Tim L Eblen’s Reviews

Tim L Eblen

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Consultation fee prior to services rendered, very disappointed.

    Posted by Peter,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tim Eblen.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    With all due respect to Mr. Eblen and Ms. Freed's law firm, I am disappointed that their representative requested a $150 (telephone) consultation fee with Mr. Eblen prior to taking on my case.

    I called the office and then was very surprised (with the advance consultation fee) after I shared most of the information on my legal matter with their representative/receptionist. Included was the fact that my case was a simple register of a foreign judgment and completion of a writ of garnishment. The total amount of the (out of state) Judgment for Restitution was less than $1,500.

    I certainly understand and was willing to pay for their professional services including a retainer, filing fees and a specified percentage of the garnishment, however the $150 consultation fee was an affront to that professionalism.

    1. Tim L Eblen

      Tim L Eblen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry that you felt insulted by the consultation fee that was quoted to you.

      We appreciate that the cost of legal counsel is not easy to bear, but as a small law firm we also must be conscious of costs. Our firm provides free consultations on all debtor side bankruptcy, debt settlement, and unlawful debt collection matters. Unfortunately, we simply are not able to extend free consultations to meetings with a creditor (someone who is owed money by another).

      This decision is largely due to time limitations in our daily schedules. There is only so much time in each day. Moreover, our consultations with creditors are often very informative. We provide an overview of creditor's rights under Oregon law, discuss practical issues to consider in trying to collect, analyze any legal or practical issues connected with the nature of the debt owed, perform public record search of the judgment debtor to help assess collectibility, and let you know whether it is the kind of matter we can do on a contingency fee basis or not (contingency, meaning we are paid only once we collect money from the judgment debtor).

      Again, we appreciate your feedback. I wish you the best of luck with your matter. If you have a change of heart and wish to sit down for a consultation please do not hesitate to give us a call.

      All the best,
      Tim L. Eblen
      www.eblenfreed.com

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  2. Tim was my hero!

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tim Eblen.
    • I hired Tim 6-12 months ago.
    • Tim handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I came to Tim about a lawsuit I had apparently lost (but never got served for!) He provided me advice and support for how to address it myself but I chose instead to retain him to handle it for me, as it was really stressful. I appreciated knowing my options, though... (And if circumstances were different, I might have self-advocated using his advice.)

    Even after my first visit, I left his office feeling a weight off my shoulders.

    In representing my interests, Tim helped negotiate a very reasonable settlement with the other side and the matter was resolved in just a few months. The cost estimate for his services was both reasonable and accurate. (I even got a small refund on the retainer I paid.) All told, the settlement amount plus his retainer was still much less than the creditor was seeking.

    I simply can't thank Tim enough for his support and helping me resolve this matter!

  3. The REAL deal

    Posted by LeeB, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tim Eblen.
    • I hired Tim 6-12 months ago.
    • Tim handled my Debt Collection matter.

    Tim Eblen is one of the very few attorneys that actually cares about his clients with genuine concern, then actually delivers the goods without any surprises. The only surprise here is that there still are attorneys out here that tells you up front what he can, or can't do, keeps you informed, answers his phone, and makes good on what he tells you. This man is a hero to me, saving me from a bleak future and garnishment. Anyone having problems with unscrupulous debt collectors or just plain debt, would be well served to go with TIM!

  4. Sued a big company and won!

    Posted by Dana, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tim Eblen.
    • I hired Tim 1-3 years ago.
    • Tim handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.

    We bought a TV in January of 2012. By November of 2012 it broke. We contacted the manufacturer and they said since it was still under warranty they would replace it. Several months later we were still waiting for our new TV. We contacted Tim Eblen and he informed us of our rights. It took several more months but Tim was able to get us the money we originally paid for the TV. It cost us nothing and we didn't have to deal with the headache once we placed it in Tim's hands. He was very prompt in regards to communication, etc.

  5. Inaccessible, Unresponsive Firm

    Posted by Dave,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tim Eblen.

    After a little research, I thought this firm might be the one to help me with my situation. I called and asked to speak to Mr. Eblin. I was told that I needed to make an appt for a consultation. I said I would be glad to do that but first wanted to talk to Mr. Eblin for a couple of minutes on the phone to make sure he thought he could help with my situation. The person I was speaking to would not let me speak to him and was insistent that I make an appt for a consultation. I felt like I was trying to get through to the CEO of a major corporation and not to one lawyer in a two lawyer firm. She (the person who answered the phone) finally said she would give Mr. Eblin a msg and either he would call me back or she would call to tell me that he would not be calling me. I never heard back from either.

    1. Tim L Eblen

      Tim L Eblen

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for your posting. I am sorry that you did not receive a return call from our office as promised. There is no excuse for that, and we apologize for any inconvenience that caused to you. We appreciate all feedback as we continue to grow and want to provide the highest quality experience to anyone who contacts our office.

      We would be more than happy to discuss your legal issue with you, and encourage you to call our office to schedule a consultation. We pride ourselves on the attention that we give to our clients and the work that we do for them. Towards that end, we have to manage our work day carefully. We ask that new prospective clients schedule an appointment to discuss a legal matter to help us to make sure we are giving due care to current clients, and are able to give careful consideration to the issues that you would like to talk about.

      Again, we apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you for taking the time to give our firm feedback.

      Tim L. Eblen
      www.eblenfreed.com

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  6. excellent man to work with

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tim Eblen.

    Tim is a pleasure to work with, and despite the fact that we have not been able to reach our goals at this time I am confident in his abilities and will hire him if and when needed in the future.

  7. Professionalism, integrity and caring

    Posted by Joe, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tim Eblen.
    • I hired Tim 1-3 years ago.
    • Tim handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Eblin was willing to listen to all my questions and concerns. He has demonstrated to me not only an excellent professional attitude and knowledge but also a person who truly cares about the person he is representing and the problems and challenges that they are going through. He has gone above and beyond what I have encountered with attorneys that I have worked with in the past.

  8. Impeccable

    Posted by Matthew, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Tim Eblen.
    • I hired Tim 1-3 years ago.
    • Tim handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Tim was epitome of legal counsel for me. Compassionate, measured, and completely on top of any matters that surfaced. I would not hesitate to enlist his services in the future and I recommend him every chance I get.

  9. Drafting will

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tim Eblen.
    • I hired Tim 1-3 years ago.
    • Tim handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I went to Tim to draft our will. He was extremely pleasant as well as helpful and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend him and will use him again in the future.