Lana Lea Traynor’s Reviews

Lana Lea Traynor

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Capable, yes. Trustworthy, questionable.

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Lana Traynor.
    • I hired Lana more than 3 years ago.
    • Lana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After initial appointments and strategy sessions, I was very impressed with Ms. Traynor's experience and approach. However, just days before our hearing, Ms. Traynor abruptly recused herself from our case. When asked why, she would not offer any explanation other than, "it wasn't a good fit." She did, however, keep our retainer and in that light, I asked her to follow through on at least attending the meeting, but that was a far as it went. My experience was very unsettling, and in contrast to the other reviews shown here, I could not in good conscience recommend her.

  2. An Incredible Asset on Behalf of Children

    Posted by Parents of 9-year-old in Tacoma, Washington, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lana Traynor.
    • I hired Lana 1-3 years ago.
    • Lana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lana Traynor is a true professional. In this line of work, where families are desperate for help, Lana provides open and honest information, and support in an unfamiliar area. She knows her law. She knows the educational system. She knows children with special needs. She knows families. When you hire an attorney to represent your young child, you need someone who will work well with the parents. Lana Traynor is just this person.

    Lana provides impeccable service to families, and has an incredibly talented staff at her side. If we could, we would adopt her into our own family because that's how adored and trusted she is to us. Our trust with her, and in her, is unwavering. We have worked with Lana off and on for nearly four years -- phenomenal, just phenomenal. She has done right by the law, for our child, and for our family.

  3. Our First Call

    Posted by Patsy, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lana Traynor.
    • I hired Lana 1-3 years ago.
    • Lana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This is the second time we have called on Lana for help with our son. He has autism and is on an IEP with the school district. Once with ESD when he was 3 years old, now with the School District and he is 14. Lana made sure she connected with him which I did not expect and it was a very welcome gesture. Our son felt comfortable and that he had an advocate in his situation. It was one thing for us to tell him, quite another for her to sit down with him and speak personally to him and answer his questions. I could see the weight being lifted off of his shoulders. I hope we don't need a lawyer again, but if we do it will be Lana and her firm.

  4. Excellent job representing our son!

    Posted by Sandi, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lana Traynor.
    • I hired Lana 1-3 years ago.
    • Lana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lana has been working on behalf of our son (and us) for the past year, securing the services he needs in order to be successful in school. She cares about the whole well-being of our son, not just about getting the school to comply. We feel very safe being in her hands as we continue our journey with our son. We would highly recommend Lana and her team to any family who has a child who is struggling in school and whose needs are not being met.

  5. Lana is great!

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lana Traynor.
    • I hired Lana more than 3 years ago.
    • Lana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Lana helped us navigate through a very difficult school situation for our son . It was a long and draining process, but she was on top of it! She kept us informed, involved, was very compassionate, and we just worked well together! When dealing with the other parties, she was so professional and firm. She knows her stuff and I would recommend her to anyone. We now have a great program for our son, and she helped us get there!

  6. Skilled and compassionate special needs education attorney

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lana Traynor.
    • I hired Lana more than 3 years ago.
    • Lana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Lana when it became clear to me that educating myself on the law and being firm yet polite with the school district was NOT enough to compel the district to follow the law and provide adequate services for my young gifted son with Asperger's. Lana's advice helped me to sleep through the night, rather than stay up worrying about my son's future. We considered filing a due process claim against the district, but when it ultimately became too stressful for me and I ended up privately placing my son, Lana was completely supportive. Currently we're in the process of establishing my son's re-eligibility for special ed services and making a decision once again between a public and private placement, and Lana's experience as both a parent and an attorney has been extremely valuable. Lana is very fair, honest, and efficient, making her services an incredible value for the money spent.

  7. I wouldn't trust my family with anyone else

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lana Traynor.
    • I hired Lana more than 3 years ago.
    • Lana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lana was recommended to us by another friend who is an attorney. Our son's teacher and principal were delaying an IEP meeting last year, and we couldn't understand why. We agreed, in good faith, to let them have an extension. When we finally met, it turned out that our son had received about 25% of the minimum services he was to be provided during the past school year. We didn't want to hurt our good relationship with the school, but we also wanted to do what was best for our son.

    Lana tells it like it is. She was very up front with us about how hard it would be, and that it would strain things between us (the parents) and the school. She guided us through the entire process, and in the end, our son was awarded compensatory education and we walked away with a great plan for our son, and we are building trust with the district.

    We started out this school year in a good place with the team we have and when Lana realized we no longer needed our services, we had a moment of panic, but we closed our son's file and she sent a check with the remainder of our retainer.

    Lana's professionalism, excellent relationships with the staff at our school, and compassionate but upfront personality saved our sanity last year. Our son still mentions her often and we consider her a friend.

  8. Tireless child advocate

    Posted by Patricia, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lana Traynor.
    • I hired Lana more than 3 years ago.
    • Lana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have worked with Lana for over 7 years. She has been a dedicated and tireless advocate for my child while forging postive working relationships with the district. He has gotten services that originally the district was not inclined to provide but she objectively presented the data and worked to show it was in the best interest of him, the teacher and class in general. She has seen that adaptive devices we paid for as a family were appropriately used in class by qualified personnel. When a situation arose in which services defined in the IEP were not delivered for months -- she advocated and got private services by our choice of provider paid for.

    One thing that sets her apart is the understanding, empathy and support that can only come from another parent who has been there - one who can say "this child is a person of dignity who needs to be treated as such and have the tools/opportunity to succeed to the best of their ability and I will defend their rights as if he/she were my own"

    I have never had a problem with billing or communication - quite the opposite as there have been numerous times that she was out of state even on personal matters and called me to be sure we were ok.

    I can't imagine my son's academic life without her.

  9. Protect your childs rights

    Posted by Timothy J Martin, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lana Traynor.
    • I hired Lana more than 3 years ago.
    • Lana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We have worked with Lana since our autistic spectrum son was in kindergarten. She has been an excellent resource. I highly recommend her. Having her experience available when reviewing an IEP is a must. Lana works at resolving issues not litigating issues. She has always gotten things done for our son.

  10. Nightmare

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Lana Traynor.
    • I hired Lana more than 3 years ago.
    • Lana handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Took our money and promised to file a due process complaint within a week. stalled for over a month, finally presented us with a draft that was totally wrong and we spent 5 hours rewriting it. Failed to show up at a pre-hearing conference and opposing attorney had to call her for an hour until finally able to reach her. After 3 months time and just two days before mediation, does a 360 degree reversal on everything she promised us and when called on it she quits. I have never been involved with such an unprofessional, dishonest, manipulative attorney or any other professional in my life. Other attorneys involved in this matter even brought up their concerns with her work.