Stephen Wesley Hayne’s Reviews

Stephen Wesley Hayne

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Fantastic DUI Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hayne.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Hayne was an incredible attorney. Not only was he very profficient in his field of practice but also he was very helpful, supportive and made sure that I was comfortable with how things were proceeding. Not all lawyers have that skill. His staff was also very responsive and helpful.

  2. Great experience working with Steve with an optimal outcome

    Posted by Dave, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hayne.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Steve Hayne exceeded my expectations on every level. After contacting and meeting with Steve, I was immediately put at ease with a very difficult situation I was facing. Steve’s expertise and domain proved itself world class very early in the process and consistently throughout the ordeal. Steve is not only of the highest caliber as an attorney but also, as importantly as a person. His integrity and trustworthiness made what should have been a very painful experience, one that was manageable, with a bright light at the end of the tunnel. I walked away from my experience with a great deal of respect for Steve.

  3. Highly recommended

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hayne.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen's knowledge of law really came into play to obtain a negligent driving plea for me instead of the DWI. Fantastic responsiveness.

  4. Amazing Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hayne.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I researched attorneys and found Stephen who had all the right background for my case. What I found most helpful was his ability to calm me down from my utter horror at getting a DUI charge; as well as his knowledge and many years of experience and connections, which resulted with a complete dismissal of my charge. He is the best at what he does and was worth every penny.

  5. Outstanding lawyer- Gets the job done with a high degree of professionalism and competence!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hayne.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We can't say enough about Steve Hayne and the way he resolved our son's college MIP issue. He is extremely competent, persistent, and thorough. His "get the job done" attitude resulted in a complete dismissal. We found Steve to be very accessible, responsive to our inquiries and questions, and always graciously accommodating. He was also very supportive to our son, and turned a bad experience into a learning experience. We highly recommend Steve Hayne, and will be eternally grateful for all his efforts on our behalf.

  6. Best choice I've ever made

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hayne.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I was first arrested for DUI, I went and spoke with about five or so of the top lawyers in the Seattle, WA area. What made me choose Stephen was he made me feel hopeful about the outcome of the case as well as comfortable in that he would take the stress off of my shoulders and make the process as easy as possible. His credentials are there with the other top lawyers, and he has years and years of experience. He stood out above the rest because he simply sounded passionate about representing me. He told me the things the officer did which he didn't agree with, and told me he would push to have my conviction lowered to reckless driving at the least, or negligent driving in the first degree at best (which is what I ended up being convicted for in the end). Along with that, he was very fairly priced. I knew going into DUI arrest that I didn't want to find a cheap lawyer, but didn't want to spend too much on the attorney knowing I would have fees and other payments waiting for me in the future.

    As I said earlier, my particular charge was dropped to negligent driving in the first degree. He was able to get my breath test thrown out, which was something I never thought possible. I ended up with no SR22 insurance and no license suspension, which is also more than I ever thought possible when I was first arrested. He made it clear that every case is different and every judge and prosecutor may disagree with things that work in other cases, but still told me he felt comfortable representing me and was extremely hopeful that my charge would be lowered from a DUI. He as well as everyone in his office, from his associates to his secretary, were all extremely responsive, calm, and knowledgeable with everything that I was going through and took a huge amount of stress off of my shoulders.

    Overall, the price was fair, the response was quick, he is passionate about defending cases, and the overall outcome was better than I had ever imagined. When first getting arrested for DUI, things seem pretty hopeless, but Stephen helped me keep my head on straight and made me feel comfortable throughout my case. Not going with a cheap, inexperienced lawyer was the best decision I have ever made, and I have absolutely no negative words to say about my decision to go with Stephen Hayne.

  7. Stephen Hayne: Quality Legal Representation

    Posted by Todd, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hayne.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    To those of you that have reached this web site searching for the best DUI defense for yourself or loved one look no further!

    Following a family member's early Saturday morning arrest for DUI with the mandatory court appearance the following Monday, we began searching the Internet for local representation. We do not reside in the Seattle area and the task was intimidating. Fortunately our search led us to this website where we reviewed Mr. Hayne's biography and posted reviews. We also found several published papers which he had submitted at another source. Confident that we had found the legal representation we desired, an e-mail was sent to his office on Sunday detailing the circumstances; Mr. Hayne responded by telephone early Monday morning where he scheduled an office interview several hours later. We were impressed with his professionalism, legal expertise and sincerity. Because of schedule conflicts he could not appear at the arraignment, however sent his very capable assistant, Mr. Derek Dixon. Following the arraignment we met again in his office where he took considerable time advising as to what must be done to be in full compliance with the Court and what to expect as his defense moved forward.

    The dreaded driver’s license suspension letter came from The Department of Licensing several weeks later. Mr. Hayne filed the necessary papers and provided representation before the Hearing Officer.

    Throughout the lengthy court process Mr. Hayne maintained a close mentoring relationship, providing much needed personal and professional support. He responded immediately to e-mails and telephone calls which we found extremely important to allay anxieties brought on by the judicial process.

    Early on, Mr. Hayne detected a serious error in law enforcement arrest procedure which aided him in negotiating a lesser charge; His motions to the Court were well prepared and successful.

    Observing Mr. Hayne’s interaction with the Prosecuting Attorneys, Judge, and fellow attorneys at the court house it became quickly evident that he is both respected and liked by fellow members of the legal profession.

    We found Mr. Hayne’s office staff to be extremely competent, efficient and accommodating. Many thanks to Ms. Laurie Roffman for her fast responses and dedicated attitude.

    Mr. Hayne and his law firm has our deepest gratitude for getting us through a most difficult experience and salvaging a professional career!

  8. client

    Posted by Jon, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hayne.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Stephen guided us through the legal process with skill and determination. Brilliant defense, all charges were dropped. recommend highly

  9. Beat ALL expectations

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hayne.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Steve is an exceptional lawyer, supported by an equally impressive staff. He walked me through each step of the process and gave sound and practical advice at every turn. He always remembered the details of my case, so I never had to repeat myself. While in court, the other attorneys flocked to him in apparent admiration, but he never lost attention on the task at hand. To top it all off, the outcome of my case beat even my most optimistic of hopes. And he is a good guy too. I would gladly recommend Steve to anyone - you want him on your team and would regret any other decision.

  10. A great attorney and a great man!

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hayne.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Steve is a true intellect and is extremely articulate giving him an uncanny confidence in the courtroom. His education and experience helped the judge see our case from a whole different perspective. I truly felt like he cared about the outcome of my case and he was relentless in the pursuit of justice. When the judge agreed with Mr. Hayne's arguments and I walked out of the courtroom a free man, I once again had faith in the justice system but more so in my attorney. The emotions overtook me once outside and I had to give Steve a big hug, thanking him for all the support throughout the process as well as the final outcome. Steve is a great attorney and a great man!