Jennifer C. Rydberg’s Reviews

Jennifer C. Rydberg

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. One hour with Jennifer Rydberg

    Posted by Stephanie, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-6 months ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jennifer is one of the most insulting business people I've ever dealt with and I would not recommend her to anybody. My father recently passed away and we discovered we would have to put one of his retirement accounts through probate due to a paperwork error and I submitted an inquiry through her website to see if we had any recourse. She contacted me immediately and said I needed to talk to a probate attorney right away so I scheduled an appointment with her. I went in and reviewed everything with her and she proceeded to tell me my father was cheap for not hiring an estate attorney and I was the same for trying to do the probate myself; there was nothing we could do about the account but we needed somebody to step in and finish the probate. She made comments about his small estate and if the account in question had another zero after it she might go after the bank for malpractice. She's condescending on top of being insulting! I was so blind-sided I walked out of her office thinking I was stupid and I needed to hire somebody right away but realized soon after I would never give her another penny of our hard-earned money. She needs to learn a thing or two about respect because there are plenty of attorneys out there and that's not the way to attract new clients.

  2. Jenny Rydberg Review

    Posted by Theo, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jenny provided legal counsel to me regarding my separation, divorce , will, power of attorney, and revocable trust. She did an excellent job keeping me focused on issues that mattered in the divorce and helped me make good decisions despite the emotionally charged situation. She recommended a number of conditions in the settlement that have since proven to be very helpful in maintaining a calm, positive, and orderly relationship with my ex and children. Now, years later, I am benefitting from her foresight regarding my future financial obligations that I would not have considered.

    I would strongly recommend Jenny to anyone needing effective and forward thinking legal counsel in their family matters.

  3. Jennifer helped me when my husband passed away

    Posted by Nancy, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.

    Jennifer made the process easier than I thought it would be with all the paperwork to be filed when my husband passed away last year. She walked me through the steps and gave me advice as I updated my will.

  4. Professional but personable

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Estate Planning matter.

    I needed to have a new will drawn up and got Jennifer's name/phone number from one of her clients. Jennifer took the time to understand some special situations and provide me with good counsel on how to proceed with my will. My will and other documents were drawn up quickly and I was very pleased with the service.

  5. Handling Our Family Trust

    Posted by Brent, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Estate Planning matter.

    In 2000 we had an attorney draw up a living family trust for us which was done fine. In 2012 we needed to amend the trust and file a quit claim deed on our Seattle area home and our condo in California, moving them into the trust. Our attorney was totally unresponsive to our needs, so after nearly a year without any action we made the decision for find another attorney. We selected Jennifer Rydberg solely because she specialized in estate planning. We were a little nervous because her hourly rate was higher than we were used to paying, but when we met in her office our concern quickly melted away. Jennifer was warm and personable. She quickly reviewed our trust and our reasons for needing to make changes. She also easily handled the quit claim deed for our Washington house and she had a professional arrangement with an attorney in California that she used to handle the California condo quit claim deed.
    It was obvious to us that Jennifer was highly knowledgeable in all aspects of living trusts. We had several more contacts with her via email and phone. She was always cordial, had an immediate answer for any questions we had, and never acted as though she was in a hurry or that our call was an inconvenience for her.
    In the end, we got everything we needed and wanted and even more. As an example, she put each section of our trust on a PDF document so our entire trust is now computerized for future use. We are very pleased with our relationship with Jennifer and the work she did for us. We will retain her for any future legal matters. We have already recommended her to two of our friends who are considering drawing up a trust or other estate planning.
    Brent & Luanne

  6. Caring Attorney

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.

    We have known Jenny for many years due her being involved with the community. She was outstanding in helping us update our wills and trusts for our estate. I have utilized her knowledge in other matters. She has the experience to get the job done in a timely manner.

  7. Lawyer with a heart

    Posted by Dan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    • I hired Jennifer 6-12 months ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jenny is a Lawyer with a heart! she will fight hard for you and keep you on task and focused during your difficult and emotional time so that you can achieve a favorable outcome. She will handle all obstacles thrown at her with a VERY tenacious yet professional attitude. She is very precise in her approach. I am so happy that I hired her and you will be too!

