James Eric Gaston’s Reviews

James Eric Gaston

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Read this post; it may save you an enormous amount of grief...and jail time

    Posted by Chase,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.

    Unfortunately, in 2012 I was irresponsibly driving after drinking alcohol and got in a moderately serious accident with another vehicle- and I was at fault. After being taken to the Hospital the Police took blood and I was released. I immediately began searching for attorneys and likely called 20 and met 10, all referrals from other attorneys or legal friends- Eric was one. Since I had not been charged I simply waited, as I didn't now what we would be dealing with. 13 months later, yes 13, I received a letter charging me with Vehicular Assault, a felony. Sadly, a person in the other car I was in the accident with broke her finger, triggering the felony; and my BAC was high. Having a prior Reckless Driving charge x years earlier that was alcohol related (failed a field sobriety test, no BAC test, reduced from DUI), I was looking at 6-9 months in jail minimum and a felony conviction. As a corporate executive who also travels internationally- this would have ended my career. Even if this was reduced a DUI was going to cause me serious consequences. So I was in a very emotionally distraught state- and Eric was always able to talk be down off the ledge.

    I decided to hire Eric after meeting he and his partners; he is compassionate, smart, works very hard, knows the law, knows the system, knows the courts, knows prosecutors, knows judges, and most importantly- trust me on this- he focuses on the legal agreement and supporting that first rather than trying to negotiate or plea and pray.

    We did not go to trial for another year and two months; and in the mean time Eric was always available to talk, meet, respond to emails and texts-- and trust me I had some very bad days during this two year period. His commitment is supreme- to you, the law, and the defense.

    Now, on the legal side Eric was masterful in getting evidence suppressed due to the fact that my constitutional rights were violated, using a supreme court ruling-- this is VERY difficult in a blood draw and was very high drama. His legal skill and preparation was exceptional, and this allowed us to get the felony reduced to a DUI in a plea. We pondered going to trial on the felony-- but the plea outweighed the felony conviction as Eric negotiated a solid outcome. He advised and assisted me, along with his staff, on all of actions one must deal with in a DUI-- assessments, licensing, treatment, classes, court hearings and locations, paperwork, fines, the works. This should be a very important part of your thought process.

    I have subsequently been in a program of recovery that puts me in contact with hundreds who have dealt with DUIs-- and a common topic are attorneys and the legal issues. Most thought using their wallets instead of the recommendations of professionals; and most received more consequences than I for far less serious situations. Nothing is guaranteed in legal cases; but do not think with your wallet-- and I can guarantee Eric will put you on the best footing possible for your defense, be there for you, and be solid as a rock-- he is "good people".

  2. Excellent DUI attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Almost a year ago I got pulled over for driving under the influence in downtown Seattle. I did a lot of research on attorney's specializing in this area of law, narrowed down the field to 5 and met with each in turn. Every single attorney I interviewed informed me that DUIs in Seattle over the past 1-2 years have become increasingly more difficult to beat. There have been some very nasty, high profile DUI related accidents recently.

    I decided to have Eric represent me and I'm very glad that I did. Eric is knowledgeable, well spoken and kept me informed throughout the lengthy process. He is extremely effective in court and was able to answer all my questions. Ultimately, my charges were reduced to reckless driving with minimum sentencing.

    I have no hesitation in recommending Eric.

  3. Knowledgeable - supportive - very professional -Immediately made me feel comfortable

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    DUI case of about 4 months ago. Eric calls me back asking numerous questions and I immediately felt better about my situation by listening to his thoughts. Many times encouraging me that I am going to be fine. Any problems come up and he will take care of the issue. What was very cool was that I did indeed end up with issue. Just as Eric had initially stated to me. He worked to address the specifics and the out come (one where I was worried about) ended as Eric had thought it would.

  4. Highly recommend Eric and his firm!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We recently utilized Eric to represent us. He delivered on everything he promised and went the extra mile to ensure a successful outcome. I would use no one else but Eric in this situation. This business is all about relationships and Eric is excellent at building strong, lasting relationships.

  5. Eric Gaston, an expert in his field

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Gaston helped me through a very difficult time in my life. In a no win situation where I could only minimize my losses Mr. Gaston worked out a solution that was acceptable to all and allowed me to move on with my life. His knowledge of the court and the law combined with his professionalism and personality put me at ease knowing I was represented by the best.

  6. Excellent work by Mr. Gaston

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested for DUI for not using my turn signal and later found out the police were on a DUI emphasis patrol. I found Eric Gaston's firm online and contacted them the next day. When we met, Eric put my mind at ease by giving me hope there may be ways to get the sentence reduced and also gave me clear expectations on the best and worst case scenarios.

    He combed through the police report and my testimony, finding minor details that allowed him to file four motions to the prosecution. He advised me to be proactive in seeking alcohol evaluation and classes. This will ultimately lead to a reduced sentence of negligent driving.

    Also, during this process, he was very responsive to my contacts and questions.

    I would definitely recommend Mr. Eric Gaston if you find yourself in the same awful situation I was in.

  7. Incredibly detailed, very professional and a hard working representative

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I had the unfortunate circumstance of being arrested for a DUI in an area very well known for aggressive prosecution, and right in the middle of a complicated immigration case as well that it would significantly impact. Mr. Gaston did an absolutely *outstanding* job. I was amazed at the level and depth of his dedication and detail into representing me. He left no stone unturned in researching every possible facet of my case, from the basics of DUI law, right through to laws affecting immigrants and also any medical implications. His depth of knowledge and generosity with his time were also outstanding.

    Quite possibly without Mr. Gaston's extremely hard work, talented representation and his dedication, my life would quite possibly have taken a very different turn, very unpleasant turn but thanks to Mr. Gaston's exceptional work we arrived at a favorable settlement with the prosecution.

    Many attorney's have a reputation for charging excessively with their time, but certainly not the case with Mr. Gaston, even months after the case is closed he has been able to assist with further questions and when I needed more information. I would highly recommend Mr. Gaston, and despite whatever outcome I would say any individual has the best possible chance with him defending them.

  8. did not break the law and eric won

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Eric Gaston is a straight shooter, he took my case turned over every stone, got it dropped . kept me involved on new issues and did not lay down to the courts. i will only use him in future if i need legal help

  9. So helpful and efficient! Thanks Eric!

    Posted by Megan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Eric Gaston and his entire firm made me feel so comfortable dealing with a difficult situation. I am so thankful for his help getting my life back to normal! Anyone who is dealing with the mess of a DUI needs to talk with Eric and his staff. He knew all the right things to do and was so great in helping minimize court dates and fines, etc. I hope I never have to deal with this type of situation again but if I do I will be calling Eric. Thanks so much!

  10. Job well done

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.

    Mr. Gaston did a tremendous job for me. He was very clear about the possible outcomes of my case. He never made me promises that he couldn't keep. In the end, he got me the best possible outcome on the court and DOL case.