Jordon Huppert’s Answers

Jordon Huppert

Eugene Criminal Defense Attorney.

Contributor Level 10
  1. Can I postpone Diversion program for my first DUI if it is for a job abroad?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Jordon Huppert
    2. Richard E Oberdorfer
    3. Kevin Coluccio
    4. Troy Austin Pickard
    4 lawyer answers

    It is unlikely but possible. The Diversion statute allows someone 30 days from the time of the incident to enter the diversion program unless good cause is shown. You should contact an attorney who practices DUII law in the county you were arrested in and ask him to consult with the DA about postponing your entry date (they can stipulate that a job offer in another country is good cause). Your other option is to be evaluated by the treatment agency, which must be done in Oregon, and then get...

    Selected as best answer

  2. Hello im Susan I would like to know how long a landlord has to send a list of damages to me after we have moved its been over

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Jordon Huppert
    2. Robert Lloyd Mauger Jr
    3. Marcel Gesmundo
    3 lawyer answers

    The law on security deposits is linked below. Your landlord (former landlord?) has 31 days from when you move out to either return your deposit or give you an accounting of how it was used. If they don't you can sue for twice amount of the deposit or twice the amount that was wrongfully withheld if you got some of it back. You might also be served in this case to consult with a local attorney. If you need help finding one the bar maintains a list of attorneys in different practice areas. They...

    Selected as best answer

  3. A legal search produces illegal substance in my room that's not mine-read on Please!

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Jay Bodzin
    2. Jordon Huppert
    3. Ian Jeffrey Slavin
    4. Troy Austin Pickard
    5. William A. Jones Jr.
    6. ···
    7 lawyer answers

    The only good option in your situation is to find a good criminal defense attorney as soon as you can. If you can't afford an attorney contact your local public defender's office to find out about the process of getting them appointed (this is usually done at your first court appearance). You should also remember that you have the right to remain silent and you should exercise that right. DO NOT talk to anyone else about your case, this includes posting details online. From the sound of your...

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  4. Criminal trespass in Oregon? No police report but was threatened with a fine.

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Jay Bodzin
    2. Daniel R Kruse
    3. Jordon Huppert
    4. Marcel Gesmundo
    5. Allison L Williams
    5 lawyer answers

    Sounds like the property manager has had some issues in the past. It's unlikely that anything will come of this. If he contacts the police and if the police decide it's worth their time to investigate they will come talk to you. If that happens there are two things you should do before you say anything other than hello to the police. First, ask if you are free to leave. If they say yes, then leave. If they say no then request to speak to an attorney and call an attorney before you discuss...

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. How long do the police have to do a search warrant before it becomes irrelevant?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Allison L Williams
    2. Jordon Huppert
    3. Troy Austin Pickard
    3 lawyer answers

    This is really a question that your acquaintance should speak with his lawyer about. Generally speaking, the police will investigate suspected crimes however they see fit and the fact that they haven't searched his house yet could mean everything to the case or it could mean nothing.

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  6. Is it legal in the state of Oregon to be giving 1 year jail suspended and 2 months jail time

    Answered 9 months ago.

    1. Robert Glenn Crow
    2. Richard E Oberdorfer
    3. Jordon Huppert
    3 lawyer answers

    I agree with what has been stated above. A judge should not give you more than a year in jail all total on a misdemeanor case (please note I do not say a Judge can not give more than a year). If this is your third or subsequent DUII it could be a felony in which case the judge's sentence would make sense. If you had a lawyer on your case I would pose this question to your lawyer. If you did not have a lawyer you should contact one in person right away and have them review the paperwork from...

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. Can my landlord legally do this.

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Kevin Elliott Parks
    2. Jordon Huppert
    3. Shawn B Alexander
    3 lawyer answers

    No, this sounds like a matter I would address with the police. A landlord can not take your stuff unless he follows proper procedure starting with an eviction. There is no reason I know of that a LL can open your mail (which I believe is a federal crime). You should contact law enforcement and file a report as soon as you can.

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  8. How do I get the Judge or DA to answer my questions relating to the nature and cause of an alleged criminal charge?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Jordon Huppert
    2. Jay Bodzin
    3. Troy Austin Pickard
    4. Peter R Tovey
    4 lawyer answers

    The short answer is you don't. The long answer is; if you're accused of a crime, never ever ever talk to a judge or a DA without your lawyer present. The only exception to this iron clad rule is if you are telling a judge that you would like a lawyer and can't afford to hire one on your own. It sounds like you need to find an attorney you can work with, who will help you understand what's going on, and hire them. If you need help finding a lawyer, consult the Oregon State Bar. Good luck

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. First dirty ua

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Jordon Huppert
    2. William A. Jones Jr.
    3. Frank Mascagni III
    3 lawyer answers

    If your PO or a prosecutor decides it's necessary they can file what's called an order to show cause why probation should not be revoked. They're more commonly known as PV's or parole violations. If this happens you'll be given a court date for arraignment. Go to that court date, I can't stress enough how important that is. At that date you'll be given the opportunity to request court appointed counsel, which you should do. You can then discuss all your options with your attorney. Good luck.

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. How does statue of limitation work?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Jordon Huppert
    2. Frank Mascagni III
    2 lawyer answers

    The statute of limitations is a time limit on the DA before they have to bring charges. A link to the Oregon Statutes is included below. The time is only a limit on the DA to bring charges. There are separate rules for how long a charge can linger in the system before it has to be resolved. Those rules are flexible at best and meaningless at worst. If you're charged with a crime the best thing you can do is talk to an attorney in private. That attorney can advise you of all your rights and...

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer