John Andrew Campanella’s Reviews

John Andrew Campanella

Average Rating

Based on 29 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best DUI Attorney in Sacramento. Professional, intelligent, and aggressive.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Campanella.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Personally I would never write a review about anything in general but this time I had too. I have absolutely no regrets what so ever in hiring John, none. He pulled through with everything he said he would and I am extremely grateful and pleased with his performance and the outcome with my case. I would highly recommend John he is extremely knowledgeable and his experience as a lawyer is indescribable. He handled my case professionally and at the same he kept me informed every step of the way and explained the process of a DUI in a way that was easy to understand and would constantly keep in contact with me to let me know what was going on with my case. He is the best attorney you could hope for when dealing with DUI's. The whole time he was patient and persistent, and eventually got my charge negotiated down to a wet reckless. I didn’t have to do work service, have an ignition interlock requirement, or anything like that, I was very happy about that. He will take care of everything for you, and make the process completely stress-free makes it all worth it. All I can say is that he went to great lengths to help me in my time of need and he's worth every cent. Thank you.

  2. This is the one stop looking any time any place your in good hands with John campanella worth every penny

    Posted by ramon, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Campanella.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Can't say enough about Mr campanella one of the best people to have ever met at the time of need he was there for me excellent lawyer and human being thank you sir.

  3. The Best you can get, when you NEED it, John delivers.

    Posted by Thomas,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Campanella.

    John Campanella is the best friend you will ever have, should you be accused of a DUI. He knows the system inside and out, his knowledge is far and away a cut above other DUI attorneys. He isn't intimidated by Judges or Law Enforcement Officers. John is a master of challenging test results, which are often flawed in procedures and results.
    Retain John, and he will fight like no other to protect your rights, and give you peace of mind.

  4. Mr. Campanella he's the best as it gets !

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Campanella.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I had Hired Mr. Campanella around mid sept of 2013 after getting a DUI. I was stuck in a sticky scenario. My case could of gone either or, but I knew I had to hire a attorney if I wanted to keep my license and Mr. Campanella did that for me as he has done this for 19 years I spoke with serval other attorneys, the ones that send junk in the mail for cheap lawyers get 500 dollars off!! trust me they Anit worth your time! Unless you want to be found guilty then go head. Mr. Campanella is respected in the court systems I've seen other attorneys ask him for advice . I've seen other attorneys hand there clients notes what to say in court an they would leave as they didn't have there back. John is the best as it gets. He won't beat around the bush he is upfront , honest, and trustworthy. My charges got drop to wet reckless with .12 with 12 hrs of DUI school and got my fines turned into 54 hrs of community service which is rare for a DUI . I would recommend john to my friends an family. Don't hesitate to ask John any questions he's the best! Thank you john for representing me! May the wind always be at your back an the sun shine upon your face

  5. 2ND DUI REDUCED TO A WET AND RECKLESS

    Posted by gregorio, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Campanella.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    First, I would to thank John and his dedicated team for his service with my case. I had a lot on my plate. I just recently got hired on for the Sheriff's Department and was supposed to start in a month. I was Devastated and really worried. I knew I had to retain a Lawyer. I looked around and every Lawyer seemed pessimistic to my case. I came across John and he was firm, direct, and honest. I told him about my case and that I had a prior conviction 5 years ago. He looked into my case and I knew it was going to be a challenge.
    John had my DUI reduced to a wet and reckless. I felt such a relief. Everything was reduced down. I was very happy and pleased with his service. If you need a Lawyer with over 15 years of experience, call JOHN!!
    John is a straight shooter. He is fare and thanks to him, I will be able to live my life and one day go back into law enforcement or a similar career. I recommend John for any DUI case.

  6. john a campanella

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Campanella.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    John and his assistant, Jo Ann, were very easy to reach either by phone or email. Even on weekends I would get a response promptly. I never felt my questions were inappropriate or simplistic--all were answered in a way I could understand. When I first met with John I was very upset and nervous. He put me at ease quickly. He was there when I had court dates or other required hearings. He had me come only to the ones he felt was necessary saving me time and stress.

  7. Professional, Respectful, Results driven

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Campanella.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Outstanding professional advice and service. My only complaint is charged to myself, I waited far to long to contact this consummate professional to help me through my ordeal. I felt my case was too simple to contact a lawyer, and I was completely wrong. If being charged with a DUI, regardless of how trivial you believe the charges are (my BAC was .06), contact this professional and he will keep you out of trouble. The laws have become so complicated that a relatively educated person has no chance of navigating all of the pitfalls that await you in the maze of the legal world. Do yourself a favor and call John Campanella the second you have an issue. He will take the stress out of the process and take the workload out of your incompetent hands. My blood pressure dropped 50 points from the second I had my first conversation with him. If you are not fluent in legal "speak", let a pro take care of your particular case. If you needed surgery you would not operate on yourself, you'd call a doctor. Same advice holds true here, have someone who knows the system take your case and then get on with your life while he deals with the problem at hand. All charges against me were dropped, and I did not spend one second in a court room. As I said, everything was taken care of and I was not overcharged for the service. I actually received a refund on my initial retainer fee, what attorney would ever do that? Only one with extremely high morals and one who has an emphasis on customer service. Thank you for everything!!

