Back to Robert’s Profile

Client Review

Robert has received 7 client reviews

Did Great Work in Helping us Avoid Probate By Filing a Heggstad Petition

Posted by: Amit, a Probate client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Robert Bergman

I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.

Robert handled my Probate matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Robert did an excellent job for my family. We had a probate issue in which assets were left outside a trust. We needed to file the Heggstad petition to see if the court would deem that the assets should have been in the trust, so we could avoid probate. He checked with the court to confirm that the based on the circumstances it would likely be granted. None of the attorneys I spoke with mentioned doing this or gave me any idea of what our chances for success would be if we chose to move forward with the petition. Robert's fees were very reasonable and he got the work done in a very timely manner. I would highly recommend Robert based on my experience in working with him on on this estate issue.

Knowledge with Skill

Posted by: Nicholas, a Trusts client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Robert Bergman

I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.

Robert handled my Trusts matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I am a real-estate broker that was involved in a short sale transaction. Just before final documents were to be signed to close Escrow, the seller passed away. The property was in a trust and did not name a successor trustee. With the short sale approval deadline date coming very quickly, we thought that after a year of working on this transaction it would all fall to pieces. Robert literally saved the day. He was able to have a beneficiary on the trust appointed to successor trustee extremely quickly due to his expertise (Right in the middle of the Christmas season). Every attorney we had spoken with up until Robert had said that the process would take a few weeks or that it could not be done but after speaking to Robert for a few minutes we knew he was our man. Not only was Robert punctual and professional but very kind and treated our situation as a priority. I highly recommend Mr. Bergman.

Competent, Thoughtful

Posted by: Peter Myers, a Estate Planning client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Robert Bergman

Robert handled my Estate Planning matter.

Bob Bergman is thoughtful and competent, capable of dealing with complex issues such as retirement trusts and qualified beneficiary designations, all while having a non-nonsense, matter-of-fact interaction with clients and colleagues. We have attended many functions together and he is astute and up-to-date on the cutting-edge techniques currently employed by estate attorneys at the highest level.

Living Trusts/Wills

Posted by: Lew, a Wills client over 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Robert Bergman

I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.

Robert handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I have worked with Robert since about 2000. He drew up our first living trust and gave us excellent advice on how my wife and I should proceed. I have recently worked with him again because of the trust we have in him to modify the existing trust. He is very knowledgeable of California law and the best way to proceed. The work is done as promised by the due dates. I would recommend him to any friend or family member.

Bob Bergman - Estate Planning Attorney

Posted by: Michael, a Estate Planning client over 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Robert Bergman

I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.

Robert handled my Estate Planning matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Bob does a very nice job in walking the layman through the complexities of estate tax law as it currently exists as well as providing insights on how it might change based on any pending legislation or the prevailing political climate. He uses a rigorous process for gathering detailed information on a client's financial and familial situation along with their long term needs and desires. Using this process he is able to quickly compile a comprehensive estate plan to address those needs while minimizing the tax exposure to the estate and to heirs. He also provides detailed written instructions and all the necessary forms to enable the client to expeditiously implement the resulting Trust. Bob is very personable and easy to work with. I have referred several clients to him and they were all pleased with the results.

A Lawyer That Really Cares

Posted by: Anita, a Probate client over 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Robert Bergman

I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.

Robert handled my Probate matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

In 2007 my world was turned upside down. My best friend, my mentor, my dear mother passed away. I needed legal assistance to guide me through the probate process. I called Bob's office on a Sunday and left a message on his answering machine. Because it was a Sunday I didn't expect to receive a call back until Monday at the earlist. I was pleasantly surprised and extremely grateful when I received a call within a few hours on the same day. I was so emontional and sad and needed legal advice. The minute I started explaining my situation, Bob immediately put me at ease and took a considerable amount of time explaining the probate process to me. I retained his services and he made a painful situation bearable. His level of professionalism, his people skills and compassion far exceeded my expectations. I will always remember how he took the time on a Sunday afternoon to return a phone call. He sensed the sadness in my voice. He kept me informed and answered all of my questions from start to finish. I would recommend this wonderfoul lawyer without hesitation. Not only does he offer outstanding legal services, he also offers free seminars which are very informative and open to the general public. I would recommend anyone with estate planning needs or anyone who wants to empower themselves with valuable information to attend one of his seminars. Over the years I have heard a lot of bad comments and jokes about lawyers and used car salesmen, but Bob is definitely one of the good guys.

Knowledgeable and Thorough Estate Planning Attorney

Posted by: a Trusts client about 6 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Robert Bergman

I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.

Robert handled my Trusts matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Bob is a very knowledgable estate planning attorney and teaches a very complicated subject to his clients and potential clients in a manner that is easily understandable. He has a good sense of humor without being outlandish and makes people feel comfortable in discussing some very tough issues such as death and dying. His professionalism shows through the thoroughness and quality of his work. He allows his clients to feel that he is a trusted advisor and will be around should you need any assistance in the future. I would highly recommend Bob to anyone for Estate Planning.