Richard L Holcomb’s Reviews

Richard L Holcomb

Average Rating

Based on 49 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI case dismissed with prejudices and ALDRO case won!!

    Posted by Jose, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Holcomb.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Holcomb managed my case very thoroughly and obtained the best possible results!
    I was arrested at a DUI roadblock and from the very beginning he was clear with me - he would fight my case but could not promise any outcome. The first session was free and he provided an overview of how the process would be and somewhat the possibilities that we had for both cases.
    During the entire process, he managed to provide me with temporary driving licenses, so that I was able to drive for the entire period. He is highly professional and provide you with sufficient precise information so that you can take certain key decisions on how to move your case forward.
    I recommend 100% his services. He is not the cheapest lawyer in town. But if you really want the race, better to drive a Ferrari rather than a Kia!

  2. I call him "the magician"

    Posted by da_hal, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Holcomb.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    What can I say? My case was dismissed (although without prejudice) and he/we won. His paralegal, Darko, should get some props too...when Mr. Holcomb was unavailable, Darko was a wealth of information and advice.

    Maybe I got lucky in some hearings (none of the cops showed up, ever) I felt that Mr. Holcomb would have done what it takes to win. While this entire process seems expensive, I would totally recommend it for someone who needs to have their reputation intact (I'm a teacher.) After the last hearing, I said, "I'm gonna call you "the Magician" on Avvo because you just waved your hand and the cops testifying against me disappeared." :D Seriously, while my case had luck, I had total faith in him to win regardless.

    I had 3 tickets attached to my DUI: the ADLRO, the DUI, and the initial infraction (lane weaving) that led to all of it. He got the lane weaving dismissed on the first hearing. He beat the ADLRO on the second hearing. Then, he did his magic and none of the cops appeared at my 3rd DUI hearing. Seriously, this guy is magic and you have to get him if $7.5k is worth your reputation. If I didn't win this, I can't be a teacher anymore, so what he did is priceless to me.

    In summary, either you have a job or don't where a DUI will destroy you, you *have* to hire my guy as the best chance to fight it. Seriously. Don't take a DUI without a fight, and my guy will fight it for you to the death.

    Because of an illness, I had to get the breath thingy for my car. While there for services, I met choke guys in the same situation but without a lawyer. Don't be that guy. Get a lawyer and fight it.

    Get my guy and win it.

  3. DUI case dismissed...Highly recommended

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Holcomb.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I met with Richard Holcomb to review my DUI charge. He is very knowledgeable in the law system and answered all my questions. He explained the strategy along with his commitment...I knew I was in good hands. My case was dismissed and I am extremely happy with Richard's service. I would highly recommend Richard Holcomb in your DUI case.

  4. Simply Terrific

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Holcomb.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Richard Holcomb got me out of an immensely tough situation. I was facing two charges of driving with a suspended license from a D.U.I I had previously received. He fought for me with all that he knew and got all charges dismissed with prejudice. Knows exactly what he is doing and can think of every way to give you a chance in any case.

  5. Lawyer Who Knows His Stuff

    Posted by Client's Family Member, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Holcomb.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    We saw his ad in an old Yellow Pages book and looked up his website. We were impressed with what we read; we could tell he knew his stuff well. It was late when we called him and other attorneys to set up consultations and he was the only one who called us back that evening. He was nice on the phone, which made us feel good. Our face-to-face consultation was FREE and he asked questions and provided answers. He was very informative. We didn't feel rushed or like all he wanted was our money. It didn't take us long to be convinced that we found our lawyer. The process was quick and our cases ended up being dismissed... he is THAT good. Thank you Rick!!!

  6. If you need help this is your man.

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Holcomb.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Rick met with me, outlined his defense strategy, and explained that there was a good chance he could successfully defend me even though I came to him thinking that I had no chance. He followed his plan and 5 months later I have had all charges dismissed. I cannot express enough how relieved I am and what a positive experience this turned out to be. Rick has my highest recommendation.

