Back to Mark’s Profile

Mark has received 35 client reviews

An all around great job!

Posted by: Dave 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mark Cogan

I had Class B Felony conviction for a Marijuana related offence hanging over my head for over 13 years. To say I am merely satisfied with the great service Mark and his team provided me would be a gross understatement. Mark went to battle with an DA who for lack of a better term disagreed with our claim. Mark was able to school him on the finer details of Oregon Expungement Law and we prevailed in the end. Through out the process communication was top notch. Any and all questions I had were answered clearly and expediently. They seemed to take it almost as personally as I did. I will never be able to thank Mark and Janique enough for what they accomplished. Doors that were once closed tight are now wide open!!

Fellow attorney

Posted by: Phil 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mark Cogan

Great experience.Mr Cogan was responsive, informative resource that helped significantly with the preparation of my case.

Strongly Recommended

Posted by: Jim, a Domestic Violence client 9 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mark Cogan

I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.

Mark handled my Domestic Violence matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I was lucky able to find Mark. Mark was more than helpful with my case. Mark explain my situation clear. He is not afraid and has as much knowledge as anyone could in his profession. His associate Jeff handle my case with an excellent outcome and my family finally get back together. Thank you Mark and Jeff. God bless you and your family!!

Best Defense Attorney

Posted by: LB, a Criminal Defense client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mark Cogan

I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.

Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

When I first found myself in legal trouble after my DUI charge, Mark Cogan was one of many defense attorneys I researched. After reading his reviews and talking with him on the phone, it was clear he was best suit to help me. When I met with him, I instantly felt at ease hiring him. I knew I could put my trust in him to get the best possible outcome for the charges I was facing with my DUI, including a felony (which ended up getting reduced). He is very knowledgeable, straightforward, and very competent. His confidence was very reassuring, and his strive for excellence and dedication to his clients is beyond measurable. Mark helped me get through one of the toughest times of my life. Because of him, I ended up avoiding a serious charge, and by the end of it all was able to breathe a sigh of relief and leave with a smile on my face. For that I am forever grateful, and appreciative beyond words. There is a reason he has such a great reputation! I would recommend him to anyone in need of great legal representation.

Expungement filed For and Granted

Posted by: L P, a Criminal Defense client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mark Cogan

I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.

Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

While applying for a non resident insurance license in Florida, which required a back ground check, I was shocked to discover that I had a criminal conviction on my record from 40 years ago in Washington County, Oregon. When I entered a plea of guilty to the criminal charges in the Washington County, Oregon court in 1974, it was under the plea agreement with the court that I would receive probation and upon successful completion of that probation my case would be dismissed as a deferred judgment and my record would be sealed and would not be something that went forward and would not be retained on my record. The court did not follow through on their promise. It was crucial to my livelihood that I would be able to obtain the license I was applying for. It was the overwhelming consensus of my friends in the legal community in Denver Colorado where I now reside that I contact Mark Cogan in Portland Oregon. I was told that he was the best lawyer I could be fortunate enough to retain. They were right. I contacted Mark and when I spoke to him in our first conversation I found him to be professional, competent, experienced and genuinely compassionate regarding my dire circumstances. I retained Mark. He told me he would do everything he could to expedite the granting of an expungement for my criminal conviction for drug promotion. Mark did exactly as he had told me he would and got my expungement granted by the Washington County Circuit Court of Oregon. He did so in what most would consider record-breaking time. That was just what I needed I consider Mark's fees to be reasonable and appropriate. He didn't add things to my fee as he went along, even though I know he and his staff were expending extra effort for me. This review would not be complete unless I made special mention of Mark's paralegal Janique. She has cultivated and maintained an obviously excellent reputation and ability to communicate on the clerk side of these legal issues. She was able to move my paperwork through the clerical side of this process in an amazingly expeditious manner due to her relationships with the clerks in the various agencies that were involved. I would confidently without question recommend The Mark C Cogan law firm to anyone with any criminal issue of any kind.

Very Unlikely circumstances for me.

Posted by: a Criminal Defense client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mark Cogan

I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.

Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I found myself up against some pretty serious charges, this was very much out of character for me. I was at a loss for what to do, or where to even begin for that matter. My BF researched for a lawyer for me and came across this site. After reviewing several, and then reviewing Mark Cogan's reviews it was pretty clear what I needed to do. Called and scheduled my appointment. Mark is the one who would return my calls, Mark is the one who would return my emails personally himself. He didn't have a secretary or receptionist that handled all his person to person contacts. There were times here or there, but for the most part Mark too care of it. I met with Mark, he was very personable, honest, straight and to the point (facts about the law), caring, compassionate, understanding. He is not a lawyer who will tell he can help no matter what, just so he can take your money . If he really doesn't feel he can help you, he will be straight up with you, instead of misleading and giving false hope. This was a ONE time deal for me. You don't have to tell me twice, however if I ever found myself in need of another criminal defense attorney, or knew of someone who did. Mark would be the one I would recommend. He will go to bat for you. Thank you Mark for all you have done and continue to do for me. SA

Highly recommended.

Posted by: a client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mark Cogan

I highly recommend Mr. Cogan. I had a phone consultation and he immediately made me feel at ease. He was kind, understanding, and extremely helpful. If you need a lawyer in the Portland, Oregon area, Mr. Cogan is it.

A positive experience

Posted by: James, a Criminal Defense client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mark Cogan

I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.

Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I've had two positive experiences (two different cases: identity theft and a record expungement) with Mark Cogan and wouldn't hesitate to contact him again if the need presented itself. Mr. Cogan is professional and a very knowledgeable defense attorney that made all the difference in my situations. I'm quite satisfied with the services I've received at this law office. He responded quickly to my questions. His staff works hard and were very kind to me.

Outstanding criminal defense attorney

Posted by: a Criminal Defense client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mark Cogan

I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.

Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

Mark Cogan represented a family member who was in a serious criminal case, that could have resulted in life long consequences. He was extremely knowledgeable, committed, and always readily available throughout the entire case. Mark strives hard for victory, and he truly puts forth all his effort in achieving the best outcome possible. We will recommend and refer anybody we know needing a criminal defense attorney, to Mark Cogan and his outstanding team!

Highly recommend Mark Cogan

Posted by: Wen, a Domestic Violence client about 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mark Cogan

I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.

Mark handled my Domestic Violence matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I got a case about domestic violence and very luckily found him. He is very smart, experienced and directed his associated Jeff Turnoy to get a successful deal for me. I think, his wisdom, valuable insights into different kinds of criminal case would help you a lot if you really need help. I highly recommend him!!!