  8. Hands down one of the best DUI lawyers in the area

    Posted by RD, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Campanella.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Things you need to do ASAP even if you are undecided about hiring an attorney

    Even if you are undecided about hiring an attorney, schedule your DMV hearing. You have 10 business days to schedule a hearing. This will extend your license for 60 days or more as the DMV is busy with other DUI cases. Write everything down that happened on the day of your arrest as you may forget details as time goes on. Make notes of what you said, the officer(s) said, and any other details. If you have witnesses to your arrest, have them make notes too. Watch your mailbox as you will get a bunch of DUI junk mail solicitations to your home address. Not fun if you did not mention to a family member that you have gotten arrested for a DUI. The DMV are the worst out of this whole process. You are presumed guilty from the start. The hearing officer is the prosecutor and the judge. Not all police are impartial. I am not saying all officers are bad, but in my experience through my court trial, it seems they either forgot what actually happened or made up things to make me look guiltier. Not all lawyers are the same. I spoke to 5 different lawyers and got 5 different responses. One lawyer said I did not have a winnable case and should just make a deal. Another said that I am sure to win if I hired him. If money is your concern, think of it this way; you can pay your money to the court and all the other places it will go (DMV, Insurance, DUI Classes, Picking up trash/jail, (Yes they make you pay for the time you are there too depending on the county), etc. or you can hire an attorney and have a fighting chance. The District Attorney’s Office has no interest of your potential innocence. They are there to win. Period!
    ANOTHER THING – Don’t be an idiot and come to proceedings in your flip flops, shorts, and a T-Shirt! Judges notice these things and are more lenient to people who show respect to the court. Dress up, take out lip rings/hide tattoos…..seriously! Also dress up when you meet your lawyer. It gives your lawyer confidence that you are respectable and defendable client.

    Review of Mr. John Campanella:
    I want to start off that this was my second DUI. I never in a million years thought I would get another one, but here I was again. I knew from my first one that there is a lot that I do not know and how much a good lawyer can help. My breathalyzer test reported a .19 and .21 when arrested. I knew I was in trouble. I discussed my situation with John over the phone and his initial response was not immediately negative or positive, but fair. He is not a guy who is going to tell you what you want to hear, but will tell you what is possible. I did not always want to hear what John said to me, but I respected it because he was trying to keep my expectations reasonable. None of the other lawyers I spoke with had any concrete ways to try and fight the charge against me. John proposed a strategy that gave me hope. I decided that I wanted a jury trial because John and I thought we had a fighting chance. Through this process, I learned how much a lawyers experience in asking the right questions and knowing when not to say something. John is very skilled at this! He brought in resources as needed. When the district attorney tried to get a reaction out of me by mixing up the facts in their closing statement (yes they can do that), he reminded me to stay calm and cool. We were able to get the police contradicting each other and others changing their stories or misplacing details all on the record. The result was that my jury trial deadlocked and the judge declared a mistrial. The district attorney after 30 days decided to dismiss the case due to insufficient evidence. None of this would have been possible if not for the guidance of John. I have dealt with a lot of lawyers in the business world and John is a truly exceptional lawyer that will not try and rip you off in the process. Look no further and hire this man!

  9. HONEST - GIVES A GOOD NAME TO THE WORD "LAWYER"

    Posted by Alice, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Campanella.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Campanella gives a good name to the word "lawyer". He is honest and has the clients best interest at heart.

    I reside in Vancouver, WA and got a DUI ticket while on vacation in Sacramento, CA. I am truly grateful to Mr. Campanella for taking the time to educate me of my situation and outlining possible outcomes. His commitment to my case gave me the reassurance to carry-on with my life. He truly "represented" me and got my case DISMISSED!! Thank you.

    What more can I say, Mr. Campanella is the lawyer you MUST have to handle your DUI case.

  10. No need to look further! John is an excellent lawyer and expert in his field. Passionate, tenacious and kind.

    Posted by Lauren, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Campanella.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John came highly recommended, and also had great reviews online, so I hired him to handle my DUI case. I am very happy that I did, as he was helpful, caring and tenacious with my case. This was my first arrest and DUI charge, so naturally I was frightened. John was always available to answer my questions, and provided me with insight that helped to quell my fears of the legal process I faced. I blew a .08, and a .10 when arrested, and John was able to research the device used, and found it faulty...as it was reading one full point over accuracy. This research, along with a letter provided from John's expert witness on PAS devices, helped me in having my DUI charge reduced down to a Wet and Reckless. I cannot thank John enough for his attention to detail with my case, his consistent tenacity, and great knowledge and passion for the law. I highly recommend Mr. Campanella to anyone facing DUI charges.