Robert F Demary’s Reviews

Robert F Demary

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Don't get divorced without this guy!!!

    Posted by Kimberly,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Demary.

    Bob handled my ugly divorce and child custody case with professionalism and grace. He is a bulldog and knows how to navigate bullies from the other side. He also brings humor and compassion to the table making the situation real and human. He treated me with respect and I never felt like I was just a "client." He was genuinely concerned about the best interest of me and my children. He is incredibly knowledgeable and sharp. I would highly recommend Bob in any situation where divorce is ugly and custody is a sticky situation.

  2. Child custody issue

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Demary.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bob helped me navigate an extremely challenging divorce case with kindness and human compassion helping me keep my daughter's priorities in the forefront. I had hired an initial attorney that had gotten me into a very difficult position simply by the way that we had chosen to respond to my ex's attorney position. I was faced with what seemed as an insurmountable situation with one of the top attorney's in Portland (Stahancyk) on the opposing council and limitless funds on my ex's side. Bob gave clear advice as to what realistically could be achieved given the situation and helped me keep the heightened emotional aura of the situation in check. Divorce is an extremely painful time for everyone involved and I am grateful for having had Bob on my side. He used the art of compromise to achieve the best outcome possible while keeping with a core professional ethic of acting in the best interest of the child.

  3. Bob Demary

    Posted by Benmce, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Demary.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Bob was a excellent lawyer winning me the sole custody of my two boys. He was very friendly and took time answer questions and explained the process to me in words I could understand

  4. excellent lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Robert Demary.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bob was excellent to work with during my unpleasant divorce proceedings. He was responsive to my questions and never acted put out to provide explanations. He knew my case well and reccomended different strategies based on risk. He has a great sense of humor which helped me keep things light in a highly emotional situation. Bob is clearly well known and has good working relationships with other lawyers and judges. His assistant Julie was quite helpful and had excellent follow-through. Everyone at Gevurtz Menashe was professional and kind.

  5. A "Real" attorney who is honest and forthright.

    Posted by Michelle, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Demary.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Bob was referred to me by a friend of mine and highly recommended. Upon my first meeting with Bob I knew I was dealing with an attorney that was understanding, knowledgeable, and professional. At the same time he was compassionate and I realized he was going to help me through a very difficult time in my life. Bob did exactly that and I'm very thankful. He always answered/returned my calls. He has a sense of humor and is down to earth. I am more than satisfied with his representation. Thank you Bob!

  6. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Nathan, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Demary.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Family matter.

    I hired Bob on the recommendation of a family member of mine who had been previously represented by Bob. Bob was professional and down to earth in our dealings prior to court in person, by phone, and by email. He let me know what to expect through the process and gave an accurate projection of the likely court proceeding. Then, at our court appearance he changed. That was the day that I really met Bob. He became both intense and ruthless. There were a barrage of tough questions fired at my ex when Bob was questioning, and objections made when he wasn't. My ex's lawyer was both outmatched and outclassed. I am so glad Bob was on my side of the courtroom. The judge returned a judgment for parenting time that was what I had been hoping and praying for, and nowhere close to what my ex was asking. I can't begin to convey the gratitude that I feel for what Bob has done for my family. I would recommend him to anyone.

  7. Compassionate, honest and firm

    Posted by Cindy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Demary.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a highly contensious divorce, Bob was very honest about what to expect as things proceeded. He explained legal terms to me as one professional to another. I am so glad I had him by my side, literally and figuratively, during both days of trial. His court room tactics seemed to be a perfect mix of knowledge, skill and sense of humor. I can't thank you enough Bob.

  8. THUMBS DOWN

    Posted by Pam, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Demary.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    In my initial consultation, Bob promised me the world. Once my retainer was paid and the process officially begun, he seemed entirely disinterested in my case. Before long, he was about to repeat actions that he had already taken until I pointed this out. I actually had to schedule a face-to-face because I think he was confusing me with another one of his clients by mistake. His communication was very poor at best. He even gave me misinformation about giving a tenant notice to leave in this process. If I had followed his advise, I wouldn't have given him the amount of time that he was legally entitled to. I found this out through my own research. Luckily for Bob (and his clients) his assistant, Julie, is fantastic. I generously gave him the benefit of the doubt for far longer than I should have. I was wrong to think that paying more would ensure a harder working, more keenly strategizing lawyer. Maybe my case wasn't glitzy enough for him? What a waste of money and time THATwas! My new lawyer charges quite a bit less and has done more in two weeks than he did in 4 months--and she communicates professionally, clearly, and frequently. She is actively working on my case and keeping me in the loop every step of the way. I would strongly encourage readers to look elsewhere. I wish I had known about these reviews when I was considering Bob in the first place. He seems like a nice enough guy, but I wasn't getting my money's worth. I was impressed by his years of experience, but that ended up translating into what seemed like carelessness. Relative to my new experience, I think Bob tries to get away with as little as possible.

  9. Keep Looking

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Demary.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Does not return phone calls in timely manor. Double bills !!! If your divorce is a simple one and all you need is paperwork filed this guy may be an ok choice. If you are involved in a battle and will be in court, not a good option. In the final entry of my proceedings he reported the settlement terms ambiguously, assured me it was ok and it was not! He filed a motion on my behalf we went to court where he then sat there and tried to convince me to drop it. I said I didn't want to he stated if it comes back up he'll file again for free which it did and he didn't. $1500 later I'm exactly where i started. I seriously advise you to keep looking. This guy will make all the promises and tough talk of a used car salesman, but doesn't back it up.