James Eric Gaston’s Reviews

James Eric Gaston

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent DUI attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Almost a year ago I got pulled over for driving under the influence in downtown Seattle. I did a lot of research on attorney's specializing in this area of law, narrowed down the field to 5 and met with each in turn. Every single attorney I interviewed informed me that DUIs in Seattle over the past 1-2 years have become increasingly more difficult to beat. There have been some very nasty, high profile DUI related accidents recently.

    I decided to have Eric represent me and I'm very glad that I did. Eric is knowledgeable, well spoken and kept me informed throughout the lengthy process. He is extremely effective in court and was able to answer all my questions. Ultimately, my charges were reduced to reckless driving with minimum sentencing.

    I have no hesitation in recommending Eric.

  2. Knowledgeable - supportive - very professional -Immediately made me feel comfortable

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    DUI case of about 4 months ago. Eric calls me back asking numerous questions and I immediately felt better about my situation by listening to his thoughts. Many times encouraging me that I am going to be fine. Any problems come up and he will take care of the issue. What was very cool was that I did indeed end up with issue. Just as Eric had initially stated to me. He worked to address the specifics and the out come (one where I was worried about) ended as Eric had thought it would.

  3. Highly recommend Eric and his firm!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We recently utilized Eric to represent us. He delivered on everything he promised and went the extra mile to ensure a successful outcome. I would use no one else but Eric in this situation. This business is all about relationships and Eric is excellent at building strong, lasting relationships.

  4. Eric Gaston, an expert in his field

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Gaston helped me through a very difficult time in my life. In a no win situation where I could only minimize my losses Mr. Gaston worked out a solution that was acceptable to all and allowed me to move on with my life. His knowledge of the court and the law combined with his professionalism and personality put me at ease knowing I was represented by the best.

  5. Excellent work by Mr. Gaston

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested for DUI for not using my turn signal and later found out the police were on a DUI emphasis patrol. I found Eric Gaston's firm online and contacted them the next day. When we met, Eric put my mind at ease by giving me hope there may be ways to get the sentence reduced and also gave me clear expectations on the best and worst case scenarios.

    He combed through the police report and my testimony, finding minor details that allowed him to file four motions to the prosecution. He advised me to be proactive in seeking alcohol evaluation and classes. This will ultimately lead to a reduced sentence of negligent driving.

    Also, during this process, he was very responsive to my contacts and questions.

    I would definitely recommend Mr. Eric Gaston if you find yourself in the same awful situation I was in.

  6. Incredibly detailed, very professional and a hard working representative

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I had the unfortunate circumstance of being arrested for a DUI in an area very well known for aggressive prosecution, and right in the middle of a complicated immigration case as well that it would significantly impact. Mr. Gaston did an absolutely *outstanding* job. I was amazed at the level and depth of his dedication and detail into representing me. He left no stone unturned in researching every possible facet of my case, from the basics of DUI law, right through to laws affecting immigrants and also any medical implications. His depth of knowledge and generosity with his time were also outstanding.

    Quite possibly without Mr. Gaston's extremely hard work, talented representation and his dedication, my life would quite possibly have taken a very different turn, very unpleasant turn but thanks to Mr. Gaston's exceptional work we arrived at a favorable settlement with the prosecution.

    Many attorney's have a reputation for charging excessively with their time, but certainly not the case with Mr. Gaston, even months after the case is closed he has been able to assist with further questions and when I needed more information. I would highly recommend Mr. Gaston, and despite whatever outcome I would say any individual has the best possible chance with him defending them.

  7. did not break the law and eric won

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Eric Gaston is a straight shooter, he took my case turned over every stone, got it dropped . kept me involved on new issues and did not lay down to the courts. i will only use him in future if i need legal help

  8. So helpful and efficient! Thanks Eric!

    Posted by Megan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Eric Gaston and his entire firm made me feel so comfortable dealing with a difficult situation. I am so thankful for his help getting my life back to normal! Anyone who is dealing with the mess of a DUI needs to talk with Eric and his staff. He knew all the right things to do and was so great in helping minimize court dates and fines, etc. I hope I never have to deal with this type of situation again but if I do I will be calling Eric. Thanks so much!

  9. Job well done

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.

    Mr. Gaston did a tremendous job for me. He was very clear about the possible outcomes of my case. He never made me promises that he couldn't keep. In the end, he got me the best possible outcome on the court and DOL case.

  10. Eric Gaston is the best at making some positive out of a bad situation

    Posted by Rich, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gaston.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Unfortunatelly, I have had multiple occasions to hire a lawyer. In the past, the experience was very stressful and left me with a bad feeling. Eric and the staff at Cowan Douglas Gaston law firm were completely different. Eric provided me with outstanding service through out the entire process. He was able to make the best out of a very bad and difficult situation. I felt that he always had my best interest in mind and treated me as such. I would highly recommend Eric to anybody that wants someone to fight for them.