James Anthony Dal Bon’s Reviews

James Anthony Dal Bon

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Reasonable and efficient !!!

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dal Bon.
    • I hired James < 1 month ago.
    • James handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    James helped me for my wage claim case a month ago. James is reasonable in terms of his fees and very specific when it comes to identifying the supporting points to the case. He is friendly and I felt very comfortable working with him. My case went smooth and fine without any hassles. He was even ready to help me with few things after I received the judgement. So I strongly recommend James esp. for wage claim case. Good luck with your case.

  2. Happy with the work he did in my case

    Posted by Juan, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dal Bon.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    What I liked the most was the knowledge he had, and the fastness that he act and defended my case. Whenever I called him he was always there and I would hire him again for the honesty that he showed in my case. At the end of my case I was very happy with the results that he had for me and my family. Thanks James for your hard work.

  3. Knowledgeable attorney

    Posted by Nicki,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dal Bon.

    James is a very knowledgeable lawyer. He took the time to explain information to me that I didn't understand, and told e his strategy so if I had questions or input he listened. Great lawyer.

  4. Above and beyond services in Law.

    Posted by David, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dal Bon.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James was very diligent and responsive when working with me and my family. If I would to recommend anyone to get advice or help on the criminal legal side, other facets of law, I would pick James to represent me or anyone I know.

  5. The Best Employer/Labor Attorney in the area!!!

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dal Bon.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    I met with Mr. Dal Bon to discuss an issue related to my separation agreement. He read over the agreement and went over all of my options. He was extremely knowledgeable, explained everything in the agreement why the employer put it in, and how it would effect me. He suggested a few changes and explained why they were necessary. My husband and I were very impressed with his knowledge and integrity, and would recommend him to our family and friends who find themselves in need of a good labor lawyer and would seek out his counsel again if the need were to arise in the future.

  6. James Dal Bon - His expertise in employment law is surpassed only by his compassion for his clients

    Posted by Wendy, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dal Bon.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    James Dal Bon did a fantastic job in expediting a settlement with my former employer. He kept me in the loop whenever he communicated with the opposing counsel and even went out of his way to call an attorney for me on a case that needed to be closed at the same time. Jim’s expertise in the labor law field is surpassed only by his compassion for his clients. He was always very sensitive to my needs and listened as he guided me through an emotional and stressful process. I feel very strongly that my previous employer was more amenable to settlement knowing I had a good attorney that was going to present a very persuasive case. I am very satisfied with the results, but would have enjoyed seeing Jim present the case at trial as I have no doubt that if we had to go the distance I would have had a favorable result. I have confidence that if needed Jim has the ability to take care any of my friends, family members or colleagues that require the services of a skilled employment attorney. This is a situation that I hope to never be in again, but am glad I now have someone to turn to if the need arises.

  7. James del bond is trustworthy

    Posted by Armando chan may, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dal Bon.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    James dal bon s work was truly life changing, in a time where i felt no one wanted to help, he helped my party get the best justice any one could hope for and i was happy that someone made the recomandation.

  8. He cares

    Posted by Gloria,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Dal Bon.

    I was very comfortable meeting with Mr. Dal Bon about my car accident during my legal session set up by Western Service Workers Association that he volunteers for. I appreciated his thoroughness as he interviewed me. He took the time to answer all my questions in-depth and enabled me to confidently choose my course of action. I trust his competency and knowledge. I will definitely return to Mr. Dal Bon in the future.

  9. I highly recommend Mr Dal Bon for employment cases.

    Posted by Mike, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Dal Bon.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Here is the story of my case and how James helped me get a fair settlement:
    I was hired by a start-up tech company as a mechanical engineer, but forced to work as a machinist. I was there for 7 months, when out of the blue I was let go and accused of violating my contract by posting "confidential" information on my personal website, which was later found false by an unemployment judge. They offered two weeks severance if I signed a contract that was clearly not in my best interest, so I decided to seek legal help. I interviewed several attorneys before deciding on Mr. Dal Bon. When I met with him for the first time, I could tell he was well versed in employment law and even had several stories of past clients that were similar to my case to give me insight on how to proceed.
    My former employer pulled no punches. They tried to deny me unemployment benefits, threatened to sue me to remove information from my personal website and wrote some incredibly nasty letters attacking me personally. James kept an even keel and expertly advised me how to handle their attacks while moving the case forward. Under Jame's guidance, I was able to get unemployment, diffuse their threats of lawsuits and move towards a settlement.
    The shining star in my experience with James was during mediation. If you have never been through mediation, it can be an intense and stressful experience that can last well into the night. Having never experienced anything like this before, I was incredibly nervous, but James was calm. He had several moments where he cited unemployment law that were nothing short of brilliant and turned the tide of the case in my favor. In the end we were able to settle for a sizeable amount that I was more than happy with.
    If I ever have an employment issue again, James will be the first person I contact.

