Travis Hayes Whitfield’s Reviews

Travis Hayes Whitfield

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Immoral Lawyer

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Travis Whitfield.
    • I hired Travis 1-3 years ago.
    • Travis handled my Family matter.

    The facts below are from personal experiences. I had paid him a great sum of money and he caused me a lot of pain , sorrow, and emotional distress.

    1) Be extreme careful of what you sign in the "Fee agreements". Take it to another attorney for review before signing. A "Lien" will be put on your house. "Notary Public" in his office will make sure all of the "Lien" are recorded.

    2) Excessive billing (email, phone calls....) Would not send client monthly billing statement.

    3) Would not return client's phone call, email or update on the progress of the case.

    4) Refused to obey "Court Order" to distribute client's fund until he got his money.

    5) Would not send client monthly statements on the Attorney Trust Account.

    6) Would not send client legal documents regarding the case.

    7) Would not not return client's files after substitution of attorney.

    8) Use foul and threaten language to the client. I am a female.

    9) Put the client's interest last; only concerning about making deal, run around, settle...so he can run up the bill and get pay fast.

    I do not want my suffering will happen again to other people.

  2. Clearly unethical lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Travis Whitfield.
    • I hired Travis 1-3 years ago.
    • Travis handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I would not recommend Travis to anyone in a divorce situation with a cunning and clever spouse. In my assessment he exercises undue pressure on his client and tends to bully the client without keeping him informed about all aspects of the case.
    In my specific case, the lawyer acted very un-ethical and contacted my spouse for his bill payment incase my spouse would do a settlement with me outside the court. I found Travis to be a bully and even after I fired him he tried to influence all other lawyers I engaged or contacted for engagement. He clearly told some of the lawyers that they should drop my case. I also found him siding with the opposing counsel beyond reason. He also did not file a response to the motion filed by the opposing counsel and did not inform me of the deadline.

  3. Incompetent attorney: Violations of Title 18 U.S.C 421 and Title 18 U.S.C. 1503

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Travis Whitfield.
    • I hired Travis more than 3 years ago.
    • Travis handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    ZERO REVIEW, DOESNT DESERVES IT, HE IS WEAK AND AFRAID TO STAND UP TO THE OTHER PARTY'S ATTORNEY DUE TO A PRO TEMP JUDGE..
    How can I recommend this lawyer if he is conspiring, stalling and aiding the other party and his lawyer. I have wasted my attorney's fees that he charged me for nothing, coz he was working with the other attorney who is a PRO TEMP Judge Rebecca Sue Jones in the Santa Clara County, and not for his client. NOT AT ALL, giving any referral to any people. Travis made any attempt to impede my legal rights to seek what my ex-husband hid, concealed during the divorce proceedings and Travis waited the last minute until the divorce anniversary reached and stalled my requests to subpoenas of my ex-husband's company, his personal financial institution were concealed from me, and this attorney is not good referral to any of people going thru a divorce, separation, child custody, or anything at all, especially when the other party is evil, tenacious, egregious attorney and PRO TEMP Judge thinks that "she is above the law" and this lawyers like Travis would not want any issue with her or else this PRO TEMP Judge would give him a hard time for his any cases in the Santa Clara Superior Court County.. NOT GOOD. Plus Travis has an associate named Lauren Cirlin, she quit because she cannot stand him, because of what Travis did to me, Ms. Cirlin put together a MOTION and Travis impede to filed in the Superior Court on my behalf... sad,,, sad sad sad experienced with this lawyer..

  4. Very pleased

    Posted by Ben, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Whitfield.
    • I hired Travis 1-3 years ago.
    • Travis handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Whitfield represented me in negotiating a settlement with my second lender following a foreclosure. He exceeded my expectations!

  5. Tells A Great Story ... Executes The Opposite

    Posted by Michelle, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Travis Whitfield.
    • I hired Travis 1-3 years ago.
    • Travis handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I worked with Travis Whitfield during 2010 - 2011 executing my divorce. My specific dissatisfaction is with the second phase which led us back to court in March of 2011. Time after time, Whitfield would tell me he would drive the agenda in a timely manner as, time was of the essence yet, continuance after continuance was all I was met with.

    Whitfield had given me misleading legal advice, resulting in an agreement being filed with the courts to pay the respondent an outrageous monthly support payment. Making the decision to have Whitfield represent me resulted in approximately $10k worth of his legal billing, no agenda driven and a newly awarded spousal & child support payment!

    Whitfield is all about billable hours more so than his clients best interests. My advice to anyone considering Whitfield is "Think Again!"

  6. Very professional yet personal attorney

    Posted by Maria, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Whitfield.
    • I hired Travis more than 3 years ago.
    • Travis handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had a short experience dealing with Travis but it was a great pleasure working with him as well as with all the personnel in the office. I would definitely recommend Travis as a great lawyer very attentive to the client's situation and needs.

  7. good lawyer

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Travis Whitfield.
    • I hired Travis more than 3 years ago.
    • Travis handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A very good lawyer. Handled my case quickly considering how complicated it was. His staff also treated me with respect. I will continue to recommend his services.

  8. family lawyer in San Jose

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Travis Whitfield.
    • I hired Travis more than 3 years ago.
    • Travis handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This lawyer does not respect a CLIENT ATTORNEY PRIVELEGE AND THAT he is on highly unethical attorney. Bleed his clients for money: me, my sister and one other friend we know.
    We filed against him with the california state bar and process of filing complaint with the SJPD for FRAUD.