Vernon A. Smith’s Reviews

Vernon A. Smith

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thorough and professional handling and a positive outcome. A superb advocate I'd recommend without hesitation

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vernon Smith.
    • I hired Vernon 1-3 years ago.
    • Vernon handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Vern represented me on a DUI case which was dismissed as a result of his thorough and detailed handling. I would recommend Vern, without hesitation, to anyone in a similar situation.

    He took great pains to prepare me and my case. Immediately, he had me write down what happened, in detail. This was vital for both of us.

    Then he explained the procedures we'd go through, and the possible and likely outcomes. He had me proactively take the drug assessment and attend the one-day counselling and training, obtain a copy of my driving record, and prepare to get the driving interlock in place for the administrative suspension.

    Vern warned me that, despite a relatively low BAC (.099), that the state was pursuing DUI convictions aggressively. Although a plea was likely, it was by no means guaranteed. In the event, the prosecutor did not offer a plea and Vern presented motions for dismissal.

    The motions process was (to me) where Vern really shone. He prepared me ethically and well. At no time did he suggest I share anything but the facts, but he did tell me to be clear and straightforward. He had minutely examined the arrest report and -- during the motions hearing -- very painstakingly questioned me and the arresting officer. He raised a number of objections to the state's case (some detailed items on the stop, the Field Sobriety test and the BAC test process; some more obscure points regarding the law) and in the end, the judge upheld these objections and dismissed the case.

    At all times, Vern kept me informed. If anything, he kept my expectations low and the result was both a surprise and a relief. I cannot recommend him more highly.

  2. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vernon Smith.
    • I hired Vernon 6-12 months ago.
    • Vernon handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Vern was great. I had one prior DUI (had a PD at the time) and I couldn't afford another. He never pressured me to take a deal and he took the time to explain the pros and cons of each offer. After months of negotiations, the DUI charge was reduced. I highly recommend Vern Smith. He was patient, compassionate and understanding AND always answered my questions promptly!

  3. Great, professional Attorney!

    Posted by Stephen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vernon Smith.
    • I hired Vernon 6-12 months ago.
    • Vernon handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired Vern after receiving my dui and he handled every step of the process in an expert and professional manner! He was always very kind, showed up to court early and sent me a reminder, and was always over prepared. Vern got my case completely dismissed. It was obvious that he was well respected by prosecutors, fellow lawyers, and judges. I highly recommend his services!

  4. Had the misfortune of forgetting my firearm in my bag before boarding a plane! Vern Smith took care of it brilliantly!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vernon Smith.
    • I hired Vernon 1-3 years ago.
    • Vernon handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was a first year UW student, heading from Seattle to Hawaii for some much needed sun. I had recently brought my pistol up (properly and legally) from Florida to Seattle. In a hurry to catch my flight, I had forgot to take the handgun out of my bag (it was still in it's FAA approved safe/carrier). I went through security with a Glock 9mm in my carry on! Can you get any more dense than that?
    Of course, it took all of 30 seconds before police started racing to the security point and before they could ask me a question I realized what was happening.
    After missing my flight, the port police had clearly wanted to question me. I answered a few basic questions before letting them know I wasn't a criminal and that I was uncomfortable speaking without an attorney. I received charges 2 weeks later in the mail. Vern Smith came HIGHLY recommended so I setup an appointment. He agreed to take the case, and after watching him walk into the courtroom, I knew I had a well respected attorney. He knew EVERYONE, and EVERYONE had absolute respect for Vern. Most impressive was how much the judge seemed to respect Vern. It was alsmost as though MR. Smith was His Honor. After 30 minutes in the courtroom, I walked out with the charges dismissed. I had to agree to a minor amount of community service for my stupidity, but a clean record was the result!
    You will not find an attorney that is more highly regarded, and capable! If Vern Smith says he will take your case, it's because he is confident that he can help you! He will not take your money if he doesn't feel he can make a difference! Don't get me wrong, if he takes your money, it won't be the lowest cut rate around! You will pay a premium that's well worth it!

  5. Vigilant, Very Respected Whithin the Legal Community, Extremely Knowledgable!

    Posted by Janet,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vernon Smith.

    I found myself in the unfortunate position of having 2 outstanding DUI warrants dating back to 1998 and 1999. I had used Vern in the past as counsel and went right to him after my arrest in April of 2013 for these very old charges. Vern is so knowledgeable, competent, and was vigilant in his defense of me and always made me feel confident that we would get a favorable outcome in my case. In the end, he was able to get both charges reduced and the judgement was quite minimal considering I was facing some serious jail time along with other very costly requirement that go along with DUI. Vern fought hard for me and was able to get a very reasonable deal considering the Prosecutor wanted to throw the book at me and did not want to deal at all! I would recommend Vern 1000% for anyone facing these difficult circumstances, and know that he will work extremely hard for you, is always accessible, and will always keep you informed every step of the way. I was also very impressed with the respect shown to him by the other attorneys, prosecutors and Judges and the rapport that Vern has developed within the legal community is to be admired! Just know, when choosing a DUI attorney, Vern Smith IS THE BEST!

  6. Greatest and Best in the Northwest

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vernon Smith.
    • I hired Vernon 1-3 years ago.
    • Vernon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Like any ordinary human being, people make mistakes. So often they are made twice. That's exactly what happened to me. I had a prior DUI in which I was on a probationary period. I was pulled over and got a 0.81! My previous lawyer had gotten my first charge down to Reckless, however this second charge was WAY more serious. Vern was extremely professional, and set the facts straight. I had the toughest Judge in Lynwood. Vern was very communicative and thorough in his work, and promptly on time to every hearing.

