Deanna Ballou Jensen’s Reviews

Deanna Ballou Jensen

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Do it yourself or hire a collaborative attorney.

    Posted by Roger, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    • I do not recommend Deanna Jensen.
    • Deanna handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    First a disclosure that Ms. Ballou Jensen represented my former wife in what might have been an agreeable dissolution action. My (Pro se) offers to mediate were unheeded. Resolutions by collaborative council were rejected leading to unnecessary litigation, court time and significant attorney's fees. At the end of the day, it is my opinion that Ballou Jensen's "knowledge" and propensity for litigation caused both parties significant damage by diluting the marital estate.

    1. Deanna Ballou Jensen

      Deanna Jensen

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is not a review from a client of mine. It is a review by an opposing party. These sorts of reviews turn up when the other side did not get what he or she wanted out of the divorce. When reviews like this do turn up, they present an opportunity for me to point out how well my client did, and explain to those who read the review why it is so important to know the law, stick to your guns, and not let up until you and your client understand the value of, and have discovered every asset that is part of the marital estate. Without that knowledge it is impossible to settle any case.
      Roger says I am not trustworthy, but since I did not represent Roger, it was not his trust I needed to have. I certainly had my client's trust, as you will see.
      This case was complex involving complicated contract terms, very involved timelines, and several pieces of real property and other assets valued at over 5 million dollars (including a condo in The Pearl valued at nearly $900,000, that the court awarded, debt free, to my client).
      Roger was the party with all the money. What Roger was willing to give my client in early settlement proposals was far less than the court awarded her. When my client would not accept Roger's unreasonable settlement offers, he tried to drive her out of the case based on the cost to litigate. He had two and sometimes three attorneys lined up against me during trial.
      Roger appealed the judge's final ruling. He would not have appealed had he thought the court ruling favored his position. His thinking was that he could use the appeal as leverage to force my client to take something less than the court awarded her because of the cost involved for her to defend and because of the inherent uncertainty involved in having the appellate court review or remand a case. My law partner, Margaret Leiberan, represented my client on the appeal and cross-appealed hoping that would force Roger to drop the appeal. Roger made several low-ball appellate settlement offers (offering far less than the circuit court awarded my client) in exchange for him dropping the appeal. Wisely, our client rejected all of Roger's offers. Roger finally dropped the appeal about 6 months into it because he realized his intimidation had not forced my client to accept something less than what she was entitled to receive.
      Nothing about this dissolution was, to use Roger's words, "agreeable." For him to say so is indicative of the arrogance with which he approached the divorce, and now, 5 years later, he still cannot let it go.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  2. Excellent Attorney!

    Posted by NW, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Jensen.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Deanna is my attorney in a conflicted child custody case. She is very intuitive and balanced in her approach. She quickly grasped what was going on and identified the issues with our parenting agreement that were causing conflict. She easily came up with solutions that were simple and fair. She can see the big picture and has a genuine concern for the child involved. The documents she writes are very clear and concise. She went into the case with an awareness of the emotional cost of litigation and did her best to work out a settlement. Her office also compiled documentation for the custody evaluation in great detail. Deanna is a well rounded attorney and I would recommend her to anyone in a high conflict custody case.

  3. Focused and Professional

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Jensen.
    • I hired Deanna 1-6 months ago.
    • Deanna handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After outlining my goals and priorities over a year ago, Deanna architected a solution that achieved pretty much all of what I wanted in a difficult custody/financial situation. Be clear with what your goals are, what you can live without, and then let her put the plan together and execute it. I highly recommend her!

  4. Dedicated and diligent.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Jensen.
    • Deanna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mz. Jensen was appointed attorney for my children in an ugly custody case. She took a very professional and non-bias approach, did her due diligence in gathering information and in investigating the case. Never once did she not act in the best interest of the children. She communicates clearly and regularly, and works very hard at her job. If there were more attorneys like Deanna, there would be a lot less lawyer jokes in this world.

    I highly recommend Mz Jensen.

  5. Review: Deanna Ballou Jensen

    Posted by Zenobia, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Jensen.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Seven years ago I met Ms Ballou Jensen, after doing extensive research to find the best lawyer to handle my divorce. All my research came down to one person: Deanna Ballou Jensen. Ms Ballou Jensen is the most wonderful person I ever met! She is not only highly skilled in her profession and very professional; she is also kind and very compassionate. Her staff is of excellent caliber and efficient. After a smooth and fast divorce I returned to my home country, just to find myself becoming sicker and sicker due to an incurable illness I was diagnosed with several years ago, now almost at the end of spousal support and no longer being able to work, I could only think of one person to call for help-Deanna. She helped me get through yet another court case fast and efficiently, even though i am many many miles away! I am beyond gratefulness and will recommend Deanna for any case you may need a lawyer. Thank u VERY much for all u have done for me Deanna!

  6. Professional, Competent and Worth Every Penny

    Posted by Dave, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Jensen.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Deanna Jensen is meticulously organized and prepared at each hearing. Deanna's knowledge of Oregon Family Law is very thorough and she has tremedous experience to draw from when she needs to think on her feet. Deanna knows just the right time to insert passion, or indignation, into her remarks to the court for full affect. Deanna does an excellent job of telling her clients the "truth" about their case and not what they want to hear.

    Deanna Jensen has navigated UCCJEA issues confidently and helped me secure and manage an out of state attorney, working in NC courts, supporting our actions in Oregon. Where other attorneys were uncomfortable with the complexities of my specific case, Deanna showed confidence in her arguments and delivered the result we were seeking.

  7. Exceptional Skill and Service

    Posted by Mark, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Jensen.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Deanna Ballou Jensen is an exceptional lawyer. With her leadership and skills we were able to overcome all odds in a custody dispute, and her advice regarding other family issues was extremely helpful. She is professional, responsive and on target. We have always felt that she had our best interests at heart, that she listened to us and accurately defined our needs and our wants (sometimes different).

    Her advice was solid and useful. She was careful to be clear about what was possible and what was likely, and also when our expectations could not be met. Her abilities in court showed that she was a good planner, that she was a good judge of character and that she could roll with changing circumstances. Her performance was exemplary, and she proved more than once that she is a winner.

    Deanna also showed restraint and good judgment. She was willing to risk professional relationships for what she believed to be right on behalf of her client. I have found that it is a rare person who is really willing to risk themselves for what they believe, and Deanna is such a person.

    Jensen and Leiberan was always professional and polite, punctual and accurate. I absolutely recommend Mrs. Jensen, and Jensen and Leiberan, to anyone. You will not find anyone better to represent you than them.

  8. Much better now!

    Posted by Genie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Jensen.
    • I hired Deanna more than 3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Being a Professional myself, it's sometimes hard to know where to turn when you need to keep your own personal information as private as you can. Divorces are tough, especially when there is money involved, but Deanna made me feel as if I would be okay at the end. She was there for my questions, and I felt like I could afford the fees. Deanna is very personable, private, and makes you feel like you are not alone. I now give her name to anyone who is thinking about a life change! Thank you Deanna for all you do!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

503-641-7990