Matt made my situation so much easier, less intimidating, and less scary. He has upstanding work ethic, is honest, very knowledgeable of the law and extremely patient! He is very well versed and smart when it comes to the law and was more than willing, and encouraged me to explore every avenue we possibly could. I was always emailing and calling with more ideas and more questions and he was happy to answer/respond to every one. He never rushed me along or made me feel as though i needed to finish things as quickly as possible, but instead encouraged me to take all the time I needed for us to sort through this entire scenario from every angle, so that I could end things feeling settled about the outcome. He has a very patient and more relaxed demeanor which was very pleasant to work with. All in all, he made a very hard, stressful, frustrating and intimidating situation feel doable. Even his assistant was a huge help when needed and also very pleasant. I would highly recommend you seek out Matt if you are ever in need of representation. You will not regret it!

Let's talk about how I can help.

425-465-1486