Howard W Collins’s Reviews

Howard W Collins

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Trustworthy and Professional

    Posted by Sara, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Collins.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    As an attorney, Howard Collins is simply a consummate professional. He knows the law and provided the direction to help me work through a difficult time. Howard very clearly described the path, process, and cost in our initial discussion. Howard’s assistant, Darlynn was always available to answer any and all questions. They both educated me through the entire process and this helped me remain calm and make thoughtful decisions. They welcomed me into a collaborative approach with full involvement and total transparency. I always felt like I knew all there was to know at any moment throughout the case. There were no surprises as we worked through the legal journey. More importantly, they both went beyond the standard legal aspects of my case. I truly felt that they represented me a person, not just a case. Their genuine support provided me with the ability to take a positive step forward and not dwell on the loss.
    Howard and Darlynn are competent and capable professionals and can readily help you with your legal challenges. Most importantly, they are also genuine and caring people that you can trust. Please seek out Howard and Darlynn to help you if you have a matter of law in their area of practice!

  2. Thank you Howard

    Posted by Conrad, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Collins.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently hired Howard. I have recommended him to friends he got me through my situation quick. He drastically lowered my sentence and fines.

  3. dan

    Posted by Daniel Brinlee, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Howard Collins.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    howard handled my case superbly.from the first day i met him he put my mind at ease and told me not too worry about this case. he saw no problem in winning this and clearing my name of wrong doing. i would highly recommend howard
    and use him again

  4. Family Law Services

    Posted by George, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Howard Collins.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A divorce attorney is needed during a difficult time. I felt Mr. Collins and his assistant were nice, understanding people. When I went to their office for discussions wether I had an appointment or not, they had time to accomodate my concerns and expressed sincere friendship. Mr. Collins impressed me with his abilities to allow me access to his telephone conversations with the other side, and his interactions with the Judge.

  5. Howard Collins, Highly Recommended!

    Posted by Amy, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Collins.
    • I hired Howard 1-6 months ago.
    • Howard handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It is without hesitation or pause that I write a positive review for Howard Collins, Attorney at Law. Howard was the reason I received a personal injury settlement. Without his legal assistance I would not have pursued nor received fair and deserved compensation. Howard’s knowledge, experience, and skills are apparent and his legal services are offered in a way that I found comforting and reassuring, when chaos and confusion could have reigned.

    I have and will continue to recommend Howard as a competent attorney to my family and friends. And while I hope I don’t need an attorney again, I will not hesitate to return to Howard for any future legal help I may require.

  6. Happy Client

    Posted by Mary Jo, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Collins.
    • Howard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Divorce is painful and the last thing you need is an attorney that adds to your pain by being apathetic or overly expensive. Happily, Howard Collins was neither. Howard, and his assistant Darlynn, were professional yet caring and understanding of the emotions that accompany divorce. I also found them both to be very accessible when I needed information or questions answered. I was told that every effort would be made to hold down costs and he followed through by being fair and reasonable with his charges. I was very pleased with the outcome of my divorce settlement and would recommend Howard to my friends and family.

  7. Howard was fantastic.

    Posted by Paul, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Collins.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Howard did a great job. Got all my fines to decreased drastically. Was on time and handle all the court interactions very well. I would without hesitation hire him.

  8. I dislike his character, representation, and ethics

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Howard Collins.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Howard overcharges, doesn't remember the facts of the case IN COURT. I'm debating if he was just LAZY or if he has Alzheimers. one time, he didn't even show up to court. Lucky for me, the judge gave me another opportunity, but still, it is intimidating to be left in court without a lawyer.
    IF anyone else reads this, I would hope you find another lawyer. DON'T BELIEVE his website, don't believe his secretary about how 'great' he is, don't fall for his opening speech that he will "work hard and represent you" line. He doesn't and he wont. I wish I could curse in this review every time I say his name.

  9. Is not a good lawyer

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Howard Collins.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Child Custody matter.

    He overcharges and under represents. It didn't even seem like he was interested in my case after I paid the retainer. I was constantly reminding him paperwork needed to be filed. He showed up late to court, angering the judge. And wasn't prepared at all for the day.
    I'm trying to NOT write spiteful comments, but the lack of representation by this man was very disheartening.
    THE FACTS are: he failed in his duties to represent effectively, he wasn't prepared, and didn't even seem like he cared. In the end, he took my money and left me without proper legal representation. Meaning, not only did I lose the custody case, I didn't even get proper visitation, while also ending up paying excessive child support.

  10. Don't like how I was represented

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Howard Collins.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. collins, only to have him leave me hanging. He didn't know the facts of the case, even after I presented it to him. Months later, he's still asking basic questions about my case, MOMENTS before we go into court.
    NOT prepared. NOT professional. Ultimately I lost my case 50% due to what I did/failed to do, and 50% of what HOWARD COLLINS failed to do. Which, with the amount I paid, he should've been prepared.
    Do not hire him.