John Stocks’s Reviews

John Stocks

Average Rating

Based on 37 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce/Separation & Custody

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired John to do a divorce and custody case. He was fine at first but his court presence and failure to submit my financials cost me dearly in court. I was quite unhappy with him so he passed me off to a junior attorney at the firm who cost just as much. John regularly speaks down to you and draws things out (sometimes literally) when you just want to get to the point. I am sure he is a nice guy, I would never recommend him to a friend who was looking for an attorney.

    1. John Stocks

      John Stocks

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have received favorable comments from Judges, other attorneys, and clients re: my court demeanor and performance. I over prepare because I don't want to miss something. I wish I knew who posted this comment so that I can try to make it right.

      Posted 16 days ago. Flag

  2. Hard-working and Knowledgeable!

    Posted by Linda, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    John Stocks is an extremely hard-working and knowledgeable attorney. Many times throughout my case he extended himself beyond his normal working hours to meet with me or to exchange e-mails, including evenings and weekends, to ensure our case was prepared and questions were answered. I researched several attorneys prior to hiring John, and found his rates were better than most, and the free parking at his office was a plus. He made very good use of the time we had, including "down time," at court or in mediation, and did not charge me for time that was not productive. Most importantly, he fought hard for my case, which resulted in a very positive outcome. I highly recommend John Stocks for anyone looking for a smart, aggressive, hard-working attorney.

  3. DO NOT HIRE THIS ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.

    I had John Stocks as my attorney about 18 months ago for a custody case involving my daughter. He was extremely over-priced and arrogant and charged me for time spent that I felt he didn't even utilize. I did not get the results I wanted or deserved and ended up with a less than satisfactory ruling through no fault of my own. I did not have additional money to hire another lawyer. I would not recommended this attorney to anyone.

    1. John Stocks

      John Stocks

      Lawyer Comment:

      I often don't charge for tasks I do, so the comment that I overcharged is regretful. I am supposed to be $300-350 per hour based on my experience and this area, but I also provide a discounted rate to most clients. If someone feels a bill is a problem, I am always open to review it. I wish this client, anonymous, would have approached me.

      Posted 16 days ago. Flag

  4. He is at the bottom of my prefered attorney list.

    Posted by Jim, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.

    I had the same bad experience with Mr Stocks - not responsive to my questions, double charged me and screwed up my case as result. I hired him when I read these positive reviews. But I was extremly dispointed at his work in my case. I think he spent more effort in marketing than in serving his clients. There is no way I would hire him again if I want some one to care about my case.

  5. My bad experience with Stocks

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I had a bad experience with Mr John Stocks when I hired him for my recent divorce case. Mr Stocks showed caring and interests only at the beginning. Then he failed to submit my declarations as response in time. When we went to hearing in court, he was apparently unprepared for what we are to argue about. I was ended up with unwanted court ruling result. Also, every time when we were waiting in court for call, Mr Stocks did not use the time to prepare for my hearing, instead, he used the time working on other cases. But he charges me for the whole time (4-5 hours). This usually is an extra charge of at least 2 or 3 hours each time in court. Also in his bills, he charged hours unjustified to his products and therefore remaining as mystery. Further more, I hardly ever got straight or full answer to my questions from him. Finally I decided to withdraw him from my case and informed him to stop working on my case. He ignored my instructions and continue to charge me and run out all my retainer fund. I was ended up with negative balance of $2700.

    1. John Stocks

      John Stocks

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client often asked to meet with me on weekends and evenings. I obliged because I cared. When I tried to submit a persuasive, appropriate pleading in court, this client wanted to add to it with 40-50+ pages. I had to quit the case and had to ask the court for permission. It was not a good match, but I wish this former client the best.

      Posted 16 days ago. Flag

  6. Simply the Best!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Stocks was my husbands attorney for a family law matter. I am extremely impressed with his professionalism on both sides as well as his knowledge. This is a man who takes his legal oath to heart...would not be surprised to see him as a judge some day.

  7. over priced

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    While in the beginning john did a fairly good job but I was told our cost of our case would be around 4000.00 so we went through with it as he was very convincing. I definitely should of went with someone else after he was payed he seemed to loose the will to win and sat back and did the bare minimum and failed to fix things that he and his paralegal messed up on including one of the main reasons we were going to court for wich was custody and they charged me to fix there own mistakes then wanted over 10, 000. Incase we went to trial needless to say I dropped him and went elsewhere for only a fraction of his cost and the new lawyer ended up fixing all his mistakes and we finally came out at the end with positive results.

  8. Trust that face! He is genuinely on top of your case and thrives to win for you.

    Posted by Nancy, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John Stocks came across as trustworthy and genuine the first time I met him. He was concerned for my well-being and passionate about getting what I needed and deserved. He will not let go of an important issue until he achieves it for his clients. I trust him and will use him for all of my legal issues.

  9. Reliable, Dependable, Compassionate

    Posted by AlisaMcKay,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have known Mr. Stocks for many years, and so when I had some legal questions felt that I could trust him with my issues. Stating I am pleased with his work would be an understatement. John has been the most consistent and dependable attorney I have ever worked with. He is easy to reach, listens and evaluates carefully and is compassionate. His staff is also extremely capable and easy to reach with followup concerns. I was impressed to learn of his "win" record, and also to learn of his involvement in his community as a volunteer. If he doesn't specialize in a specific area of law, he realily recommends other capable attorneys. I would not hesitate to highly recommend John Stocks for any legal needs you might have.

  10. Divorce settlement

    Posted by Mary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stocks.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Yes, I definately would recommend this attorney and in fact I already have! My daughter has hired him to handle her divorce since she too was impressed by how well he defended the rights and safety of her mother. To quote her, "I liked the way he stood up for you!" Now she is looking forward to the same good results and has confidence in his proven abilities.