Brook Andrew Goddard’s Reviews

Brook Andrew Goddard

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. An attorney who backs his words with action!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brook Goddard.
    • I hired Brook 1-3 years ago.
    • Brook handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Brook definitely fits the term "put your money where your mouth is!" When Brook says he will do something, he does it! As an attorney Brook is organized, informed, level headed, logical, strategic , honest and professional . On a personal level he is compassionate, diplomatic, reliable, and respectful to all parties involved. He also showed true care and concern for both me as a person and for my specific circumstances/case. Initially Brook tried to find a way to settle my case in a diplomatic and amicable way in the effort of trying to avoid dragging me through a long and expensive process, but once he was clear that the other party didn't share the same goal he quickly shifted gears onto getting prepared for trial. My case was a very unusual one so it took extensive research, documentation, preparation and teamwork to get prepared for trial, but we worked together as a team to gather all of the necessary documentation and supporting evidence and in the end it really paid off, we prevailed!

  2. Recommended without hesitation

    Posted by Howard, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brook Goddard.
    • I hired Brook 1-3 years ago.
    • Brook handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I ALWAYS refer people I know and care about to Brook Goddard. He handled my very high-stakes, complex, idiosyncratic marital dissolution in 2012. I was beyond pleased with the final result. Brook's father was also a divorce attorney in Washington State, which, to me, means Brook has literally attended a life-long Washington State Divorce Law IMMERSION COURSE. Despite this enormous selling point, Brook charges lower hourly rates than most of the other, less qualified attorneys. He has a very nice, presentable office in Bellevue, but it's not so lavish that you feel like you are paying for him to live an excessive lifestyle. I really appreciated this. As he is working your case, Brook is constantly on the lookout for ways to provide you with the best possible value. He does not encourage expensive, unnecessary back and forth between the law offices, for example, and he pushes really hard to settle in mediation vs a court battle. If Brook has an area where he could improve, it would be in the details/punctuality department. But, again, I do recommend him, without reservation and if I were going through another divorce, I would use Brook again, without question. He knows exactly what he is doing, will not take advantage of you, and will give you maximum value for your monetary expenditure.

  3. Professional, kind, and highly knowledgeable

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brook Goddard.
    • I hired Brook 1-6 months ago.
    • Brook handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a wonderful experience working with Brook Goddard. His high level of expertise put me at ease through every step of my case. I could count on him to return my phone calls and emails promptly, always able to answer any questions I had clearly, and articulately. In addition to being so likable in general, he is an outstanding attorney, and I would highly recommend him to any friend or family member, with complete confidence.

  4. Divorce/child custody/domestic violence

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Brook Goddard.
    • I hired Brook more than 3 years ago.
    • Brook handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    My divorce case involved a child and ex-husband with domestic violence. Brook at the time was not knowledgeable on domestic violence. My Ex's lawyer ate Brook up and spit him out and 7 years later I am still paying extremely high consequences for the in-consistencies in the Parenting Plan and child support documentation. As well, he was not knowledgeable when my ex took me back to court for moving. Did not know the process to negate the action and fumbled in court. Needless to say this was expensive, at my expense, emotionally and financially.

  5. Highly recommended

    Posted by Frank, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brook Goddard.
    • I hired Brook 1-3 years ago.
    • Brook handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I've had the occasion to work with a number of family law attorneys for various reasons, and Brook is the best I've encountered, on either side of the table. I highly recommend him.

  6. Family Law Attorney - Bellevue's Best

    Posted by Hillary, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brook Goddard.
    • I hired Brook more than 3 years ago.
    • Brook handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Brook Goddard was extremely helpful in assisting me with parenting plan modifications. He was responsive, professional, caring, and knowledgeable. He asked the right questions and put me at ease. There were several times when I needed responses right away, and he was able to make it happen. Sometimes I wasn't sure what my rights were and Brook took the time to explain my options. I was able to walk in his office or send him a email. He was very accessible. I also appreciated his efficiency. I am on a tight budget, and he respected that, so he would advise me on how I could use his services in the most economic way. I can not express how refreshing it was to walk into his office and feel like my children's best interest were a priority. Brook has a way of putting my ex at ease too, whereas in the past there would have been a lot more mud slinging. Brook asstisted me with responses that would defuse the situation and not enflame it. I will use Brook in the future, and would recommend him to anyone looking for a honest, ethical, professional, and caring attorney to represent them and the interests of their family. Going to court can be intimidating. Brook makes it easy.

  7. Amazing Lawyer!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brook Goddard.
    • I hired Brook more than 3 years ago.
    • Brook handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was so glad to have Brook working with me on my custody case. He was trustworthy, made me feel comfortable, and very respectful. Brook gave me 100%- didn't leave me waiting, listened patiently to all of my concerns, kept me very informed, and fought hard for me. He is extremely knowledgeable and helpful, and got my case settled in an efficient and timely manner.

    Because of Brook, I have nothing but positive things to say about a legal situation that could have been negative. He really worked hard to get to know me personally and make me feel welcome every time I walked into his firm. I would recommend him to anyone, and will definitely use him again should anything come up in the future.

  8. Strong and confident

    Posted by Ruth, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brook Goddard.
    • I hired Brook more than 3 years ago.
    • Brook handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am a stage 4 Lung cancer survivor. Brook helped me thur a very trying divorce in a time when I was doing cancer treatments.