John E. Gutbezahl’s Reviews

John E. Gutbezahl

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Assured confidence and won the day!

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gutbezahl.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    To find yourself in an impossible situation, when you have no experience and panic is setting in is a terrible place to be. With the expert assistance of John Gutbezahl, our bleak outlook changed to being quite rosy. John is confident, reassuring, yet truthful - no need to sugar coat or beat around the bush - you need to know what you are up against and what the possible outcomes could be. John listens to and supports his clients. Our was a delightful outcome with dismissal of charges. This outcome would not have been possible without John.

  2. This lawyer is Unbelievable

    Posted by Kevin, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gutbezahl.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Gutbezahl went both above and beyond his duties while dealing with my case. Before bringing on Mr. Gutbezal as my court appointed defense attorney, I Spent over !0,000$ fighting my case with an attorney claiming to be a specialist in the field my case fell under. Not only was John more competent, I truly trusted that whatever we decided on would be the best course of action. With Mr. Gutbezahl, he seemed to never be off the clock, putting in many unconventional hours. I would recommend this lawyer to any and everyone in need of an attorney truly trustworthy, this guy is phenomenal!

  3. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Jim, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gutbezahl.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested for a crime I did not commit. John believed in me and worked hard to prove my innocence. Finally, the case was dismissed before trial. John is compassionate, hard working, caring, has a good sense of humor, is an excellent listener and is dedicated to his clients. He is very realistic and tells it like it is. He stated all the possibilities and didn't make any promises; he just stuck to the facts of the case. I would not hesitate to recommend John to anyone as an attorney.

  4. A man with a great heart

    Posted by Andreea, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gutbezahl.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I come from a family who has never had problems with the law.That is why when my brother was arrested in the United States and accused of wire fraud my whole world collapsed.My family lives in Romania,so miles away from Portland where it all happened. When my cousin who lives in the United States hired John to represent my brother we started to regain confidence. John explained everything to us from the beginning,he understood the state of mind my brother was in ,he helped him a lot,he never gave us false hopes.He developped a bond with my brother realising he was not a criminal but a nice guy who made a terrible mistake trusting the wrong people.He represented my brother also in Federal Court being a true proffesional.He kept me informed about the case,he visited and encouraged my brother realising what it meant for him to be for the first time locked up and in a foreign country.Beyond being a very competent and professional lawyer,John E.Gutbezahl is a man with a great heart. And I think this is the only thing that counts.

  5. confidence

    Posted by ionelcretu75, a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gutbezahl.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my White Collar Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It was a real privilege to have John as a lawyer.Serious and dedicated,he would look into the case not only as a lawyer but also as a trustful friend.The moment he takes your case you feel confident you are in good hands.

  6. Awesome Lawyer

    Posted by Carl P,, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gutbezahl.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John is a awesome lawyer. He helped my wife and I in a recent in which we prevailed, He also helped my wife in a marijuana case in which 2 of 3 charges were dropped and she did no jail time. He really knows the law and is a ex-assistant DA before getting in to private pratice.

  7. Hire John? In a heartbeat!

    Posted by Nick,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gutbezahl.

    I am more than satisfied with the help I got with John working on my side. He is well-known with attorneys and judges throughout the area, and highly respected by both. And now I know how that respect works in his clients favor - he easily got an entrapment cased dismissed for me! If you're looking for someone who knows what he's doing and knows exactly how to get it done, John is your guy. Thanks, John!

  8. John E Gutbezahl - High Quality Attorney

    Posted by Shane, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gutbezahl.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My personal experience with John was pleasurable and successful. John is very dedicated, knowledgeable, and committed to winning. John was well prepared and very professional. I strongly recommend him.

  9. who to hire when you need a great lawyer

    Posted by Sandra, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gutbezahl.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John has always been there to help me. He's caring, smart, ready to help you. He has come to our home many times to talk to me and get me to understand what was happening. He has made me understand what I needed to do and say! I would tell anyone to hire him!

  10. The best attorney ever!!!!!

    Posted by Inna, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gutbezahl.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was very pleased in the way he handled my case. I had never been through anything like this before and appreciated the fact that before I even hired him he took the time to explain everything and "demystify" the entire process. I had heard horror stories about attorneys charging huge hourly fees for the most mundane of tasks but thankfully that was not my experience.

503-594-1919