John Stocks’s Reviews

John Stocks

Average Rating

Based on 47 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Satisfied Client!!

    Posted by Dawn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John Stocks is an excellent attorney. He recently handled my divorce after a 23 year marriage. I was very happy with the outcome. This was my second divorce and hands down he is the best! John continues to stay in contact with his clients, sending reminders to update your wills, beneficiaries, and provides information for resources in the community. I have referred John to several friends!

  2. Skilled attorney with lots of experience - Great people skills too.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great, down-to-earth guy. His experience and familiarity with the courts and those that staff them really helped me out. On one occasion in court, a regular family court commissioner made comments indicating that she held John in high esteem from her previous experiences hearing him. He's a busy guy - getting a non-emergency response may take a little persistence but I understand this is common - but gets the job done - never missed a single deadline in my long, high-conflict case. The couple of true emergency responses I needed were addressed immediately. He deposed my opposing parties with confidence and lots of skill - very adept at questioning - compassionate when needed, firm when needed. Overall, an honest, experienced, skilled attorney with great people skills, good work ethic, and sense of humor. Definitely would recommend.

  3. Relevant and accurate advice.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    John was very straight forward with me when I was going through my divorce. He gave realistic and valuable advice. I would recommend him without hesitation.

  4. Pick him!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John is one of a kind (in a good way)! He has been my attorney of choice for over four years. I have recommended him to friends who have in turned used his services as well. He has a quick mind and solid advice. Pick him!

  5. Top notch attorney and litigator

    Posted by Larry King, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    John represented us in a custody dispute and I found him to be very knowledgeable and articulate. He is very skilled at litigation. I was pleasantly surprised at the communication that took place before and during the trial, on weekends and well into the night.

    I would not hesitate to recommend John. I would temper your expectation however if you are dealing with the family courts in King County. I was very disappointed with the Entire King County system and felt like our attorney was fighting an uphill battle with do nothing commissioners and an inept Judge.

  6. John Stocks!!! This guy is awesome and a pretty darn good attourney too.

    Posted by Edwin, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I will always be grateful for the legal help I received from John Stocks. My child support case was probably one of the most difficult cases in Washington State, I kid you not. John spent countless hours studying the specifics of my case and all the factors involved as well. He was their for me during the most difficult time of my financial life along with my Loving Family and my Beautiful Lady Mary. I couldn't have made it without them. John always encouraged me to do the right thing and in doing so, my life has changed forever. Sometimes I wish I could hook up with him and just hangout in a cool sports bar and have a couple of good beers with him and have a great time talking sports, but I know John is a very busy guy as well as me too, so it would be tough to find the time. Thank You John Stocks for all that you did for me and my life!!

  7. Help during a difficult time.

    Posted by Dave, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John provided good, balanced advice during a very trying personal time for me of separation and eventually divorce. I felt he represented my best interests at all times and did not just go along with the status quo. John's help was provided at the most needed time of not having all my thoughts together.

  8. Grateful for this attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John handled my case, which dragged on for years (due to the other party) very well. I was always kept informed and well advised. His office was also willing to work out great payment arrangements for me, I'm very appreciative.

  9. I endorse this attorney

    Posted by Brenda S., a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John has always been incredibly helpful, attentive and professional while handling my case. He always makes himself available, and does a great job of reigning in my focus on things that are relevant in my case, and things I don't need to worry about. He is an attorney of great integrity, and I would recommend him, AND his awesome firm to anyone going through a family law matter.

  10. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Jim, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Out of all the lawyers that I have worked with John Stocks is the best one that I have found. He keeps you informed, keeps in contact with you and does what he says he will do. If you want a good lawyer call John Stocks.