  7. Only The Best

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Holcomb.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Rick has been absolutely outstanding! I was charged with DUI in early 2011 and went to see him based on on-line reviews. He listened to my story and outlined his plan of action. Fortunately (or maybe unfortunately) we didn't get to trial as the state had trouble counting and didn't prosecute me within the time allowed. Had we gone to trial, I have every confidence Rick stood a very good chance of having the case thrown out based on issues of jurisdiction, technical training and skills of the arresting officer, lack of adequate documentation about calibration and maintenance of equipment used, and others. As it stands, the judge dismissed the case without prejudice which means the state can refile and run you through the wringer again. Rick advised me to appeal. We did, along with others, and it is still tied up somewhere in the system. The appeals he won on my behalf will benefit many, many other people in the future. Rick's skill in the courtroom is as solid as his advice. At each of my appearances before the court, I got to spend considerable time observing proceedings. It was clear to me Rick was always the best prepared advocate in the room. He does his homework and he's a bulldog. If you ever run into this type of problem, do yourself a favor and call Rick first. Aloha.

  8. Review for RIchard L Holcomb - DUI/DWI case

    Posted by Lindsey, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Holcomb.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We all go through bad instances, and unfortunately I went through one of the worst instances of my life on a Thursday night. I thought my world was falling upon me when I had gone through getting booked, going to jail, and paying bail to get out. But what worried me most was the pending ramifications that would haunt me for a good portion of my life. In that frantic moment, I searched for lawyers left and right and then I came across Rich Holcomb's profile via this website. I gave him a call the day after getting released and he told me right away to come to his office for a free consultation. I explained my situation and he instilled confidence right away that any case could be dealt with by a intricate system of defense that he would tackle at all levels if need be. Rich Holcomb, mentioned all his expert credentials and his world class experience in dealing with DUI cases. Rich Holcomb was upfront that all though he couldn't guarantee the success of my case, that he was willing to do whatever in his power to defend me. With that I knew right away that he was the right person for the job and we proceeded on. First two court appearances were motioned to continuance due to the officer's peculiar nonattendance, even Mr. Holcomb thought it was a rather odd occurrence knowing that he had extensive experience against the officer that booked me. In any case RIch went on to file motions that he felt that needed to be done to give me the best chance at fighting my case, and he would answer all my questions in depth every time i had called. Well going on, during the final court appearance, apparently the City Circuit Court was slow on processing these motions and the judge had granted a judgement in our favor with prejudice! I was so amazed at the result and so gracious for the work Mr. Holcomb has provided. His professionalism is unmatched and he stood by my side during probably what was one of the worst experiences of my life. His work combined with the results has restored order in my life, and as a college student it restored my confidence that I could learn from my mistake and thankfully it was a mistake that wouldn't have such profound ramifications upon my graduation. I am ever grateful for Rich Holcomb's work and I'll be the first one to recommend him if anyone were to ask for a lawyer recommendation. Thank you Mr. Holcomb!

  9. Helpful and Informative

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Holcomb.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    On the initial FREE consultation, Mr.Holcomb was able to convey exactly his plan and how he was going to defend me. Compared to three other free consultations, Mr.Holcomb gave the most thorough and helpful response. In court he commands a certain charisma and is very knowledgeable in his particular field. He was available throughout the day every time I had questions. He is the Lexus of DUI lawyers.

  10. DUI and ALDRO cases won!!! just 4 mon.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Holcomb.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Great DUI specialist. When I first talked to Rick I already knew he was the laywer that I needed to have. Schedule an appointment and in 30min you'll know exactly what I mean. He is very well educated the field of DUIs. He works very fast from the very moment you hire him. I got my DUI in Nov. 2012 and he won both State & ALDRO within 4 months. He has a very resonable installment plan. I've already recommended friends to give him a try.

808-545-4040