David George Kontos’s Reviews

David George Kontos

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I could have done better on my own

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Kontos.

    Terrible experience. Hired him for a child support case and all I think he did was file the paperwork and show up to court. He didnt inform us of the documents we needed to submit until it was too late. I had to email him to make sure he was actually working on the case. I wish I would have saved our money and represented myself. Biggest waste of money.

  2. Susana Divorce case

    Posted by Susana, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kontos.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    Since Mr.Kontos took my case, my ex husband backed down from all his unreasonable demands. Mr.Kontos was able to deescalate a very volatile situation and keep the other party under control. He protected me, he was reasonable and realistic in his approach, very pragmatic yet compassionate. I always heard from him right away and his advise was ample and detailed. He made sure I understood my options and listened to my priorities. I am very grateful for his help and would recommend him to anyone needing a Family Law attorney.

  3. INCOMPETENT

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Kontos.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    RUN! Do not ever hire this attorney. He signs away your rights. He is ok with domestic violence, I had all the evidence in the world and he NEVER submitted it. Now I lost custody of my son do to his ignorance, high priced fees. This attorney quadruple charged me for one court hearing, he charged me for sitting down and chatting with my ex & his attorney. He never looked at anything I sent him. My ex had supervised visitation due to substance abuse and domestic violence. My ex injured my son & now he has custody of my son! DO NOT HIRE THIS INCOMPETENT ATTORNEY. RUN!!

  4. Careless and unreliable

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Kontos.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Careless, unreliable, incompetent. Missed deadlines, did not advice me on how to be proactive, just sat and took blows from the opposing side, would not return phone calls, things had to be done the last minute, because of this I was portrayed as careless one in the case. Had to change lawyers and the new one was totally blown away how badly things spun out of control under his care. Nevertheless he got paid for his incompetency and I will be paying the opposing party for many years to come. Sad.

  5. David Kontos-- "A Good Egg"

    Posted by Mags, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend David Kontos.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This was my Ex-husband's second attorney in a high conflict divorce, and the level of tension went down dramatically once he finally hired Mr. Kontos. During negotiations, things that came back from Mr. Kontos, were geared toward creating resolution, instead of inflaming the conflict. My attorney spoke highly of Mr. Kontos throughout the process, and we always heard back in a timely fashion.
    Even though the case still went to trial, I always felt that Mr. Kontos treated everyone, including me, with respect, though out the process. I was so grateful for what he brought to the situation to resolution, that when it was over, and my attorney said it was Ok, I wrote him a thank you letter.
    Mr. Kontos has a good reputation in the community, and I have heard other people say good things about him. I have also recommended him to other people since my divorce. The person I knew who hired him was quite satisfied too.

  6. DO NOT HIRE

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Kontos.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would never recommend this attorney to anyone, He handled my family law case and just really dropped the ball, and then him and John Curry, tricked me into settling on my case so they could come after me for all the charges. Then when when I'd had enough and fired him, he gave me 30 days to pay the balance on my account, that I'd always paid. Then sent it into collections and is now charging outrageous interest on. Him and John Curry are nothing but legal scam artists. It was bad enough I had a situation pop up that I had no control over but they took full advantage of the situation.

  7. the best lawyer ever

    Posted by Matt, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Kontos.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    he took over for another lawyer that was awful! he did a great job kept me informed on everything, was very personable and did a wonderful job. he was in control of the case from the first minute. made me feel comfortable which i was not before. thank you david.

  8. Do not use for a criminal case

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Kontos.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    he helped the state prove there case more then he defended me!
    then he over charged me!

  9. Do not hire

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Kontos.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Knotos to represent me in a child custody case. Mr. Kontos did a horrible job of keeping me informed with ongoing communications from the opposing counsel. He signed away rights and made decisions without consulting with me first. Mr. Kontos failed to show at court appearances and then lied to my face about the court dates. I would not recomend this man a counsel for anyone. He should have his license revoked permanetly .