John Joseph VanDervoort’s Reviews

John Joseph VanDervoort

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI charges

    Posted by Phil, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John VanDervoort.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I was picked up one night by CHP, I thought my life as I knew it was over. My wife all but disowned me. I had many, many people in my life to explain the situation to. My circumstances were I was off the freeway, outside my vehicle, and CHP never saw me driving. But as I found out later, these circumstances still can get you for DUI. I did not know where to turn or what to do next.
    I found this law office on the internet. I wound up meeting with Geoff Dulebohn from this law office. He was able to guide me through the whole process and answer my questions along the way.
    If you find yourself in this unfortunate situation, I would not hesitate to call upon this office to get you through.

    1. John Joseph VanDervoort

      John VanDervoort

      Lawyer Comment:

      Tough case. But, when the going gets tough the tough getting going. We did in this case!

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  2. Favorable Results

    Posted by John I, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John VanDervoort.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joe is very knowledgeable about defense pertaining to CA DUI law and procedures. He has a good working relationship with the courts which aids in favorable defense and satisfactory results. If you want the "mercedes" of DUI defense Joe is the attorney to call.
    His staff is knowledgeable about court and DMV procedures. They are very patient and courteous with your questions.

    1. John Joseph VanDervoort

      John VanDervoort

      Lawyer Comment:

      This office was established in 1972 in Butte County. Before that I was practicing in San Francisco as a county, state, and federal public defender. I also did work for the chief justice of the Ca supreme court and two teachers at hastings law school

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  3. Joe is fantastic!

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John VanDervoort.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joe and staff did an overall fantastic job of representing me and getting me through the process and system! Considering my circumstances, I thought I was going to be toast, but with Joe, it wasn't so. He and staff kept, and continue to keep, me well informed of what's going on. I feel very comfortable and secure with the VanDervoort Law Office, and highly recommend them to any and everyone in need of legal representation or advice. I also found Joe's website to be extremely informative and enlightening. Make a lunch, pull up a chair, and read the entire thing; you will gain a great deal of knowledge from it.

    1. John Joseph VanDervoort

      John VanDervoort

      Lawyer Comment:

      I donot even know the name of this client , but I appreciate his confidence in us. We have handled literally thousands of criminal and dui cases ad DMV. Capital murder to drunk in public. .01 to 4.0 duis. if you can find someone that has more than 40 years doing this ..hire tham

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  4. DUI KING

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John VanDervoort.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The law offices of Joe Vandervoort recently represented me in a misdemeanor DUI alcohol and prescription drugs. Mr Vandervoort examined the record and and decided he could help. He certainly did in negotiating to have all charges modified to eliminate all driving charges with a no contest plea for a lesser non-driving related charge ... no jail, no probation, no loss of license or license restriction and a small fine, considering what it might have been.

    No attorney does the whole job of processing a case. Mr. Vandervoort's staff was always helpful, pleasant and professional. I always felt exceptionally comfortable and confident I was getting the best legal representation during the entire process.

    1. John Joseph VanDervoort

      John VanDervoort

      Lawyer Comment:

      The client is correct. Every person working here is extremely experienced in their field

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  5. Joe VanDervoort

    Posted by Jim, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John VanDervoort.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. VanDervoort's experience was a big plus. His knowledge of the local policies and personnel in the county court system was evident. His staff is also very good.

    1. John Joseph VanDervoort

      John VanDervoort

      Lawyer Comment:

      few lawyers have as many years in as we do. there are NONE in the Butte area that specialize in DUI/DMV, no not one.. they may advertise they are good, but they are beginners

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  6. Trustworthy & Upfront

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John VanDervoort.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    VanDervoort was upfront about everything that was happening in my case. I was kept welll informed the entire time, absolutley no surprises. Since I was a full-time student (21.0 units) he even gave me a discount from $5,000 to $3,500, which was quite generous of him. Since he knows so many people in the legal community he was also able to get me out of jail time. He's well known and respected throughout the legal/court system in Butte county.

    1. John Joseph VanDervoort

      John VanDervoort

      Lawyer Comment:

      Consultation is ALWAYS FREE and we have payment plans and discounts for students, military and elderly

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  7. Top Notch Attorney

    Posted by Anthony, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John VanDervoort.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. VanDervoort is a true professional. He was quick and decisive in dealing with my DUI. I felt that he keep me very informed throughout the DMV and court process. Whether it be by phone or correspondence.
    I chose to represent myself on a serperate simple restitution hearing. I failed to appear at my hearing because of a personel matter. Mr. Vandervoort reconiized that I was not responding to my name being called in court and stood up to represent me. This saved me from having some serious legal repercussions. I'm am truly grateful.

    1. John Joseph VanDervoort

      John VanDervoort

      Lawyer Comment:

      We represent out clients in EVERY stager of the proceedings. DMV/licensing.Insurance. Criminal. Probation. sentencing alternatives.rehaaaabilitation and AA etc IF needed by the client

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  8. Great experience

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John VanDervoort.

    Joe VanDervoort is awesome! I was very pleased with his services and would highly recommend him. He actually made the DUI experience a positive one. He is very professional and presents information in a concise and easy to understand manner.

    1. John Joseph VanDervoort

      John VanDervoort

      Lawyer Comment:

      Our web sites explain in detail in lay language all the issues and procedure in DUI /DMV and criminal cases.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  9. Not inexpensive, but worth it.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John VanDervoort.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe was very knowledgeable in the are of DUI. He know the laws well and helped some with the DMV issues as well. He also helped me realize I wasn't a horrible person for making a mistake.

    1. John Joseph VanDervoort

      John VanDervoort

      Lawyer Comment:

      You get what you pay for. There is a night law school, I help start 30+ years ago. They let anyone in and graduate anyone with money. Most graduates stay here . Most work as part time public defenders (at least 27 lawyers) there are over 400 lawyers in Chico. almost one for every 100 people. We need about 25, Experience and training + time is ALL a lawyer has to sell. Pick your "champion" carefully. Check out the rating system that rates ALL doctors and lawyers and dentists in the USA. We are the highest rated in Butte and the state in many categories.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  10. Randy Chpaman

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John VanDervoort.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe came through as promised, Very professional and responsive. I gave up when Joe didn't. I appreciate the dedication to the case and hard work put into it. Thanks Joe!!

    1. John Joseph VanDervoort

      John VanDervoort

      Lawyer Comment:

      There is no "second place" for a real trial lawyer. Win or lose. Winners donot lose and losers do not win..check our credentials on www.avvo.com or calif dui lawyers org (only specialists in Butte County).

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

Free Consult: Experience & Specialization is WHAT counts 40+YEARS DUI KING

530-342-2858