  8. Cannot think out of her tiny little box

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My sister hired Ms. Rydberg out of state for me as my domestic partner of 8 years died intestate very suddenly. After meeting Jenny for the first time I was not impressed but as my sister had already paid her fee and I was in a deep state of grief and shock, I acquiesced against my better judgement. Jenny was incompetent, made decisions in court without ever discussing them with me, was late filing extremely critical paperwork and was condescending. She practices a very narrow field of law and often spent my billable time consulting other attorneys regarding procedure, mumbling to herself, and charging 400 an hour to copy paperwork that a secretary or paralegal could have done if she had one.

    Of course at first, she had my sister convinced it was an open and shut case, that I filled all of the legal criteria for a DP etc. When I finally reached enough emotional stability to recognize and question some of her procedures and mistakes she decided we did "not have a working relationship unless I or my sister were to come up with an additional 5,ooo.oo" Really? We would be fine friends under those conditions? My case would become firm again?

    She basically destroyed any chance I had to protect my partners belongings, our home, my chance to receive life insurance through her sheer incompetence and gladhanding of her lawyer friend whom she decided without my permission to have appointed as an "Estate Representative". This ER called me and asked me to find out what the legalities were, how soon would he be paid, and did absolutely nothing useful. The courts finally decided he had been paid enough through my beloveds estate and put the nix on his greed. This was an emotionally charged case and I was and remain in total shock and grief over the loss of my love. Jenny was cold, clinical, and may I say again, incompetent? She should be investigated.

    I cannot recommend her. The two prior reviews do not ring true and I consider them suspect. She could not answer the simplest "out of her area of law " questions I had and would refer me to other attorneys both in and out of state knowing full well there was no money for that. Law school is a generalized area of study, any lawyer should be able to answer simple questions , especially Jenny as she spent an inordinate amount of time scouring the internet for answers to the case at hand. A very poor attorney with no ability to think ouside of her tiny little box. Get an assistant Ms. Rydberg and stop charging your clients hundreds of dollars an hour to copy papers. Unethical at best, greedy and sloppy at worst.

    I remain broken hearted, in debt, still in a legal nightmare and truly disgusted by Rydberg and her ilk. I do not feel my comments are hostile or insulting: they are the facts as to her abilities (or rather her inabilities), her demeanor, her making decisions without consulting me, and where my case stands now. A disaster.

  9. Thank you, grateful you were my attorney

    Posted by SR, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jennifer represented me from 2000-2001 for my parenting plan and child support case. It was an extremely emotional time for me. There were complicated medical issues revolving around the care of my son. The father of my son was a pro at maneuvering around the legal system, avoiding, and eluding his obligations and visitation while having the funds to finance his games. I had very little funds and a special needs 2 year old that was greatly effected by the turmoil between us.. Jennifer was calm and reasonable, diligent and handled the father of my son and his attorney with superior technique and strategy.
    It was not unusual that I would be heightened emotionally. Most likely I was a difficult client given I was so emotional. Once I was having a panic attack while talking over the phone to Jennifer. While I was panicking she was the voice of reason for me. I don’t know what I would have done without her.
    Ten years later, I am thanking Jennifer for her strength, legal knowledge, integrity, and professional character. I would highly recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    Thank you Jennifer…… SR

  10. It is with great enthusiasm that I submit my unqualified endorsement of Jennifer C. Rydberg.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Rydberg.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Ms. Rydberg handled a very delicate legal issue for me which involved the estate of my son, his children and setting up the appropriate court procedures. She was so effective, that my work and anxiety about this process was essentially handled with a substantial reduction in both my time and financial resources. My grandchildren and other son found her to be a great resource. Her background in family law was a clear plus. These abilities coupled with a large dose of good common sense, caring, native ability, and superb organization blended very well with her skill as an attorney. I can recommend her without any hesitation.