David John Luca’s Reviews

David John Luca

Average Rating

Based on 65 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Way A Lawyer Should Be

    Posted by Evan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Luca.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    From start to finish David was nothing short of incredible, and he continues to be. He is extremely knowledgable, straight-forward and kept me imformed every step of the way. There were many points of the process where he would have been well within his rights to say he did the best he could and gotten me a less than favorable result. But he stuck with me, put in extra time and effort, fought for me and got me an adjudication far better than I could have ever hoped for. All of this was for the same reasonable rate he initially quoted me. Most other attorneys will try to bleed you dry knowing they have the leverage of your freedom in their hands.
    I have consulted David on other legal issues as well. If something is not within his area of expertise then he'll be up-front about it and refer you to one of his colleagues.
    This is the guy you want on your side. Extremely sharp, responsive, connected and most important of all he is HONEST.
    If you need an attorney, do yourself a favor and call David.

  2. Great attorney

    Posted by Deb, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Luca.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    David is a knowledgeable and cost effective attorney. I felt very comfortable in his hands and I felt he always had my back. He cut through all the legal ease and got straight to the point. He didn't promise me anything he knew was not possible. He was always available for me and kept me up to date on what was happening. Since retaining an attorney is scary enough by itself, I am thoroughly pleased with David and I truly appreciate his help and support. It made my divorce seem less painful. Thank you David.
    My best, Deb B.

  3. Go to guy. Be smart get Luca!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Luca.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    In a bind? Need legal representation? First things first. Call the Law Offices of Dennis J. Luca and speak to David Luca. Three things you need to know about David: 1). Responsive - He and his staff are consummate professionals and client service is paramount. 2). Knowledgeable - He is exceptionally bright, well-versed in the law and very articulate. 3). Tenacious - He'll fight for your rights and give you sound, practical and solid legal advice. Good, bad or indifferent he will lay it out for you - on the straight and narrow. In my case, David pulled my bacon out of the fire and got my case dismissed, other attorneys would have simply cut a plea bargain. David slugged it out with the DA's office and emerged victorious. Don't compound mistakes with others. Don't gamble with your future (or your children's) - go with the best and brightest - David J. Luca, Attorney At Law.

  4. Read the agreements and ask every question before you sign. Even if your Lawyer says its a good deal

    Posted by susan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Luca.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Dennis but was pond off on David. In mediation he advised me to sign an agreement that wasn't in my children's favor because it left something called a Wats credit reserved to my husband. So while living in the family home with our two kids I was without knowing accumulating a huge amount of debt to my ex. When we sold the house he wanted reimbursement of Wats credits for all the time we lived in the home. Never once did anyone tell me that we were accruing such debt. I'm paying for this oversight now not him.

    1. David John Luca

      David John Luca

      Lawyer Comment:

      The veracity of this complaint is suspect. There is no “pawning off” of cases handled though this office. Each attorney in our office works their own cases and no attorney works on the other’s cases. That being said, a Watts charge is a discretionary reimbursement claim that arises when one spouse lives in a home owned by both spouses after marital separation. The “out spouse” can ask the Court charge the “in spouse” 50% of the fair market value rent as a Watts charge. Normally, the Watts charge is offset in part or whole by the “in spouse’s” Epstein credits against the “out spouse” for 50% of the mortgage, property taxes and homeowner’s insurance payments. The complaint never mentions whether the discretionary Watts charge was imposed, whether the Epstein credit existed to offset it nor whether any money was ever owed. For my part, in the past three years of practice, I have not had any of my clients ever pay out of pocket for a Watts charge claim; another reason I doubt the validity of the complaint.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  5. Honest, Caring and Very Sympathetic! - Thank YOU David!

    Posted by AA, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Luca.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I came to David, lost, confused and scared, very scared. He immediately made me feel comfortable. He explained everything thoroughly and assured me that he would be taking care of me, from beginning to end. And that's exactly what I got! He was Superb! He was very sympathetic to my feelings and emotions due to my marriage of 27 years. Throughout my divorce he has never been anything other than professional, cordial and caring. He always looked out for my best interest throughout the entire process. Since my initial consultation with David, I have referred several friends and will continue to do so. Thank you David!

  6. First class person first then a Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Brian, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Luca.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I came to David lost , confused and scared. Thru his knowledge, patience and work ethic I could not have even imagined a more positive out come for my situation. I highly recommend Mr. David Luca
    as a attorney at law for your needs.

  7. Positive, Capable and Straight-forward

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Luca.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Engaging David as my attorney simplified my ordeal. He was proactive in his approach to the case, asking (but not requiring) me to take steps to increase my chances a of favorable resolution. In the end, David helped ensure the best-case result. I would confidently recommend him to anyone.

  8. Trustworthy and Professional

    Posted by Lisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Luca.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    David has exceeded my expectations. Not only is he a great person and easy to get along with, he is very knowledgeable (he caught things my ex's lawyer missed!) and honest. If he doesn't feel you will win something, he won't hesitate to tell you rather than drag it out into court (and racking up more $$). Throughout my divorce he has never been anything other than professional, cordial and caring.
    One of the the many things I appreciate about David is that he is not super super aggressive and pushy. Don't get me wrong, he will battle it out for you if it comes to that. And if you are dealing with someone who can be downright nasty, David will put them in their place. Anyhow, throughout all the stresses and tears, I really felt like he had my back.
    I also noticed that so far I have paid less than my ex. I know lawyers aren't cheap but I feel David has been worth every penny thus far.

  9. No other family law lawyer was able to help me!

    Posted by Julie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Luca.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.

    I was referred to Mr. Luca by a friend and I have referred my friends to him as well. Word of mouth is the fastest and easiest way to find the best! David is honest, loyal, and trustworthy. He genuinely wants to help his clients and is NOT just there to take your money! He is amazing in court as well. David tells your story to the judge based on legal facts and wins!! Hire Mr. Luca! You won't be disappointed!!

  10. Proud to hire David Luca as my attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Luca.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.

    Excellent lawyer with lot of knowledge. Guides you throughout the case and always keep you up to date with the case status. 99% of your stress is gone away once you discuss your case with him and hire him. Takes the problem of his client as his own problem and puts every effort to help the client get out of it.
    In my case, he did excellent work and brought me out of the trouble!!

Help is only a phone call away. Contact my office to schedule your free consultation.

408-287-7878