    Because of Vern I was able to get it down to a stipulation of continuance of 24 months, down to a Neg 2! A traffic ticket! Without Vern, I would be in some serious trouble. This man has all the right connections in the Northwest and just by his presence in the court you can see the prosecutors, judges and fellow lawyers respect him. I highly recomend his services

  7. Vern Smith is the best DUI attorney in the Seattle area

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vernon Smith.
    • I hired Vernon 1-3 years ago.
    • Vernon handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have used Vern on 3 DUI cases and 2 were dismissed and 1 was negotiated down to a negligent driving. In 2 cases during the motion part of the hearings he proved succesfully that the Police had no right to pull me over and sighted Supreme Court cases. Vern is very intelligent, professional and hard working. He also explained all of my options thouroughly and is an excellent communicator and does follow up. He likes to play hardball with the prosecutors and will not give in to accepting a plea bargain deal unless he feels it is in your best interest. More importantly he knows most of the prosecutors and judges and they respect him and his abilities and they know they have their hands full when they come up against him. I do not anticipate using Vern again as I cannot drink and drive as it is to risky. But if I were you I would look no further and go visit with Vern as you will not be sorry that you did. Plus his fees are reasonable and more than competitive.

  8. I don't believe you can hire a better DUI lawyer in Washington

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Vernon Smith.
    • I hired Vernon more than 3 years ago.
    • Vernon handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Vern Smith has the experience and expertise I was looking for to defend me on my second DUI charge in a decade.

    The previously DUI lawyer I hired sold me on his ability in the interview but the moment he got my check he began trying to convince me to take a plea deal. This was not the case with Mr. Smith.

    I did a significant amount of research before I came to the decision to hire Vern Smith as I wanted a lawyer that was going to work hard on my case all the way through trial.

    Long story short; Due to Mr. Smith's experience the D.O.L. licensing case was Dismissed. The result of the Motions hearing due to Vern's extensive knowledge was that we won 4 of 6 motions. And finally in the end Vern stood by me for nearly 6 hours as the jury deliberated before retuning a verdict of NOT GUILTY.

    All through the 7 month process I could tell that Vern was very well respected by the other defense Lawyers in the court rooms, was respected by and well liked by the Judges we dealt with, and was definitely respected by, (and my have been intimidating to), the prosecutors who doubled up to take on Vern.

    I hope to never have the need again but for anyone else I recommend Vern 1000%

  9. Unsurpassed DUI Defense!

    Posted by Todd, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vernon Smith.
    • I hired Vernon more than 3 years ago.
    • Vernon handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Contacting Vernon A. Smith was one of the best decisions that I’ve ever made. He was very responsive and kept me well informed, while minimizing the amount of time I had to spend dealing with the issue in and out of court. Vern’s ability to minimize the disruption to my life was absolutely fantastic, and greatly appreciated by me, since I have a ridiculously busy life.
    The legal process, my options and the possible likely outcomes of those options were clearly explained to me, and updated as the case progressed. Vern’s dedication and expertise were absolutely vital. I had a rather complicated case and Vern knew exactly how to deal with it. He expertly assessed and responded to the situation every step of the way. He is very professional, and has excellent technical knowledge which he applies and explains with great skill.
    Vern’s abilities in the courtroom were amazing to watch; he knew exactly what to say, as well as when and how to say it. Thanks to him the charges against me were dismissed, and I will never forget the skill with which he was able to dismantle the prosecution’s case. I’m sure that everybody else in court that day was wishing that Vern was there to defend them. And I know that I am one of many people who are quite thankful to Vern for getting the best results possible. His knowledge of DUI law is astounding, and I doubt that you will be able to find anyone with more knowledge in that particular area. Furthermore, his abilities to minimize his clients stress and fight for them in the courtroom are unsurpassed in my experience. So if you find yourself in need of legal services I would absolutely recommend that you call Vern right away. If you are facing serious consequences you really shouldn't risk it with anyone else!

  10. Vernon A. Smith, is without a doubt, the most accomplished lawyer I have had the privilege to work with.

    Posted by Erin, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vernon Smith.
    • I hired Vernon more than 3 years ago.
    • Vernon handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When it became clear, at the 25th hour, that my client was going to need representation far beyond the scope of the public defenders office, I called Vernon A. Smith as was recommended to me by another colleague.
    Both he and I were unsure as to whether the court would allow a change in representation at such a late date. Vernon agreed to take the case, contingent upon whether the court allowed him to step in. Vern immediately started making the necessary calls, making his presence known both to the public defenders office, and the prosecutors. The following week, we all went to court. Vern not only had himself made Primary Council, but brought with him new information on my clients case, that had been overlooked in the initial preliminary motions. This information, made it mandatory for the court to lower one of the charges, to a lesser charge, and in the end find my client Not Guilty on all other charges.
    Mr. Smith is Schooled in all there is to know about DUI/DWI legal-ease. More importantly however, is his ability to read people and situations. It is this gift, which makes him truly extraordinary at his profession.
    To say that Vern is a Master of his Craft, would be a vast understatement. I whole heartedly recommend Vernon A. Smith to all in need of the best.

Time is critical - make the call! I have the experience and the expertise!

425-457-7474