Jonathan Gregg Stein’s Reviews

Jonathan Gregg Stein

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Over the phone consultation

    Posted by Michelle, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Stein.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Landlord & Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr.Stein answered the phone and listened to my story about my landlord.He was VERY nice and understanding of my situation. He explained to me the answers of the questions I had and helped me feel more at ease. I was very anxious in the beginning and talked all over the place, but he was able to understand what problems I was having and I felt much better after talking to someone who is an expert in these laws. Even after getting advise from him he gave me some information that would help me in the future of my landlord gets worse. I will be moving as soon as I can, but until then I will put up with this slum lord and know that I have Mr.Stein to fall back on for legal councel if needed. He is well worth it even with him being out of town and having to pay extra for travel cost. I can sleep better tonight!

  2. Great Communication - Trustworthy

    Posted by Daniel, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Stein.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have consulted with Jonathan on 2 separate occasions. He has always been upbeat and responsive - I recently contacted him via e-mail. Before I could exit his website he was on the phone providing me with the information I requested. Needless to say, I was impressed and grateful. Having worked in sales before, I will say he has exceptional customer service.
    I have 2 lawyers in the family and I am a retired Law Enforcement Officer. I went through a worker's comp/disability claim. I wish I knew Jonathan then - I was less than pleased with the handling of my case. Of all the lawyers I have dealt with, except family, Jonathan is by all means the most ethical, personable, and professional I have known. I would not hesitate to recommend Jonathan to family or friends.
    I can honestly say he gives lawyers a good name! Keep up the great work.

  3. Excellent Attorney! Tookm Care of Everything for Our Eviction Case

    Posted by sarah, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Stein.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Landlord & Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We were being evicted from a rental that was foreclosed on, and weren't given enough time to get out. Jonathan negotiatied everything we needed to move comfortably and on our own time. His fees were super low compared to what we expected. The best part of working with him was his response time to questions and e-mails. He was so fast, usually answered the phone call himself and responded to e-mails within minutes, not days like other attorneys we had contacted. Thanks for everything.

  4. Great Attorney and Very Personable

    Posted by Chris, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Stein.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    From the start Jonathan was very personable and took the time help me understand the process. I would recommend him to anyone seeking councel or a consult. CP

  5. Best choice I could have made.

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Stein.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted Mr. Stein a little over three weeks ago and as of today my debt collection case is over. It only took a brief interaction for them to realize that they didn't stand a chance against Mr. Stein. The Plaintiff filed for dismissal and agreed to everything I wanted.

    Not only is Mr. Stein great at his chosen profession he is also very understanding and personable. He kept me constantly informed, answering emails in a surprisingly prompt fashion, and dealt with me directly rather than having all communication handled by his staff. The personal touch was not only comforting in a stressful situation but it also made it clear that I had made an excellent choice.

    Don't let his location stop you, as it almost did me, I am in the Los Angeles area and he handled my case without a problem producing better than expected results. In my opinion this is the lawyer you want on your side!

  6. I heartily recommend Jonathan Stein!

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Stein.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Car Accidents matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Jonathan by my chiropractor after being injured in a "rear-ender". While the accident fortunately was at a slow speed and the damage minimal, it nevertheless injured my back and neck.

    I sought and received treatment and when it was time for the other person's insurance company to settle the claim, they made a ridiculously low offer that didn't even cover my medical expenses.

    I contacted Jonathan and after discussion of the case, he advised me that my best, and most affordable remedy would be to sue the person who hit me in Small Claims Court. Since he couldn't represent me in Small Claims Court, he served as my mentor, coach and advisor and, with his guidance, I was able to present my case in court and was awarded a judgment that was twice what the insurance company had offered, and was sufficient to cover my costs, repay my own insurance company and compensate me for the damage.

    Jonathan displayed integrity, knowledge and sensitivity for my budget. He was an astute and wise advisor and I wouldn't hesitate to retain him again or recommend him to my friends and family. In fact, I will be making use of his services again in counseling me on a real estate purchase in the near future!

  7. An Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Stein.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jonathan represented us on a Debt Collection case and I would recommend him highly. He made a very high-stress case as pain-free as possible. He worked closely with us, explained the process and kept us informed at all points and was great at putting our minds at ease with any questions or concerns that would arise. His professional and friendly demeanor made it easy to know that things would be taken care of. I would highly recommend Jonathan and cannot stress enough how much I appreciate his personal attention to our case.

  8. Very helpful and very effective

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Stein.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Recently I was in an auto accident. At first, I was told that the young man who hit me wasn't even insured. Mr. Stein met with me and explained how he would be able to help me. Once I hired him, I didn't have to worry about anything. Every call, every letter, ever issue I turned over to him and it was taken care of. His reassurance during that difficult time was such a relief.

  9. Extremely helpful...even if the case is not in his county!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Stein.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have written to Mr. Stein, following his great rating on Avvo, asking for help and directions on two occasions, even though he is out of my state. Based on his EXTREMELY prompt and friendly replies - the best of any one in the business and I have met some rude ones - his deserves every star on the rating.

    If you are in CA, check him out!

  10. Client Review

    Posted by a Debt Agreements client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Stein.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Debt & Lending Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jonathan has handled a couple of my cases. The first one against Cash Call and the other for another debt collection violation case. He handled both cases promptly, friendly and professionally. I truly appreciate that Jonathan answers his own phone and always gets right back to you. I have recommended him to friends and will continue to do so.