  10. I was misinformed and cheated out of my money and very DIS-HONEST!!!!!!!

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Dal Bon.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My first meeting with Mr. Dalbon, September, 2012) explained to me what he was going to do for me, so I felt comfortable, he then gave me a Retainer Agreement to sign, my employers name was incorrect twice, he had his assistant print it again, and it was incorrect again, so he just wrote in pen. Mr. Dalbon was rushing to a Court hearing. I should have felt the vibe then. Before I left the office, Mr. Dalbon and I talked about my deposit, if no services were done, I could discharge his services, and what was owed to me I would get back. I called his office the next day to speak to him, no response, I left a message with his assistant, explaining I was going to cancel everything, I got a call back from Mr. Dalbon, he explained to me, he had been in and out of the office. I unfortunately i stayed with him. I called his office many times, he does not return calls. No communication!! I had my co-worker go in for a interview as a witness, Mr. Dalbon's assistant named our employer and manager name incorrectly, several times. Also, while I was in the lobby, a irate client called, explaining to the receptionist, that Mr. Dalbon has not responded to him, and is very nervous, due to having a court date the next day.! The receptionist response was that Mr. Dalbon has been in and out of the office and very busy, well that's no comfort! That was the same thing that was told to me! I needed someone I could trust and to be honest! I decided to have my friend pick up my file from Mr. Dalbon's office, the office released it to him, three days later I get a e-mail from Mr. Dalbon stating if I wanted my file, I would need a release signed from his office. I was floored, I called his office, told them does Mr. Dalbon not keep track of his CLIENTS FILES/CASES?? I finally got a hold of Mr. Dalbon, November, 2012, stating that I wanted my refund back, he e-mailed me a accounting statement for all what he has done. Well, I wanted to fall out of my chair!!!!!! Mr. Dalbon did not do what he claims on his statement! Mr. Dalbon NEVER contacted my employer!! He is not a HONEST person! I would not feel comfortable and secure to have Mr. Dalbon and his team represent me. Please be very careful!!!!!!!!

    1. James Anthony Dal Bon

      James Dal Bon

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am a busy attorney so it is sometimes hard speak to me. I do my best to communicate with all my clients. Sometimes I charge a client a flat fee which is spelled out in the fee agreement. This means the client pays one fee regardless of how many hours are spent working on the case.

      I have represented everyone from executives in the high tech field to day laborers. Most of my clients are Spanish speaking immigrants. Frequently employers take advantage of them. I try to even the scales a bit and still make money. Many times I take cases on the basis of contingent fees. Whee I can not I will often charge a flat fee. The client knows what the charges will be and can afford them, I know that I will be able to remain in business and feed my family.

      Some people have a hard time dealing with the flat fee agreement, particularly if the case ends early. They also do not understand that constant e-mails and telephone calls eat into your time and add up. They forget about the three hours you spent interviewing them. They forget about the follow up interviews with your witnesses. Some clients become angry when their witnesses do not testify the way they wanted.

      Most of my clients, which have probably been over a thousand over a twenty year period, seem to understand this. When a client wants a flat fee refunded I usually send them a bill for my hourly services even our fee agreement does not require this. The bill usually demonstrates, though not always, that they would owe me more money under an hourly arrangement than the flat fee.

      Sometimes, although rarely, I have disposed of a flat fee matter quickly and made a windfall. Sometimes I do not require the client make a payment on a flat fee.

      I do not normally require that my clients sign a release in order to obtain their legal file. I would certainly not refuse to give a client a copy of their file if they refused to to sign a release. However we do ask the client sign some sort of acknowledgement they received the file.

      I wish this person good luck. God bless you and I hope you successfully resolved your issue.

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

408-466-5845