Mark C Cogan’s Reviews

Mark C Cogan

Average Rating

Based on 32 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Defense Attorney

    Posted by LB, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cogan.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    When I first found myself in legal trouble after my DUI charge, Mark Cogan was one of many defense attorneys I researched. After reading his reviews and talking with him on the phone, it was clear he was best suit to help me. When I met with him, I instantly felt at ease hiring him. I knew I could put my trust in him to get the best possible outcome for the charges I was facing with my DUI, including a felony (which ended up getting reduced). He is very knowledgeable, straightforward, and very competent. His confidence was very reassuring, and his strive for excellence and dedication to his clients is beyond measurable. Mark helped me get through one of the toughest times of my life. Because of him, I ended up avoiding a serious charge, and by the end of it all was able to breathe a sigh of relief and leave with a smile on my face. For that I am forever grateful, and appreciative beyond words. There is a reason he has such a great reputation! I would recommend him to anyone in need of great legal representation.

  2. Expungement filed For and Granted

    Posted by L P, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cogan.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    While applying for a non resident insurance license in Florida, which required a back ground check, I was shocked to discover that I had a criminal conviction on my record from 40 years ago in Washington County, Oregon. When I entered a plea of guilty to the criminal charges in the Washington County, Oregon court in 1974, it was under the plea agreement with the court that I would receive probation and upon successful completion of that probation my case would be dismissed as a deferred judgment and my record would be sealed and would not be something that went forward and would not be retained on my record. The court did not follow through on their promise.
    It was crucial to my livelihood that I would be able to obtain the license I was applying for. It was the overwhelming consensus of my friends in the legal community in Denver Colorado where I now reside that I contact Mark Cogan in Portland Oregon. I was told that he was the best lawyer I could be fortunate enough to retain. They were right.
    I contacted Mark and when I spoke to him in our first conversation I found him to be professional, competent, experienced and genuinely compassionate regarding my dire circumstances. I retained Mark. He told me he would do everything he could to expedite the granting of an expungement for my criminal conviction for drug promotion. Mark did exactly as he had told me he would and got my expungement granted by the Washington County Circuit Court of Oregon. He did so in what most would consider record-breaking time. That was just what I needed
    I consider Mark's fees to be reasonable and appropriate. He didn't add things to my fee as he went along, even though I know he and his staff were expending extra effort for me.
    This review would not be complete unless I made special mention of Mark's paralegal Janique. She has cultivated and maintained an obviously excellent reputation and ability to communicate on the clerk side of these legal issues. She was able to move my paperwork through the clerical side of this process in an amazingly expeditious manner due to her relationships with the clerks in the various agencies that were involved.
    I would confidently without question recommend The Mark C Cogan law firm to anyone with any criminal issue of any kind.

  3. Very Unlikely circumstances for me.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cogan.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I found myself up against some pretty serious charges, this was very much out of character for me. I was at a loss for what to do, or where to even begin for that matter. My BF researched for a lawyer for me and came across this site. After reviewing several, and then reviewing Mark Cogan's reviews it was pretty clear what I needed to do. Called and scheduled my appointment. Mark is the one who would return my calls, Mark is the one who would return my emails personally himself. He didn't have a secretary or receptionist that handled all his person to person contacts. There were times here or there, but for the most part Mark too care of it. I met with Mark, he was very personable, honest, straight and to the point (facts about the law), caring, compassionate, understanding. He is not a lawyer who will tell he can help no matter what, just so he can take your money . If he really doesn't feel he can help you, he will be straight up with you, instead of misleading and giving false hope. This was a ONE time deal for me. You don't have to tell me twice, however if I ever found myself in need of another criminal defense attorney, or knew of someone who did. Mark would be the one I would recommend. He will go to bat for you. Thank you Mark for all you have done and continue to do for me. SA

  4. Highly recommended.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cogan.

    I highly recommend Mr. Cogan. I had a phone consultation and he immediately made me feel at ease. He was kind, understanding, and extremely helpful. If you need a lawyer in the Portland, Oregon area, Mr. Cogan is it.

  5. A positive experience

    Posted by James, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cogan.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I've had two positive experiences (two different cases: identity theft and a record expungement) with Mark Cogan and wouldn't hesitate to contact him again if the need presented itself. Mr. Cogan is professional and a very knowledgeable defense attorney that made all the difference in my situations. I'm quite satisfied with the services I've received at this law office. He responded quickly to my questions. His staff works hard and were very kind to me.

  6. Outstanding criminal defense attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cogan.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mark Cogan represented a family member who was in a serious criminal case, that could have resulted in life long consequences. He was extremely knowledgeable, committed, and always readily available throughout the entire case. Mark strives hard for victory, and he truly puts forth all his effort in achieving the best outcome possible. We will recommend and refer anybody we know needing a criminal defense attorney, to Mark Cogan and his outstanding team!

  7. Highly recommend Mark Cogan

    Posted by Wen, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cogan.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I got a case about domestic violence and very luckily found him. He is very smart, experienced and directed his associated Jeff Turnoy to get a successful deal for me. I think, his wisdom, valuable insights into different kinds of criminal case would help you a lot if you really need help.
    I highly recommend him!!!

  8. Mark did execellent job to resolve my hit and run case.

    Posted by Kevin, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cogan.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mark and Jeff did excellent to get my hit and run case resolved.

  9. Put your trust in Mark and let him do the rest. He will deliver the best possible outcome with no BS.

    Posted by Russ, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cogan.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mark was a bright light when all seemed pitch black at the time. Mark turned on the light for me and let me know that in trusting him he will do what it takes to bring about a favorable outcome to my case. He never made any promises and never BS'ed me. In fact, Mark almost fired me as a client because of my lack of faith in him, and myself.
    Hindsight is 20/20 and now that I've come through with Mark on the favorable side I can tell you, with the utmost confidence, that Mark Cogan is the Lawyer you want for ANY criminal matter.
    Money well spent for the peace of mind I have now.
    Thank you Mark!

  10. Not recommended

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Mark Cogan.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I think he's probably a good trial lawyer, has an aggressive personality. But in my opinion not so great at reaching at working with prosecutors at reaching good plea agreement in a savvy way. It seemed that the prosecutor just didn't want to even deal with him or return his calls. I burned through a lot of money quickly without much to show for it. At a time when I could have really used a little moral support and a good 'bedside manner,' he just ramped up my anxiety level way beyond what was necessary.

    1. Mark C Cogan

      Mark C Cogan

      Lawyer Comment:

      As an attorney, the requirements of confidentiality restrict me from responding adequately to this comment.

      I am confident that an objective review of the record will demonstrate that I did everything possible to accomplish a successful outcome for this client.

      No defense attorney, regardless of how gifted and talented he or she may be, can compel the prosecutor to offer a plea bargain that is favorable to the accused. In the end, the client must decide whether to accept the plea bargain, or take his or her chances at trial.

      Good attorneys always seek to negotiate the best terms for their clients, as well as prepare for trial, in the event that the client chooses to fight the case.

      Over many years of practice, I have observed that some criminals seek to blame their attorney for their predicament.

      Good criminal defense attorneys always strive to do our best for their clients. However, we are not magicians.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

Call now for a free consultation.

503-827-8092